We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly with great food and beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croglin Castle Hotel

Croglin Castle Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Stephen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croglin Castle Hotel
Save
You added Croglin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
South Road, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly with great food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed two nights here in Feb 2011. I found the Croglin Castle an exceptionally friendly, welcoming place. The bar and restaurant areas are cosy and characterful with open fires and original features. The beer (brewed in a micro-brewery beneath the pub) was a great added bonus. The real effort put into the food showed in lots of minor details, not least the breakfast which was wonderful. The pizza was superb though I’d recommend sharing unless you want to keep some for lunch on the hills next day or have a bigger appetite than me! The rooms are comfortable however the bathrooms are a little dated. This is more than made up for by the hospitality of the staff and character of the place though.

The area is also rather splendid for walking right from the doorstep; from a gentle but very picturesque stroll on the disused railway to a stomp up to the Nine Standards Rig. I hope to be back...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coniston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. The owner is so friendly, and made us feel at home. The bedroom was very comfortable with tv and tea/coffee facilities. The view from the bedroom window was superb, right over the local fells.
We had a seperate bathroom, but there were rooms with ensuite facilities.
Breakfast was wonderful, and set us up for a day walking, right from the door. At night we ate in the bar, next to a roaring log fire, drinking a fine selection of local real ales. Food was real hearty fayre.
Everyone was so friendly, and told us about the local area. we would highly reccommend The Croglin Castle to anyone, we will be returning again this year for another visit. A great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

we enjoyed our 2 day break ,Rob the manager was an excellent cook and host ,made us feel like we were at home ,totally relaxing and would recommend to anyone ,Ian behind the bar was also very helpful . we will go back again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay.The food was excellent and really well presented.

The owner of the hotel is also the chef. He is a young guy and has only been there six or seven months. He is in the process of renovating. For now he has sorted out the bar and the restaurant. He couldn’t do enough for us. Anything he didn't know about in the locality the regulars stepped in and provided a brief history.We would definitely stay there again and have now booked to stay at the end of January.

Kirkby Stephen was good too. The people there were really friendly. There are about four or five pub/hotels overall and three or four restaurants. It is in the middle of walking country and there is a railway station fairly close by.

All in all a really nice place and worth another visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1976, Manager at Croglin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and it was great to see you back again at the end of January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croglin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croglin Castle Hotel

Address: South Road, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Croglin Castle Hotel Kirkby Stephen, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croglin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.