We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ickworth Hotel to your Saves list
The Ickworth Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
London UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Positives:
Frederick's food is very good.
Hotel grounds were lovely.
Massages were good.

Negatives:
Waiting staff quite young and inexperienced. Found it took a while for us to have our breakfast orders taken (the hotel wasnt busy), and for some reason the eggs were always overcooked even when we asked for soft boiled/poached!
Would be nice to have a sauna/steam as well as a pool.
Final bill needed correcting as we were charged for food for our baby even though she was under 2 and therefore as per our booking her food was complimentary.
Wine list is quite expensive - £7 for a small glass of wine is pretty steep, as is £4.50 for a bottle of beer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear bchapmanlondonUK

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, and I do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that you experienced delays with ordering breakfast and that the eggs were not as you asked, I will of course discuss this with the Food & Beverage manager together with a review of our beverage prices. I am also sorry that your bill was incorrect.

As for sauna and steam room we do not have plans for these at the moment but I am sure that is something that may be considered in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback and for your positive comments.

Best regards and I hope to see you back at Ickworth soon.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    87
    43
    27
    24
See reviews for
169
79
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over half term, with 9 and 11yr olds. Had a very pleasant apartment in the Dower house, meaning the kids could sleep in their own room. There was a great deal of space. But 10 years after the refurb it is starting to show its age, acceptable for a low-end hotel, but for the price could show a little more luxury in the detail.

Reception were always helpful and cheery, low maintenance and not overly bureaucratic. Well done.

Very welcome features such as plenty of wellies, games room, cinema room, pool and free bikes, not forgetting the free dvd hire, with many good titles. The bikes were not well maintained however, with universally poor brakes and in autumnal weather could not be cycled far in the park without getting a muddy back. Some rudimentary mudguards would help. Also lights would have been welcome and make it a pleasant way to get back to the Dower House from eating at the main hotel after dark.

The pool was great, 1.4m deep, so just about tippy toes for a 9-10 year old. Pleasantly decorated and quite large with plenty of toys and floats. At busy times the 2 changing rooms are indemand and there would be a good case for creating more capacity here.

The food in the conservatory was also of very good quality, the menu was somewhat limited but the service was cheerful and efficient. There is a disparity though between the reasonably priced food and the eye-wateringly expensive drinks / wine list.

Breakfast worked out well, but involved a strange delay where one had to wait for some of the food to be prepared in the kitchen (e.g. fried eggs) before serving yourself other items from the bain-maries. This involved some coordination, and frankly seemed a waste of time for the hotel to cook some of the breakfast, but not all.

So overall, a pleasant stay with many good features, but for the luxury tag Id expect all the wrinkles to be removed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear basophil

Thank you for writing a review of your stay on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay with us, and I really value the comments you have made.

As we now have new owners, we have been busily refurbishing the hotel, and still have some way to go until we are finished, and I am pleased to say that the Dower House will be addressed in January next year together with our Butlers Lodge and Conservatory Restaurant.

As for the other comments regarding bikes, breakfast and pool I will certainly address these items over the coming weeks, and I am sure that when you return to Ickworth next year you will see an even better hotel.

Thank you once again and my very best wishes to you.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic overnight stay for NT members! Great children facilities and fabulous staff! The food is also super yummy. It is so welcoming from spare wellies on your way in to a shed full of bikes to a cinema room!

Room Tip: The Grand Tour is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Where_to_next_kids

Thank you for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought the staff were fabulous.

