We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay nice people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Tree Hotel

Orange Tree Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Tree Hotel
Save
You added Orange Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely stay nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

going back to the orange tree next time we stay in kirkby lonsdale, room 3 was more than we expected and the price was ok, bed was so comfortable, breakfast very good,just let staff no when you want it the night before, and all made fresh,so relaxed .

Room Tip: our room 3, was lovely, large bathroom,comfy double bed, conservatry too.tea and coffee in room.pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    4
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just come back from kirkby Lonsdale, we stayed in the orange Tree for three nights, Thursday to Sunday. We stayed in the main house which is called the court yard. Our room was very large victoriana decor, with two windows one overlooking the gardens and the other we could see the church clock! The bathroom was also very large with a lovely big bath and a shower! The staff in the bar at the Orange Tree are really happy and friendly, which tells me it's not only a great place to stay, but a great place to work. The breakfasts were also really really good, and on the Saturday night we(all eight of us) had a very enjoyable meal and we didn't wait to long either and we all got our meals together.The bar is a free house and serves some very good real ales, so my husband informs me, and it also sells some very good G and Ts!!!!!! I recommend the Orange Tree very highly and hope to stay there again really soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We decided to travel here for lunch based on the Good Beer Guide entry, and we weren't disappointed. This is a nice pub in a nice small town.

Excellent range of beers (as you'd expect from a Camra pub of the year), mostly local, and well kept.

Very nice food, well presented, though my medium to well done steak came was more well done that I'd have preferred but still decent.

Service very friendly and efficient. Recommended,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place has a nice authentic country pub feel to it. There are a few other places like this in Kirkby but for my taste they are a bit too polished compared to the Orange Tree. We had a room on the top floor which was nice, spacious and clean with a comfy bed. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the breakfast is good.

We ate our evening meal in the place and i can recommend the burgers which i reckon are home made.

In short if you want a good value relaxed Inn to stay in in kirkby i would recommend this place. If you are looking for a 5* country hotel experience there are other places in Kirkby which do this better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Broke my journey from Glasgow to Birmingham here as I was seeing a friend. Room was lovely, spacious and the bed gave me the best nights sleep in a hotel in ages. Can't comment on the breakfast as I was away before the birds started chirruping

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an excellent example of a traditional real ale pub, really great friendly atmosphere, I fancied a dark beer and the barman fetched a bottle from the cellar...we ordered starters and main meals at the same time ...service was quick and the food was lovely ..well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Your never sure what you are going to get when you stay in a pub style hotel but The Orange Tree was brilliant.

The room was very charming and homely and the best nights sleep I've had when staying away.

The staff are really friendly and the locals make for a great atmosphere, along with really good food I would definitely recommend it and I will definitely be staying here again next year when I'm back for the West Morland Show.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Hotel

Address: Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Orange Tree Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks.Our family run establishment typifies everything you might expect of an English country pub; warm open fires, oak beams and an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. We are renowned for the quality of our sumptuous, hearty meals and our impressive range of beers from our own Kirkby Lonsdale brewery and changing guest ales. Whether you wish to stay in quality accommodation or simply need a refreshing pint of traditional cask ale, The Orange Tree Hotel is your destination of choice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.