We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, lovely owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog and Badger - CLOSED

The Dog and Badger
Henley Road | Medmenham, Near Danesfield House, Marlow SL7 2HE, England
01491571362
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $56
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A picturesque English Country Pub. With its whitewashed walls, open fires and exposed beams this family run elegant yet traditional pub is a little gem offering real ales, good home cooked food and ...where a warm welcome awaits...between Marlow and Henley not far from the Thames. With its 600 year history, dog-friendly policy, and bi-monthly jazz sessions the Dog and Badger is a firm favourite with Bucks locals. A great spot to enjoy a Sunday roast washed down with a real ale and or wine. Free Wi-fi available.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great pub, lovely owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited the Dog and Badger a few weeks ago and had a lovely night. Food was great, drinks were good and the owners could not have been friendlier. So lovely were they that Nick the landlord drove us back to our hotel at the end of the night to save us having to get a taxi! Excellent service and cosy atmosphere. We will be back soon. We only hope that they decide to branch out into overnight accommodation too! fingers crossed....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a delicious Sunday lunch with friends at the Dog and Badger.

Nice friendly service, a landlord who valued our business all in a very old 13th Century pub.

Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place had a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the meal was superb. The owners were lovely and offered to drop us back at the Danesfield, where we were staying, free of charge. Well worth a visit to this delightful place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cosy with fireplace, Trivia Pursuit and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stop at the Dog and Badger on our way home from work. The fire was lit up do the whole place smelled of lovely fragrant wood burning.

They have Trivia Pursuit cards on each table which is just a brilliant idea - we certainly entertained ourselves with our (lack of) knowledge!.

We both had the ribeye steak which was juicy and tasty and came with a baked tomato, chunky chips, salad and onion rings. All very good and filling.

Great selection of wines and ales as well.

We'll stop by again soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Like others we've driven past the dog and badger many times but until now never ventured in. However we had a lovely lunch here and were made very welcome by the owner. My husband had the pie of the day - a huge dish of beef in a rich gravy with potato topping. My burger was cooked perfectly with a crispy bacon topping and our daughter had the chicken satay. All were delicious and piping hot. The owner also kindly asked if we needed anything heated for our 9 month old granddaughter. All in all we had a very relaxed and comfortable lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Badger also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog and Badger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.