We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Casterton, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2RX, England
015242 71230
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lake District, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time we've taken any notice of a local paper review - but they were absolutely right to praise this place. Seems to have recently been taken on and improved by a new family team, with a focus on good service and great cooking.

the menu is nicely varied with modern takes on traditional pub food and offers more imaginative options than most for veggie diets. Prices were fair for the area - around £12-£15 for excellent main courses - best pub food in the area by far. (The Sun in Kirkby Lonsdale comes close but does get hectic at busy times). We find many places in the lakes fail to cook everything well (often, side orders/veg is inedible - perhaps left to junior staff?) - but they ensured everything was spot on before serving.

Have thought about going back every day since we visited recently and will be doing so this week. Pub rooms are simply and smartly decorated - the dining room looks very nice too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    25
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“What better place on a wet Sunday, than the Pheasant Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having read a review in our local paper about the Pheasant Inn, we decided to try it out for ourselves. I have to say the rave review wasn't wrong. Very good value for money. My starter of coley with red pepper polenta was light and fresh, whilst my other half succumbed to a comforting and extremely tasty leek and potato soup with a dunking chunk of artisan bread and real butter - nowt wrapped in bits of foil here thank goodness. Both opting for the traditional roast beef, offered pink or well done. It would have been a travesty to order well done, and pink was just what it was - tender and delicious. Good plate of food at a good price. My husband couldnt resist a pancake with flambe orange and chocolate sauce, with which our attentative waitress provided an extra spoon! Excellent food and will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worthy of its No.1 spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is very rare for a pub to bridge the gap between pub grub and very posh dining but this restaurant/pub does it with aplomb. First impressions - beautifuly decorated with farrow and ball style understated decor and a gorgeous lounge with roaring fire where you wait for your table . You can choose the restaurant or a table in the bar but we chose the restaurant - erring towards semi formal but still a hint of its pubs roots shining through. The food here is incredible - local pheasant, venison, duck plus other more standard fare but done in style. Some wonderful meals that you only normally see in very expensive restaurants.The chef here is top drawer and rightly deserves the great reviews. The fact that we were scruffy tourists on holiday from the soft south (eastbourne) without a booking on a saturday evening didnt trouble them at all. The staff were lovely and fitted us in without fuss and gave us really good service. This squeezes into my top 10 personal favourites

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Super meal and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A sput of the moment end of week meal out for us - and we hadn't tried The Pheasant before, so thought we'd have a go. The food was absolutely excellent. My Eggplant Parmigianna was superb and came with a really tasty pesto dressed rocket salad with pine kernels. My husband's sea bass was good and chunky siz wise - with an excellent sauce, well cooked veg and good mash. Desserts were both excellent - with the apple tart tatin just beating the warm dark chocolate tart. Good ice cream too! Reasonably priced, warm and convivial atmosphere - great place for an informal meal with good food guaranteed! We ate in the bar - prefer a less formal style! Also enjoyed the Argentinian Melbec! We'll be back - we picked up on the Scots influence and as Scots ourselves that just added to the evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food; friendly, efficient service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Came for an evening meal, weekday; chose to eat in the very cosy bar. The food was outstanding
: chips are a good test of a restaurant; these were obviously freshly-made, not frozen, and crisp, not fatty...delicious! The steak and ale pie wasn't the standard puff-pastry topping on a little dish, but a big slice of proper pie, full of savoury steak...it would have satisfied Desperate Dan! My wife's eggplant plus salad veggie dish was pronounced excellent; a vanilla pod and raspberry creme brûlée was also extremely good. The service throughout was attentive, courteous and professional. Highly recommended, and deserves the high praise from other Tripadvisor reviewers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.