Please come and see us again where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable stay.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Ickworth Hotel 2 years ago and loved it, hence why we returned this half term. Yet again a short 3 day break felt like a week. The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much for them. I never saw anyone without a smile on their face.
This time we took our labrador and he was welcomed with open arms and they even left him a little welcome pack of dog food (ahh). He really enjoyed scampering around the VAST estate. We walked around each day and there was always some new path to discover and something to see. The children (who normally moan about walks) were thoroughly entertained. You can hire bikes, but we didnt this time.
This time we were on the second floor in the interconnecting rooms, which, whilst less grand than the 1st floor rooms, was ideal for us as we had loads of space. Loved the retro furniture and beautiful bathrooms. One problem... lighting was not very good and we struggled in the evenings. Other than that the room was well stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, Elemis toiletries (lovely) and had things like hairdryers, fans, towels etc.
The food was very good and we enjoyed all of our meals. The menu option for the buffet for the kids tea is better, but there are still some things like jelly and cakes for the kids to help themselves too. Conservatory does need updating, but I understand this is being done soon... you cannot do everything at once!
Kids entertainment was great. Trampolines and scooters etc outside and the games room downstairs. Ours are too old for creche now but I know it is very good and 2 hrs a day are included for free. The new cinema room was great, but each night there was some sort of problem with the DVD's jumping... new disks needed I think!
Had some great treatments in the spa and the 2 ladies there were lovely. Swimming pool is also a bonus, but the changing rooms could do with upgrading and it is a shame there isnt a small gym area in the stables, but this wasnt a major problem.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and cannot wait to go back. As we drove off the kids were shouting "bye Ickworth... see you next year!"

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are grander, but the interconnecting rooms are a great option for larger fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Bookins.

What a lovely review of our hotel, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post it on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your second stay and that you felt we are certainly moving in the right direction with all our improvements, and as you say the Cinema in particular has been a big hit.

The little niggles will be looked at and I am sure that when you come again, you will see further improvements to the hotel.

Thank you once more and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was really child friendly and had very nice-rooms which were pretty luxurious -overall a nice relaxing break with spa and pool facilities and decent food in lovely surroundings. I would recommend this hotel- low key but with hints of luxury a whirlpool would be a great addition.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice.I would stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear connie80

Thank you so much for a lovely review of our hotel. i was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your break and that you found the rooms, food and surroundings to be of special note.

Your comments regarding a whirlpool will be passed on to the relevant members of the team responsible for refurbishment and upgrades and i am sure that they will take this into consideration when we look at our wet area upgrade.

Again thank you for your comments.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at ickworth hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We specifically searched a long time to find a hotel which met all our requirements when going away with our two year old and it certainly met them all......plenty for him to do( outdoor toys and creche where we played for ages with him, swimming, bike rides, animal spotting, relaxed restaurant atmosphere) in a beautiful surrounding. We stayed in the dower house which was a good 10 minute walk away from the main hotel, which wasn't a problem for us but maybe worth thinking about for others. The restaurant had lovely food both for us and our toddler. The only thing we found could be improved upon would be to have daily specials as this being the only place to eat with a toddler, some variety would be welcomed. But we did find the food lovely! Our toddler loved the swimming but we did find the changing facilities a little difficult , as there were only curtains instead of a door and this was a little tricky with a very eager two year old!!!
The nearby town of Bury st Edmonds was also lovely for an afternoon out, gorgeous lil park near the abbey.
During our stay we looked at re booking during the summer as we enjoyed it so much. However the prices during the summer months seem very high so will be looking for deals somewhere before booking again.
Thanks for making our toddlers birthday one to remember!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the Dower house which was a good walk away ( ten minutes). We ended up driving to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our hotel, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with your two year old.

Your comments regarding the menu is indeed welcomed and we will be re mastering our food offering in due course where I am sure you will be delighted with the changes.

As for the pool changing rooms, this is an area which will also be addressed in due course as we continue with our refurbishment and renovation programme, and the next phase for us will be the restoration of the conservatory and improvements to our Dower house.

I am sure that if you keep an eye on our website, you will always spot a special offer, and I sincerely hope that you will come and see us again in the summer.

Thank you again, and best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for a weekend to celebrate my father in laws 80 th birthday , we were a group of 10 adults and 6 children . Every one was catered for . The food was amazing , the rooms beautifully decorated and the most comfy bed I've ever slept in !
The staff could not have been more helpful , nothing was too much trouble .
The children used the pool and loved it . I had treatments at the spa ( amazing )
Set in the most amazing grounds .
Every meal we ate here was excellent served by friendly and helpful staff , couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IckworthGM, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a lovely review.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with your family and that you thought the hotel was good in every way.

Your comments regarding the staff are very welcome indeed, and I have passed these lovely words on to them.

I sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ickworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.