We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy but average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cariad - CLOSED

Cariad
Market Place, Kirkby Lonsdale, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe
Longridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Cosy but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This little cafe is warm and welcoming, with a view over the Market Place. I opted for soup and a sandwich. The Pea and Ham Soup was excellent. One of the best I have ever had. The bap filled with home cooked ham, cheese and onion marmalade was also good. The cake was described as a toffee crunch gateau. It did not taste of toffee, it had no crunch and the sponge was rather too moist and falling apart. The overall taste of the ingredients was not good. The chocolate coating looked good but had a greasy texture and lacked quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was visiting Kirkby lonsdale to see family and stumbeled across this pretty cafe in the market square, was welcomed with the smiling faces of 3 young waitresses who where more than happy to help me in my choice, I went for the pea and ham soup with home made bread (tastes amazing). It was just what I needed hearty and filling. When visiting Kirkby lonsdale next time this place is my first stop

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“We love this little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A cute little cafe on the square in Kirkby Lonsdale - good for a coffee, breakfast or lunch. They also have a licence so you can get a glass of wine or local ales like Bluebird

They have their own homemade bread and allow dogs in - we're regular visitors

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You Dog You”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been many times before to this normally welcoming and (dog friendly) Restaurant. We arrived today wanting Lunch for 4. There were plenty of tables for 2 available. It was entirely possible to move 2 tables together. The staff could not be bothered so we left! We will therefore also not bother again and shall try some of the many other Restaurants / Tea Rooms in Kirkby Lonsdale in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is an excellent dog friendly cafe with home made food and gently jazz music in the background. Whilst it can be a bit busy at times it still maintains it's friendly, laid back, approach that makes it a wonderful place to be.

So why only 4 stars? Well the choice of cakes is a bit restricted; it doesn't take plastic, it's cash only; the window displays of the past are gone and it's a bit drab; the 'modern' fire doesn't maintain the charm and ambience; - OK, I'm a bit picky - but this is easy to fix and it won't put me off visiting again. What does put me off is the parking in the square - this is managed
by South Lakeland Council - they have a complex system of paying and even charge the disabled; they aren't helping places like Cariad compete with those that have free parking

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cariad also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.