We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Head Hotel Restaurant

The King's Head Hotel Restaurant
Great Bircham, King's Lynn PE31 6RJ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 126 restaurants in King's Lynn
Price range: $51 - $86
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of a coupon offer and booked two nights. Can't praise the hotel, staff and food enough. Our room was a delight, I did expect one of the smaller rooms being an offer, but no, it was lovely and well furnished. The choice of food and standard was excellent.
Most of the guests were like us, couples. Very enjoyable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    19
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW, WOW - amazing place, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at the kings head two weeks ago for a couple of nights. What a gem of a find. We felt right at home the minute we stepped through the door. The receptionist gave us a really warm welcome and made us feel really special. The room and bathroom was amazing. Really large and choice of bath and shower. We made our way down to the bar, and had afternoon tea in front of the lovely roaring fire. Again the staff were lovely and polite. There was nibbles on the bar, local sausages which were so tasty and once we had started eating them we couldn't stop. The menu is really varied and there is something for e everyone. The chef has really used his flare and put twists on traditional food. But there is still items like and mash for people who still like to stick to traditional. The nibble/snack menu is fantastic. The homemade hummous is amazing. The best I have tasted. The prices are really reasonable for the quality of food. We met Charlie the owner who spent time talking to us, and chatting about the different kinds of wine they had. He spent time during our stay there to spent time talking, and making sure we were happy with everything, which was really lovely. The sauvignon was beautiful and again very reasonably priced for the quality. The breakfast was lovely,staff very helpful and happy to get you what you needed/required. The plum jam(homemade by charlies mum) was the best jam I have ever tasted. Our second night we dined in the restaurant and had a 5 course taster menu. But there was nothing taster about the sizes. We only made it to the 4th course. Homemade bread with oils to dip ( free extra) Butternut squash soup (gorgeous), roasted chicken
breast (beautiful), mango sorbet. Main was lamb ropy poly. Fantastic twist. Never seen
this anywhere else before. The meat was from a slow cooked joint not lamb mince as many
recipes advise. The meat just feel apart when you cut into the proper suet pastry. You can see they take pride in their food as the presentation was beautiful. I just wish we could have
taken the chef home with us, and wish even much that this was our local. Would we go
back. Like a shot!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We saw an advert for an evening of fine food and entertainment. Booked a table for four, then read some reviews on the Internet, first thought was, what a big mistake, but decided we would give it a go. Boy are we glad we did. What an evening!!!!! have dined in some very nice restaurants over the years, but trust me this ranks up there. My compliments go to all of the staff, they are a credit to the Industry. We can't wait to go back. Thank you once again to Charles his lovely lady and all at the Hotel. Hope you continue to flourish.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Defence of The Kings Head Restaurant Owner & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have visited the Kings Head many times over the 48 years that i have lived in Norfolk and have observed the changes that have occured over that period of time. Unlike Statman89 review, which was highly critical and thoughtless.
I found the owner like the staff very attentive, caring and proffesional, the surroundings were clean and delightful and the seating arrangement were spacious unlike so many other restaurants.
Myself and my family have visited this venue at least four times in the last eight weeks and the quality of the food and the service has been superb, one of my family members has some rather serious allergys and when this was explained to the staff there reaction was excellent, within minutes they had come up with menu suitable for her and she stated that it was delightful. We will be returning unlike Statman89 his or her loss, if you cannot give honest and unbiased critic and advice and have nothing positive to say, then say nothing.
This is a young couple striving in an industry that is going through difficult times and they need all the help and support that they can get.
Go and visit the Kings Head if you want a superb meal in good surroundings with good polite staff and very fair prices, "You will not be dissapointed".
Mr J.D.Sherratt

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Slow, inefficient , and dilatory service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Attended a group lunch at the Kings Head . This was the third time we had been to the Kings Head in the last six months. Each time the service has got worse. This time the courses were slow in coming and some pre ordered food did not come out from kitchen . Main Course was served but my main course was not served until 15 minutes later. The staff said my course and my wifes were cancelled and the kitxchen knew nothing about it . There was no apology . The food when it arrived was ok even though the portions were somewhat meagre. I will not return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The King's Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Head Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.