We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous chic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hipping Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hipping Hall
Save
You added Hipping Hall to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cowan Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous chic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast for our 1st wedding anniversary. We wanted a venue that could offer first class food and a littel bit of luxury - HIpping Hall did not let us down. The venue is beautifully appointed and a wonderful building. The minute you walk in there is an air of calm and relaxation. Staff are friendly and the whole place was warm and inviting.

Our room was small but perfectly proportioned and offered a great view of the gardens (room 3). It was spotlessly clean and the bed was sumptuous and very comfortable. Everything you want.

The food was DIVINE - easily worthy of a michelen star. We have eaten at some fantastic restaurants and this was definitely up there in the top three. Standards and service were impecable. Also a very good wine list and some good wines that are reasoably priced. The food was also excellent value we have paid a lot more for food way below this standard.

I do have two suggestions (not critisms): the dinning hall is very formal and a litle stuffy - the only thing lacking during the evening was a bit of atmosphere and I don't think this was helped by the medieval style music being played - way, way too somber and also the staff could losen up a little bit. The waiter we had was good but maybe a little too impersonal. We were keen to retire to the lounge because of the music it was simply too much - maybe lighten the mood a little with some easy listening. The second suggestion was our meal felt rushed - we literally had our plates collected and two seconds later the next course was in front of us. A little more time between courses would have been better.

Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    55
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
268
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our Ruby Wedding on 18th August. It was a fantastic experience!! The hotel was terrific and the staff frindly and attentive. We could not find any faults, not that we were looking for any!! The room was perfect and the restaurant was excellent! Food to die for! The tasting menu is well recommended. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely return again. Congratulations and compliments to the owners and staff for a class act!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thanks to the Post Office staff and the lady at the Cowan Store general store we located Hipping Hall. Picturesque setting.
We stayed 22 and 23 July and would have loved to stay longer. Where do I start. On arrival we were offered tea to be served in our room. A lovely start to our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable. The dinner both nights was superb. I didn't expect this level of food. the chef and his team excelled themselves. Food was without fault. Breakfast was very nice.
Fresh fruit in our room was appreciated so too was the newspaper.
Our experience was without fault. Staff were friendly and professional.
The grounds and gardens are beautiful. Having afternoon teas in the garden on a sunny warm day was a lovely treat.
If you live in England which we unfortunately don't this is a must weekend away to get away away from the frenetic pace we tend to live our lives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Hipping Hall. We stayed in Room 1 which was overlooking the front of the hotel, the room was a good size, clean and beautifully decorated. It was warm weather during our stay so we had our window open the whole time however we did not notice any traffic noise at all. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and polite and helped to create a relaxed atmosphere. We had the tasting menu on the first night of our stay and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest meals we have ever had. Our favourite courses were the halibut and the duck which were amazing. Our whole meal from the drinks and canapés in the lounge through to the coffee and petit fours was a wonderful dining experience, and good value for the high standard given. The breakfast on both mornings was also excellent. We would definitely return to Hipping Hall, if you enjoy good food you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_W_Owner, Owner at Hipping Hall, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Abbie S,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Hipping Hall. It's really rewarding to hear that you had one of your nicest meals ever with us. Praise doesn't come much higher than that!

Look forward to seeing you both again soon,

Best Wishes,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were sent to Hipping Hall by our children.
We stayed in room 7 as we brought dog.
The room was lovely, they even left dog bowl and towel for us to use. No tea and coffee in room but just ring or go to reception for fresh tea and coffee which you can have outside or in room.
We had evening meal and breakfast. Both gorgeous and such lovely waiters too especially the young man from Hungary he was so smiley but very professional too.
Grounds are beautiful. A lovely stay thank you ,

Room Tip: Room 7 for dog lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best prepared full breakfast that I have ever had. The portions were just right. Well presented and well cooked. It could not be faulted in any way.

