We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in Marlow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanilla Pod

Vanilla Pod
31 West Street, Marlow SL7 2LS, England
+44 (0)1628 898101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 restaurants in Marlow
Price range: $102 - $102
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Marlow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have been to this restaurant after a shopping trip in Marlow. We have opted for the tasting menu (Menu Gourmand), which was very good value for money. All the courses were delicious and the portions were generous too. The only problem we had was parking, it was very difficult to find a space on a Saturday, but this is not the restaurant's fault. The service was friendly and welcoming, highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    121
    49
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely ,beautiful meal...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you love fish- it is your place...Lovely ,tasty...unusual food combinations - and very nice.....
Good selection of wines and excellent service..
But...- room is tiny.....and tables are very close to each other..- that is only one minus...
But I guess,it's personal preference....
Overall- very pleasant experience....thank you so much!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband surprised me for my birthday. The food was excellent and the atmosphere in a small restaurant was incredible. Spacious between tables, clean and elegant. Cost is moderately expensive but well worth it for a treat for a special day. Their taster menu is £60 pp but you get 9 courses. They have a wine list you cannot image. Small but filling, I'd go again and again. If you are in Marlow, it is well worth a golly good lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprise Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was suggested by one of the group as we could not get a table at nearby Hand & Flowers . It was a great suggestion for lunch . Restaurant is very small but cosy , fresh ingredients well cooked and reasonably prices . Nice matching wine list . We had a really enjoyable lunch and am sure we will return

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disappointing evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked 34 months ago for a Christmas celebration. we were shoved upstairs to a private room as the restaurant was full with a company party. The whole saga took 4 hours the food was average although had all the pretty presentations one sees on Masterchef.
Since this was the 9 course gourmet dinner it wasn't cheap so expected something a bit special.
disappointing to say the least

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Pod also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Vanilla Pod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanilla Pod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.