We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage, Hawstead Place
The Cottage, Hawstead Place
The Cottage, Hawstead Place
one of the sitting rooms in the cottage
Main Bedroom with southerly views over farmland
Kitchen with views over garden
Twin Bedroom with views over organic pastureland
Horringer
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ATNew
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Extremely comfortable and well appointed cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We were two couples ( one with a young baby) who decided to get away from London between Christmas and New Year. Forge Cottage was exactly what we were looking for. Extremely modern and comfortable and enough room for you not to feel on top of each other, especially when the weather didn't lend itself to being outside. Especially useful was the provision of wifi.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sunseeker...
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage is very well equipped and very clean. Has own parking area and fencing. The farm is working, so expect some noise early in the morning but never was a problem in the evening or at night.

The owners are very accommodating and always happy to help.

I would totally recommend this property as it is rural and isolated but also close to reasonable roads and you can quickly get to Bury and surrounding towns / attractions.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
tvrtrixie...
Harrod ohio
1 review
“Excellant, recommended to anyone travelling to the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

stunning settings, outstanding cottage but OMG the noise....... there wasn't ANY except the sounds of chickens, pigeons and nature. we saw deer and foxes our daughter (7) was amazed and loved the stay, if you have a need to be in Bury ST Edmunds this would be the place to stay, the cottage has everything you would need the "local" serves excellant food and beers and town is a couple miles away.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the settings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Robert S
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, surrounded by beautiful scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Forge cottage for 5 days at the end of May to visit family in Bury. It was a very short drive from the cottage to Bury, and there was a really good pub down the road.

The cottage itself was lovely inside, clean, modern and well furnished, with a high chair and portable crib for our little one. The owner was extremely helpful, when we needed a washing-up brush, he showed up with one really quickly.
The location is stunning with rolling hills and lots of room for a toddler to run around in.

Next time we're back in Bury we'll definitely stay here again.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BelB1982
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in truly beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed at Forge cottage for just over two weeks with my husband and baby. We live in Hong Kong and wanted a complete break from city life whilst in the UK introducing our baby to our family! The cottage was everything we wanted, well equipped and cosy, very close to Bury st Edmunds whilst also being in very rural countryside.

We had relatives staying with us for a few days and the cottage has a very comfortable second bedroom and a sofa bed downstairs and thwas more than adequate for 6 of us (and a baby) during this time and yet did not feel too big when it was just the 3 of us.

Perfect, we will be back!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and interior of the cottage
Liked least: Minor point but wardrobe space and lack of mirrors upstairs!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dirk D
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You need a place to relax? Forge cottage is the place to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We found this cottage on the internet and decided very quickly to rent it for twelve days.
It proved to be a first class choice, value for money. The information on the website is 100% correct.

It was easy to contact the owner and he provided us with the information needed to get to the cottage.

The cottage is very well equipped. We were only with three but there is certainly enough room for six persons.
The bedrooms are very good with comfortable beds.
The kitchen is very nice. Well equipped for those who like to cook.
TV is provided, WiFi is available. (Do you want WiFi on holidays?)

The cottage is located in a very, very quiet area in beautifull surounding.
Beautifull dark nights, no street lights, with stars only and complete silence.

Bury St. Edmunds is very near. Nice place for shopping and visiting. Even some good restaurants too.
We visited many places like Cambridge, Ely, Newmarket, Blakeney Point,Ickworth House, Wimpole Estate ,Melford Hall,Oxburgh Hall, Lavenham, Anglesey Abbey, Duxfort IWM....

It was the first time we visited East Anglia. It's a beautifull countryside with many interesting places to visit.

We had very nice weather and it was a fantastic holiday which was only too short...

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quiet surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MayByfman
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at the Forge Cottage for a long weekend whilst at a friends wedding and it was absolutely perfect for the small group of us, far better than a hotel.

The cottage is in a lovely country location and is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. It is located within a short drive to local shops and pubs.

The owners were very helpful in making my reservation and during our stay....they even brought us freshly laid eggs from the farm which were delicious!

I highly recommend this cottage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: No full length mirror
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$171
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Rupert B
44 07919 055515
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2008
Response Rate: 30 %
Response Time: Within a few days
Calendar Updated: 25 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing