We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plans to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Kings Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Stephen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Arms Hotel
Save
You added Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Alton, Hants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Plans to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay here on our Coast to Coast walk was functional and in discussion with the ?owner he has only recently taken over and plans to endertake renovations over the winter. The place was 'somewhat tired' but functional; there was plenty of hot water and the food very welcome with a pleasant waitress doing her best. Breakfast was 'spot on' - just what was needed before the climb up to Nine Standards!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    6
    8
    12
See reviews for
3
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here overnight on the C2C walk, thankfully it was only one night! It is by far the worst place I have ever stayed.

It is in dire need of a refurbishment, and should not offer rooms until it has been! Luke warm water, broken tiles on the floor in the shower. Mouldy windows. I have stayed in better Battle Camps. Thankfully this was the only bad accommodation we had on the entire trip.

Best avoided

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Shabby.
Awful place, with cracked tiles, wall paper hanging off, luke warm shower, a 'patch work' carpet. OId fashioned and in need of a darn good over haul!
Breakfast wasn't much better, couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Can't believe some of the negative comments on here!!!!!!!!!We went ,last April as a group of 25ish.Fair enough,we pre booked,but the quality of the food,friendliness of the staff and the service was exceptional.Will definately go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Dinner for four, booked table seen written in diary but said that they had no booking, they hadn't looked.
Sunday left-over roast, meat good, roast potatoes so rewarmed and left-over that they had no middle left with burnt yorkshire. Duck good. Gin and tonic with no gin. No atmosphere.
Service awful, one menu between four, plates not cleared, no suggestion of sweets or coffee.
Served by teenager pleasant but inefficient. New landlord scarce, sadly worse than previous people, shame.

Room Tip: Dinner and bar only but best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It is tired and expensive for what it offers. Better places must be available in the town. Staff were friendly but that didn't compensate for the refurbishment required. Beer is good but remember to leave after drinking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked a twin room when doing part of the coast to coast, paying a deposit over the phone. When it came to paying the balance I was told that since we had a room with a bath we had to pay an extra £10. We paid but looking back I shouldn't have as we had absolutely no hot water, having to boil kettles to get washed in the sink!
Breakfast was very nice however, although it was impossible to get an early start.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor overlooking the front of the building as our room was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is an attractive 17th century former Posting Inn, situated in the small market town of Kirkby Stephen, in the upper Eden Valley. It is in an area of natural beauty, lying mid-way between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and yet is only a few minutes drive from the M6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Kirkby Stephen, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.