We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little b&b right in the center of hungerford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clevedon House

Clevedon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungerford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clevedon House
95 High Street, Hungerford RG17 0NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hungerford B&B and Inns
1 review
“Cosy little b&b right in the center of hungerford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Cosy little b&b right in the center of hungerford. Comfortable rooms with their own street access and delicious cooked breakfast! A great base for attending a wedding nearby. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your response.Glad that you both enjoyed your stay and hope you got to Bristol safely.Look forward to seeing you again
Clevedon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have returned to Hungerford to fish in most years of the last twenty. The lovely little chalk streams...Kennet and Dun are natural gems. Two years ago I discovered an accommodation gem...Clevedon House! Friendliness, comfort, excellent breakfast, high street convenience...perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadviser.we look forward to seeing you again when you return for your fishing.Tight lines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Clevedon for one night during a three day cycle trip. We received a lovely warm welcome and there was a secure place for our bikes to be stored overnight. Nicki even provided us with a tarpolin cover for our bikes. Our room (room 3) was beautifully appointed and had a patio set to enable us to enjoy the garden. We very much appreciated the decanter of Sherry and lovely glasses that were in the room and breakfast was most enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent Bed & Breakfast stay in Hungerford, 6 friends and I were on a cycle trip along the kennet ans Avon canal and stopped 1 night at Clevedon House we received a warm welcome from the proprietor despite all being very wet with 5 bikes to park for the night. the rooms were very good and the breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: all the rooms were very good we had 3 rooms in the annex out the back overlooking the garden and 1 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have met such a jolly lot of cyclists!I hope you got there without getting too wet.
Regards
Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely stay! It's a fabulous building and decorated in a quality and tasteful way.

Room was fab, breakfast delicious and the owner was very helpful.

Don't bother looking anywhere else in Hungerford!

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.I am glad you enjoyed a night away from your twins!regards
Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked at short notice through Late Rooms and were very pleased with our stay. We were on a cycling tour so the parking didn't bother us. Room was tastefully well decorated and very clean. Very quiet in the room and the comfortable bed made for a good nights sleep. Good Indian restaurant across the road and breakfast was excellent. Cannot believe the previous posting was apparently about the same place we stayed as it is certainly not experience of everyone else who has reported and the items raised seem very trivial.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Clevedon.I am glad you enjoyed your stay.If you are ever in Hungerford again,please accept our hospitality
Regards
Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For a 4 star b&b we were disappointed. The room was very small along with the bathroom. The shower was 1 minute hot then cold, there was no shelving to put your toiletries on. The complimentary toiletries were minimal so make sure you take your own! The hairdryer lead was not long enough to stand in front of a mirror, no where to sit to put your make up on. Breakfast was warm not hot. You have to pay a daily car park charge that you are not told about, which is about £5 a day. We have stayed in many b&b's and have never been so disappointed. Considering the other reviews we thought this would be a nice place to stay. We would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bannndb, Owner at Clevedon House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
June,I was very disappointed to hear your comment on Tripadviser.You and your husband stayed for 2 nights and never complained once to me about anything.i would have liked you to approach me on the first day if there was anything wrong with your stay. This has been the first complaint that I have ever had and was completely taken back by it.the room you had is the smallest in the house but was the only one left as you booked through Laterooms.I always put in soaps ,shampoo.,conditioners,shower caps and body lotion as well as eye make up remover pads and cotton buds..The hair dryer is plugged under a mirror.Parking is High Street parking and has not been an issue before.Fineally,I am sorry to hear you would not return,but as you didn't pay before leaving ,it may be for the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clevedon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevedon House

Address: 95 High Street, Hungerford RG17 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevedon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clevedon House to your Saves list