We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb for a quick, hearty meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
1 Mill Road, Marlow, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 63 Restaurants in Marlow
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb for a quick, hearty meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The PoW is one of my favourite places to go for a quick meal in the hour I have for lunch; their set Thai lunch menu is great value at £8.95 for two courses and the food is both delicious and quick to come out of the kitchen. Don't expect fine dining, for a walk in, grab a table, grab a menu, order at the bar all within an hour, you'll be leaving with a satisfied stomach and appetite.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Just doesn't work for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I can't put my finger on it, but the PoW isn't my kind of place. The food's tasty, the service is good, and it's good value, but despite all that for some reason it doesn't have the right atmosphere. It's not cozy enough, maybe.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced, excellent beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Prince of Wales has a reasonably priced Thai restaurant attached to it. The food (from a reasonable but not excessive menu) was excellent. The 'sizzling' plates were particularly impressive, but the old favourites of red and green thai curries were equally good. The mixed starters were good without being exceptional. Add to that the excellent beer on tap (esp. from the Rebellion brewery) and friendly service, and a fine time was had all round. Highly recommend for a group meal (or takeaway).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Thai lunch deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have been to the Prince of Wales several times for lunch and they do a great 2-course deal which represents excellent value for tasty food. (they also have a selection of more traditional fare for those not so adventurous)
Not the widest selection on the menu, but everything I have had so far has been great.
Word of warning: when they say 'hot / spicy' they mean it - fine by me, I love the heat but it could catch out the unwary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A good clean place to lay your head.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here for one night as the works office is just round the corner. It has a large bar area with plenty of locals chatting away. A good beer garden over looking a roomy car park. The accommodation was clean, well presented and a great continental breakfast included in the tariff,WiFi is also free of charge here. It is a good place for the highlights of Marlow in throwing distance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Wales also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.