We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first visit, more will follow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Bistro

Market Bistro
11 Saturday Market Place, King's Lynn pe30 5dq, England
01553 771 483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Small, family run, informal bistro with an emphasis on casual dining using local, sustainable produce. Owned and loved by chef owner Richard and his wife Lucy.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent first visit, more will follow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had lunch here today with my son and daughter and it was very good. Atmosphere just right, service unobtrusive but helpful and the food was as good as I had been led to believe. Local ingredients used and presentation very good - and most importantly great tasting. My son had the 'pork platter' which was an excellent portion, he works in kitchens and was full of praise for it. My highlight was the carrot cake with cream cheese sorbet. I'll certainly be visiting again and tell my friends about is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    51
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant and enjoyed our meal very much,the food and service was top notch
Although not a place you possibly could aford to dine at every week as it is not particulaly cheap at £40 a head including wine.
I feel its a great venue for a celbration or special treat.I would rather pay a little more than get a very bad experience,as we have had recently at two particular restaurants in Kings Lynn which were dire.
I look forward to visiting the Market Bistro again soon.Thankyou to the owners and staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Tripadvisor for the Help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was looking for somewhere to eat last night in King's Lynn and took this recommendation from TA.

Great little bistro with excellent service, and wonderful food at a good price. Not the "normal" bistro food - some very interesting modern touches (horseradish powder) - yet still very ample portions.

Well worth seeking out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming and definatley worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a lovely little place this is. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and is nicely done out. The service was warm, friendly and sincere and the food was of an excellent standard. I would certainly recommend this bistro and my husband and I will visit again soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heacham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a change from all the chain restaurants in King's Lynn! Friendly atmosphere, good and knowledgeable service and delicious wholesome food at a reasonable price. It was our first visit as we live along the North Norfolk coast and have a plethora of establishments to choose from nearby without making the journey south, but it was worth it and we will back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Bistro also viewed

 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.