We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar but eat somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale to your Saves list
Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
33 Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good bar but eat somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The food was not all fresh as advertised. Children ate burger and gammon with chips which they said was ok but nothing special.

The 2 adult meals were from the freezer and the meat was tough and stringy. I left mine. Even the vegatables weren't fresh and had been reheated.

The bar was good but for eating either stick with the grills or go somewhere else

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

room very small , hot and shabby, not worth £70 a night!! Can't believe it is rated as a four star inn by AA!! Pub music below room loud and went on until 1 am , not something I expected in a historic market town such as Kirkby Lonsdale. Breakfast was the only saving grace.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We found our self stranded in Kirkby Lonsdale on route for the North East due to December snow fall. We decided it too dangerous to carry on further so looked for two rooms for ourselves and our teenage girls.

The Snootly Fox had rooms available and allowed us immediate acces although only lunch time as we were a little cold and wet. They did us a good deal on price the rooms were adequate and clean certainly nothing to complain about .
We ate in the pub in the evening the food was very nice enjoyed by all and honestly priced.
Breakfast was good too.
There was a lovely log fire in the bar and the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Needs updating, huge stain on carpet. standard double ( not small, avoided that due to review on here) bed queensize and bedding clean but dated. At £80 per night it was shabby. Hit head in bathroom as small door, no warning signs. Door loose, draughty windows. Breakfast small and nothing remarkable. Staff friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Address: 33 Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooty Fox Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.