We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crowne Plaza
Feildhouse Lane, Marlow SL7 1GJ, England
+44 (0)870 444 8940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 59 Restaurants in Marlow
Price range: $61 - $61
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely food with a range of choices for everyone. I have also eaten in the bar area which is equally as nice. My husband and I have even chosen to eat here rather in the town as the food is so nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Marlow for afternoon tea. The sandwiches which included Salmon and cream cheese Beef and horseradish Egg and cress Ham and Mustard delicious, also included were some lovely pastries and a choice of teas. We started with a very nice glass of sparkling wine. All this was eaten in their conservatory overlooking the lake, unfortunately it was to cold to venture outside, but the view was lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echternach, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good, but could be even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant was very good. The steaks we had were excellent. Service was also good, attentive and friendly. But the restaurant could be even better. It has a great location overlooking a lake with a terrace for good weather. At the moment they don't use this advantage-they have net/sheer curtains at their huge windows. If they lowered their lighting, put some solar lights by the lake, candles on the tables, it would make the ambiance very romantic. That and easy parking. A winner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This should be a great business hotel, but fails.

The drive into the hotel is un promising via an industrial estate and what looks like a dead end road, when you reach what I think is a great looking building with a great layout. Check in staff were friendly. I was attending an all day meeting which had already been moved as the original room was so dirty and un tidy, the hotel could not get it ready fast enough, the coffee area looked a mess and in real need of a damn good clean. From 2 requests to staff, I received underwhelming response.

On a more positive note, the food I had was excellent - breakfast, buffet lunch and a group dinner for 20. Again, service was lack lustre and I needed to keep asking.

The bedroom was first rate, everything I needed, in great order, and in contrast to the meeting rooms, very clean.

In my experience, hotels that give a great customer experience always seem to have managers 'on the floor' and helping to create a flowing pre emptive experience, not here !

I needed to check out just before 7am. There was no one at reception and other guests were waiting, so I had to go behind reception to the office to inform staff that guests were waiting to check out, and i think that sums up the problem.

A real shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
1 review
“Wonderful event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and friends attended a birthdate party dinner for my husband including overnight stay. The event was organised perfectly, the pre dinner drinks, the table layout the whole experience was excellent. The staff were attentive, friendly and very very helpful. I was and am very impressed by the whole experience.
The room was modern, clean and very comfortable.
The hotel is reached by driving through a small residential street followed by a small industrial park so was a little tricky to find, more signage would be helpful but it was well worth finding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crowne Plaza also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.