We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bar Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ffolkes Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ffolkes Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Ffolkes Arms Hotel
Lynn Rd PE31, King's Lynn PE31 6BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in King's Lynn
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were camping nearby and needed food in the evening. The staff were lovely and friendly, couldnt be more helpful.A good variety of food on the menu and we ate outside in a pretty garden.We had to wait a little bit for the food to arrive but they were busy and they cooked it fresh and it arrived piping hot. We enjoyed it so much we went there the next day,so nice to have a pub cook food all day on a Sunday, and had the same excellent service and food. Steak and ale pie was delicious. Will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you rustybad for taking the time to leave your kind review. We certainly look forward to your next visit!

See you soon,

The Ffolkes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
22
37
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Have stayed here twice now and cant complain at all. Nice clean rooms possible a bit dated but not a problem, nice clean bathrooms. I like staying in the detached block, plenty of parking spaces and in my opinion the breakfast is good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear mrvranas,

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Ffolkes Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My partner and i live in this area and decided to go for a Sunday carvery . We arrived at 1-45 had starters which was ok but the carvery was horrid . The roast potatoes were soggy as was the veg and the Yorkshire pudding . The mash tasted like smash . My wife had two mouthfuls of hers and left it . We didn't have a table check so we did not complain . Defo won't eat here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Anthony S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is much appreciated. I'm saddened that you and your partner did not enjoy your experience. We did over 60 covers on the carvery on Sunday with not a single complaint, so to hear this comes as a surprise. I will look into why your were not meal checked as this it not our usual form of practice, the restaurant manager was on duty that day and was in the restaurant all day. He would have happily of helped should you have needed him.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback,

Kind Regards,
Ffolkes Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the sticks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a ground floor room, clean, basic, great shower with lots of hot water and towels.
The main road is very noisy from early morning making sleep impossible if you have the window open.
Ideal for a short stay we were attending a wedding so it was great to find somewhere that would accomodate a large party. The garden was lovely shame it rained !
Staff extremely helpful and wecoming.
Breakfast great as were the bar meals, typical pub food.
Only complaint dirty cups and wine glasses lipstick stains are not acceptable !
Sandringham up the road , ideally based for touring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you twitto for your review.

Our establishment is very popular for weddings I do hope it was a lovely day.

Unfortunately being quite close to the road sometimes the noise level isn't quite as low as you'd like it if you like to sleep in, this isn't the case every day just occasionally.

I apologise for the slight let-downs on the cups and wine glasses, I will certainly try to find out why to ensure this is avoided in the future.

We hope you will revisit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Easy to find and a warm welcome was a good start to my stay. I was surprised how lovely the restaurant and bar was and although I didn't have an evening meal the menu looked extensive and fairly-priced. The room I was allocated (212) was actually in a separate building and although it looked a little outdated and 'tired' from the outside the inside of the room was very well appointed and very clean. Parking is plentiful and convenient for any room you are allocated. The history of this place is very interesting. It was apparently acquired in 1678 by the Ffolkes family and used to be the stop-off point for the mail route between the Midlands and Norwich and some of the rooms were used as jails overnight for prisoners in transit. It is also said that the place is haunted by a young nanny who threw herself out of an attic bedroom and fell on some iron railings that used to run along the front of the inn. Things have got a lot better since then though!. The hotel staff were very pleasant and most helpful. Breakfast was very good and amazingly quick to arrive following my order. I would have liked to have explored the place a little more than my time allowed but would definitely stay again. Very good value at £50 for the night including breakfast (via 'laterooms').

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have been refurbished so I doubt you'd get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you KAJCornwall for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! A great piece on the history of our hotel, thank you for that. I'm very pleased to hear we met your exceptions and look forward to doing so again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Good Value for money accommodation. Clean Room. Large bathroom and shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast nice. Bar meals were lovely and lots of it. Only negative may be the noise from other residents on metal stairways and road noise but a pair of ear plugs can solve this (and they offer those at the reception area if you're a light sleeper!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you Amanda H for you lovely review. I do apologise about the noise of the other residents on the metal stairway, this is something we are aware of and are looking in to at great depth. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Family room - late booking for a Norfolk trip. We got a b & b deal which was good value. The faulty shower was attended to quickly, and although not fixed straight away we were given keys to another room so that we could use that shower. Staff very friendly, and made us feel welcome. The complimentary breakfast was good, and full English set us up for the day. The evening meals seemed a bit pricey, we didn't do the special meal deals on offer, but when the plates arrived they were full , generous proportions and fresh veg (seen being delivered both days) explained the price. We found this a convenient touring base, and we would return, the main building is an old coaching inn (I think) and the accommodation block is a more recent addition, rooms clean and adequate ,
there is a busy road within earshot, so may not be the choice for some.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at Ffolkes Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind review - we pride our selves on cooking home made meals and giving hearty portions! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ffolkes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffolkes Arms Hotel

Address: Lynn Rd PE31, King's Lynn PE31 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ffolkes Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ffolkes Arms Hotel UK/Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ffolkes Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.