We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Norfolk Mead Hotel to your Saves list
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Norwich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in samphire suite, what a beautiful room. The whole building appears to have undergone sympathetic renovation.. Fantastic dinner, attentive yet unobtrusive service. Can't wait to go back, well done and good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    47
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
285
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A delightful hotel with friendly staff and excellent Resturant. We enjoyed a fabulous evening enjoying delicious food and wine in beautiful surroundings. The ambiance was delightful and the staff attentive but not overbearing. The room was of a high standard the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. A most enjoyable evening and highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Set back from any main road this very quiet and visually stunning hotel is definitely one to recommend.
The samphire suite we stayed in was fantastc, clean, great deco, amazing bed that was comfortable beyond belief!.
Food was beautifully presented and tasted amazing (for a change I picked soup as my starter...pumkin soup was so very tastey!) All in all, great food, awesome room, really nice staff.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a works Christmas Party nearby. Its a lovely friendly hotel. Very well decorated and the staff could not be more helpful. Our room was called Damson and it was very charming and had all the comforts you could want.

The milk for you in room tea or coffee comes from a local dairy and is stored in a fridge on the landing.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but did have breakfast which was lovely. So lovely that we bought jar of the orange marmalade. We heard other guest saying how wonderful their evening meals had been.

It is set in beautiful grounds and we will try and return in the better weather to appreciate these.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We needed a last minute place to stay for an event in Norwich. By chance we were told about Norfolk Mead and there was one room left.

Rooms are somewhat expensive but it was worth the money, there are deals to be had, but we needed to be there on a specific date so paid the rack rate.

Although only one AA Rosette is awarded I think another inspection is required, this is definitely two or three Rosette cuisine. Dinner was superb with friendly attentive but not intrusive service. The wine list is not vast but there is good variety and a good choice of affordable wines.

The bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced with " White Company" exquisite linen. It was so relaxing. We did not have time to explore the vast grounds but they look divine.

Room Tip: Look on the website if you want a room with a bath. Most have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for a night (sadly only one) and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautifully furnished with lots of little extras like brownies in the room and fresh milk for coffee and teas. Friendly and attentive service and the most delicious dinner and breakfast. Just looking for another excuse to come and stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a birthday celebration, i was slightly apprehensive as i booked via a special offer and all sounded "to good to be true".
As soon as we walked into reception and were welcomed so warmly that this apprehension vanished.
The room was fantastic, bed so comfortable,all other facilities superb.
Could things get better....yes!!
The food from the restaurant is superb both in choice and quality, and the staff are a credit to the place, so genuinely friendly and warm.
I would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Norfolk Mead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.