We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti

Avanti
57 Main St, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AH, England
+44 15242 73500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: CONTEMPORARY BAR/RESTAURANT. RUSTIC COOKING.ART. SORRY, NO HIGH CHAIRS OR CHILDRENS MENU.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved this place- We were in Kirkby Lonsdale for the 3rd time, and decided to explore some of the plentiful supply of good food places in the town- honestly you're spoilt for choice! But this place was busy and buzzy-had alot of local people in there which I always think is a good sign. Really friendly and QUICK service- excellent eclectic selection of delicious food- quite alot of Italian, but greek and spanish flavours too. For instance I had an Italian starter and then a fantastic cajan chicken dish that came with tzasiki. I wanted to exchange the potatoes served with that to a good salad-- no problem at all. We had a great evening there, and enjoyed the food, ambience, and the friendly service. Extremely good value too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    96
    17
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Word - Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect, attention paid to every detail.
Superb value. Great wine list.
Tasty Anchovy Nibbles.
Booking recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was quite busy on a rainy Tuesday lunchtime mainly with "ladies who lunch" and some families. The surroundings are arty and modern and we had a lovely corner table overlooking the courtyard. Excellent menu and choice. The ravioli was very good and focaccia bread lightly toasted.
We were surprised that we had to go to the bar to order our meal and later our coffee - women don't like this.
We'll be back on a sunny day next summer to dine in the walled garden.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Emily is the waitress too ask for when you go for your drink or meal, she ensures you are served perfectly at your table. The food was really good, and the puddings are too die for.
Dont forget to ask for Emily,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really nice place and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Avanti is a nice bar and restaurant with a great atmosphere. The food was excellent and reasonably priced

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to Avanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.