We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Whoop Hall to your Saves list
The Whoop Hall
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Kirkby Lonsdale B&B and Inns
Scotland, Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just enjoyed another great stay here and this time with our new 'big' puppy! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, and the food, drink and atmosphere excellent! We were pleased with their welcome attitude to dogs as this was very refreshing and made our trip possible! Had a great stay and will be back again! We would definitely recommend, especially to responsible dog owners. Thank you!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    251
    100
    69
    87
See reviews for
118
404
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights. Nice spacious room. Bathroom with separate bath and shower. Although the bathroom was a bit dusty in general good levels of cleanliness. Plenty of tea and coffee in room but no bottled water. They have a good pool area and well equipped gym. Had dinner first night which was ok. Menu not brilliant and slightly overpriced for what you get. If better value and more choice would have probably have ate there both nights. The hotel is in a good central location for southern lakes. Close to Kendal and Lancaster and you could walk to Kirkby Lonsdale which is 2 mins in car. We had a nice breakfast in one of the cafes there. They also allow dogs we didn't take ours but might next time. Overall good hotel. Will definitely stay here again and make use of facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am planning to go walking in the Dales next month and noticed that this hotel has a Groupon deal on at the moment. Before purchasing the deal I thought it best to first call the hotel to check availability and room rates as I also wanted to stay an extra night. I got as far as saying hello and mentioning Groupon when the gentleman who answered curtly told me I could only call between 9.00am and 5.00pm (it was 5.45pm) abrubtly ending the conversation and putting the phone down before I could explain further. Needless to say I won't be calling back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whoop101, Owner at The Whoop Hall, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

On our Groupon offer we clearly state that bookings must be made between 9am and 5pm as the offer is popular and the members of staff in the evening are busy serving our guests and making sure they have an enjoyable stay.

We apologise that you feel we have not offered you the best experience trying to book at The Whoop Hall. We hope you can understand why these regulations are in place.

Kind Regards,

The Whoop Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend break here in March. The staff were warm and friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. A roaring fire keeps the bar area warm and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away at The Whoop Hall. Arrived on Friday afternoon with a little trepidation after having read some reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. I thought it was a bit unfair of some of the write up`s on tripadvisor. Lovely warm, welcome from reception staff. Very pleasantly surprised at the room, very clean and comfortable, some aspects looking a little tired but it’s an old building ! Evening meal was excellent, extremely impressed and service was extremely efficient. Had dinner on second night also and it did not disappoint, was just as good ! . Had a great weekend and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was one weekend break I was really looking forward to - however, I was to be disappointed from the off. The owner/manager/guard (I'm not sure which) was a scary character in one sense, well, all the staff were scared to death of him. He was extremely rude when we walked into reception. At first I thought he was a workman, very gruff and unpleasant. Two days before, I had telephoned to confirm that we were still on the list of guests and was told by a very pleasant receptionist that we were expected and we were in a quiet room with a shower (as requested), in fact we were told it was room number 8 on the ground floor. When we were given our key, we found it was room number 24 - on the top floor, no lift and facing the road. The room was outdated as was the bathroom. The water was extremely hot and some elderly guests could well have scalded themselves. There was no hair-dryer in the room and, because there was no telephone in the room (even though there was a phone socket, we had to go down to reception to "borrow" one. We were told not to put any of the towels on the floor as they were not replaced when guests only stayed two nights. We had diner on both evenings; I had steak on the first night which was great, the rest of the meal was not good. My partner's meal was awful through out. On the second night, we both had (what was supposed to be thin-based pizzas; the tops were well done but the bases were both uncooked. The only saving grace over the weekend were two shining lights (employees) at the hotel - Naomi and Ryan. these two were extremely pleasant, very hard working but very stressed. If I had a hotel or restaurant I would have no problem employing either or both of these young folks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a last minute three night trip to Kirkby Lonsdale (lovely village) for the weekend, checking in on Friday 5th April. We turned up at 2:30pm (check in began at 2pm). We were advised our room wasn't quite ready by the friendly lad who was barman, receptionist, waiter at the time.
An hour passed and we were given our key. However, on arrival at our room, it clearly had not been serviced with dirty towels on the bed etc. We returned to the bar and waited another hour for our key.
We then decided to use the health club, we had to bring our room towels as the health club (and indeed the hotel) had run out. Although the pool area was nice, the changing area wasn't health club standard, more municipal pool. The pool and spa were very cold; the sauna and steam room were fine though.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner and were surprised to find out that the menu for Turner's Bistro and Connor's restaurant was the same. However, we were advised to order our drinks and food at the bar and that we would be taken in to dinner when it was ready. Well, we had finished our drinks by the time we were shown through to the restaurant and there was no opportunity to order at the table as the poor lad (receptionist from before) was run off his feet. So much so that he dropped my chips on the floor and new ones only made an appearance at the end of the meal.
The main issue though was with the shower which was scalding hot. We mentioned this to the new everyjob man on Saturday morning. We'd spent so much time faffing around with it we made it to breakfast with 10 minutes to spare when bowls were empty etc. A plummer did turn up at 4:40pm and gave us the prior litany of problems they had had with it. We compromised by asking him to set it at a livable level and not to worry about fixing it so that we could dial it up and down. However, to our chagrin, we found out that it didn't work the next morning. Apologies were made and more litany about the problems they have had with it; we were told we could use the Health Club showers instead. Unappealing. No plumber turned up on the Sunday and so Monday was a guaranteed bust although we gainfully tried entirely missing breakfast that morning.
When we checked out, the everyjob man said that he had the key to another room to give us at breakfast to have a shower but he didn't see us at breakfast. Nobody bothered to knock on the door though.
He comped us £30 on our bill (basically covered the meal), writing this makes us feel like that really wasn't enough when you add it all up. But we are not aggressive people like that, their friendliness and apologies were not an issue, it was just all wrong.
The cleanliness of the room was not great either, they have a two day policy of replacing towels, fine, but ours were not replaced after two days and the room wasn't vacuumed either.

So, four points of recommendation for the Whoop Hall Inn. Get more staff, fire the plummer (it is really not my concern that they have spent £2500 on a valve, it didn't make us feel any better for knowing it), if you are going to strand new arrivals for two hours in the lounge, get more comfortable furniture and finally, don't let out a room in which you KNOW there is a problem. It's just common sense!

Room Tip: Don't get room #5 if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whoop Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.