Set in a wonderfully maintained garden

The wifi in bedroom 9 was non existent. I would have preferred to be told in advance of my booking that wifi was /was not available rather than be let down and remain out of touch. Wifi was available in the hotel bar but the signal was very weak and a waste of space!!

No tea or coffee in the bedroom. A courtesy tray would have been nice.

Staff very attentive and polite

Restaurant menu was difficult to understand. We gave up and ate out because simply could not make any sense of the menu. The hotel menu seemed a bit pricy.

Our room was in a loft and a bit on the dark and dingy side. It was more of a mezzanine arrangement . The internal staircase took up a large part of the bedroom. The bedroom was very poorly set out with too much furniture for the size of the room. The bedroom was very 1970's with a brown shag pile carpet. Very disappointing having regard to the cost. We did not feel that we had value for money and would not stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_W_Owner, Owner at Hipping Hall, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello Jennifer 256,

Thank you for your review. We’re really glad that you thought the breakfast with us couldn’t be faulted and that you enjoyed the gardens and grounds. Graham has done a lot of work on the lawns this year and it’s really starting to show.

It’s hard to know where to start in response to your other points. With the previous review it was obvious that we had dropped a ball, and of course we apologised unreservedly. On this occasion it just seems that your expectations and our offering were misaligned from the start. Of course we are extremely sorry and disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, but it’s very hard for us to apologise for being what we are.

It clearly states on our website that we are a country Restaurant with Rooms. The huge majority of guests that come to Hipping Hall are here to get away from it all. They are most certainly not looking for a provider of high speed internet. With this in mind we took the decision not to install Wi-fi in the bedrooms. We feel that this allows our guests to literally ‘switch off’ for a couple of days. If however there is an important email to reply to, or they are looking for information on the surrounding area then the connection provided in the lounge and bar area is more than adequate.

I would like to point out that, as mentioned in the room information, tea and coffee making facilities are available on request. It is also a shame that you didn’t dine with us as, being a Restaurant with Rooms this is a major part of our offering. Our menu is written in a clear, concise modern style and does occasionally use the traditional French words such as confit or parfait. However, I do think these are common parlance and their English translations ‘cooked in its own fat’ and ‘smooth meat paste’ are perhaps rather unappealing.

Best Wishes,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A stunningly beautiful and tranquil hotel. Our room was very quaint and full of history. The staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The gardens are lovely but there is noise from the busy road, you can't see it but you can hear it. Breakfast was to a very high standard but the portions are on the small side, certainly for my husband!
My main criticism was the lack of cleanliness in the room. The toilet was quite unpleasant and I had to clean it to use it. Should have complained but was too tired from a long journey and just couldn't handle the hassle. The room and bathroom were very dusty, you could write your name in the lamps.
Could have been a rare jewel but we were left feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_W_Owner, Owner at Hipping Hall, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello katieom37,

Thank you for your frank and honest review of Hipping Hall on TripAdvisor. We are all very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as much as you expected too. To hear that this was due to a lack of cleanliness is doubly disappointing. As you say, Hipping Hall is beautiful hotel in a lovely setting and all of the team here take great care in keeping it so. There really is no excuse for poor housekeeping as we have procedures in place to make sure this sort of incident doesn’t happen. It appears that on this occasion we’ll just have to accept that we’ve let ourselves down.

It is a shame that you made no mention of this to us throughout your stay. I fully understand that you were tired and didn’t want to complain on arrival, but you stayed with us for 4 days. As you say, our staff are approachable and want all of our guests to get the most out of their stay. If you had mentioned your concerns to one of them then we would have tried our level best to make it up to you.

I do hope that you enjoyed your visit to the North West and that if you ever return you'll give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Best Wishes,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hipping Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipping Hall

Address: Cowan Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hipping Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hipping Hall is a modern country restaurant with 3 AA Rosette dining and luxuriously appointed bedrooms.Sitting between the beautiful English Lake District and the rugged Yorkshire Dales, Hipping Hall is the perfect venue to explore the very best of what the North-West has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hipping Hall Kirkby Lonsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hipping Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.