We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hungerford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect Short Break away
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hungerford
East Sussex
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

As a regular customer of Warner hotels I am obviously very happy with what I get irrespective of the fact that they give excellent value.
I have to admit that I prefer Sinah warren and Bembridge Coast hotels simply because I prefer the refurbished restaurants and like the cooking stations where some fish or meat is cooked in front of you. However in general the food on offer at Littlecote was good and varied.
The Signature room that we were allocated was getting a bit tired. This was particularly evident in the bathroom where the heated towel rail was coming off the wall and the seal on the bottom of the glass shower door was also coming off. However having been upgraded from a standard Ambassador room for no extra and without asking, I have no cause to complain.
The staff at Littlecote were the real stars at this location. They were all outstanding even by Warner standards which are always extremely high. The entertainment team have to be singled out. They were without doubt the best that we have ever seen at any Warner venue. During our four night stay they put on superbly professional shows on three of the nights. On the last night they then added an Elvis tribute session. They even put on a farce one afternoon. If that wasn't enough they also enacted the story of Ann Boleyn & Henry VIII in the great hall. I am not easily impressed by the in-house entertainers as I consider that they are professionals and should therefore be really good at what they do. The "Littlecote Players" really did exceed all my expectations and really should be praised for their talent, hard work, genuine enthusiasm and outstanding performances. I strongly recommend that you ensure that you do not miss any of their performances. If you need an early night I suggest that you go to bed when the visiting acts are on as no matter who they are they are, they are unlikely to be as good as this team. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    166
    61
    25
    15
See reviews for
60
299
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had a good mid week break at littlecote house, staff very good and made you feel welcome, rooms are clean and the hotel is well maintained, leisure center is excellent with a good swimming pool jacuzzi steam room ect. there are Roman remains within the grounds and one of the best mosiac floors in the country.the old house has a well documented history and is within easy reach ot the M4 with Windsor Swindon and Salisbury nearby, if you can get a mid week deal and enjoy a rest in an adult only hotel this is the place for you..and I nearly forgot if you are a qualified mole catcher you could earn a fortune here I have never seen so many mole hills

Room Tip: lower ground rooms if you stay in the main accommodation building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a really enjoyable weekend break with friends ,the staff were very helpful and friendly ,the entertainment was excellent including the Neil Diamond tribute act .The food was very good as well as the service .We were a bit disappointed in our room ,not as good as some Signature rooms that we have had in the past ,the bathroom needed a bit of updating and the carpet looked in need of a clean ,it also seemed smaller probably because it was like a dormer room. .Parking was a bit limited but after driving around a few times we managed to get a space .
Would we go back yes we most certainly would .

Room Tip: If you like the haunted feel go for the Historic rooms and book early for the ghost walk it sells ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in the Jane Seymour room for my husbands birthday, the room was beautiful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast were good although bit of a struggle to get there before 10! Dinner in Oliver's was superb, the table was laid with balloons to celebrate my husbands birthday. dinner in the popham restaurant was a bit disappointing, frozen roast potatoes and hardly any veg. That was the only negative and we would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Booked the Queen Elizabeth I suite in the historic part of the hotel for my birthday at the end of January. After a 200 mile drive the check-in was so easy and Roger took our luggage through to the old house. The suite was stunning and we were thrilled it was next door to the Haunted Bedroom! Everything was spotlessly clean and the view from the room was fabulous - over the gardens. Having afternoon tea in the Great Hall with a roaring log fire was just what was needed on a cold day though we did venture out to look at the remains of the Roman Villa in the grounds - the mosaic was amazing and so well-preserved. The pool complex was excellent though I struggled openign the locker in the changing room because of arthritis in my hands. We ate both nights in Oliver's Bistro where the food was beautifully cooked and presented and our table was decorated for my birthday which was a lovely surprise. Breakfasts were in the Popham restaurant and absolutely fine. A bar in the old house would have been a bonus to save you having to go over to the main building where the entertainment - not brilliant in cold weather. However, the entertainment was very good. Would definitely recommend and would love to return here. All the historic rooms were interesting - chapel, haunted bedroom, army museum, etc. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were brilliant..

Room Tip: If you are fascinated by the paranormal, choose the Queen Elizabeth I suite next door to the Haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

In spite of the weather we had the view of the house when arriving at Littlecote is beautiful. What a place. Great welcome from receptionist, two room keys and our charge card sorted we unloaded the luggage and strolled to our standard room in the new part of the hotel. Very clean and well presented. I then went to drive the car from the drop off at reception to a car park. Quite a struggle to find somewhere to park beyond the new part of the hotel. It is best, we found, to park beyond the historic side of the hotel. OK that entailed a walk through the historic half of the hotel to our room beyond reception. Not a problem but you do not resolve the car park issue until you are familiar with the hotel layout. Some of the rooms have allocated parking. It may be an idea to check this out when booking. When you have checked in ensure you stroll across to the leisure centre to book early for the rifle shooting or archery. All spaces taken when we tried to book on our first morning before breakfast. (From your room you can call telephone number 352 which is straight to the leisure centre desk). We highly recommend the historic house tour. We did this on the 31st Jan. Really informative, lively and entertaining house guide. Kept our interest all the way through and for the older clients was most considerate for the steps and doors that were negotiated during the tour. Approx 90 minutes and excellent value. Good to explore the Roman ruins also. View the Roman ruins soon because the spectacular mosaic may be completely covered for preservation purposes. The breakfast was really good however the evening meals that we had in the Popham were a little disappointing on the vegetable side of things. We did not expect what appeared to be frozen peas and sweetcorn from a four star hotel. We found the restaurant staff attentive and very courteous. We were pleased with the price we paid but do not believe it would be worth the full price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Thank you so much for making my husbands 50th birthday so special. The Royale room was lovely and had everything we need and more. We couldn't fault the staff, from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. We were impressed with the food and the entertainment, my husband joined in with the archery and rifle shooting and we both used the pool. I went on the house tour with Pauline and was very impressed with her knowledge of the house and the stories of the ghosts and the curse. We did the wine tasting with Dan, what a way to spent two hours, tucked away in the library on a cold winters afternoon, tasting wonderful wine with someone who knew so much about it and still only 21, it must be the best £5.00 we have ever spent. Finally a big thank you to the staff at Olivers, we had such a special night on my husbands 50th, table decorated, lovely food and wine. We are booking for my friends 50th in December at Thorseby Hall, can't wait - well done Warners!

Room Tip: push the boat out and book a royale room, you won't be disappointed, we had 422 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel to your Saves list