We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel aux Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel aux Remparts to your Saves list
Hotel aux Remparts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de Montrevers 2 - Porte de Morat, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Fribourg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's one of those pleasant stays where you feel good to be served well with good rooms, very friendly staff and delicious breakfast. It's in a good location and the only flip side is that the hotel lacks a restaurant. So if you had a long day and want to get a quick bit in the evening, you can't do that without walking 10 mins to the nearest restaurant in the centrum.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsetpatrimoine, Directeur général at Hotel aux Remparts, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your positive comment on Internet.

I will forward your appreciation to our team, who gives its best to make your stay comfortable and easy going.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in hotel Aux Remparts.

Peter Bütler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

After reading the reviews, I was very excited to stay at this location. Hum, I guess I put my standard to high. It is more like an impersonal Marriott Chain hotel. The hotel is located 15mn walking distance from downtown. The check in was fine. Our first disappointment was the room with a view on.... a wall... I guess the hotel is build 1 meter from the bottom of a cliff... So we had a view on nothing. Then you cannot control the temperature in the room. It was hot during our all stay. We decided not to take the breakfast at the hotel since we found 18 Francs a bit overprice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel fills a real need for a local hotel where they have good and free wifi, a decent enough breakfast and modern facilities in a lovely ancient town. The view of the old fortifications is charming and service is quite nice. The windows OPEN (which is attractive for many) and yet the HVAC works well. I missed having a gym, but otherwise thought this a great addition that was sorely needed and also made walking to local restaurants easy. Terrific.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsetpatrimoine, Directeur général at Hotel aux Remparts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your positive comments on Internet.
We mostly appreciate it.

I will forward your comments to my team, who does its best to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.

While hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in hotel Aux Remparts, I remain,

Sincerely yours.

Peter Bütler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The outside of this building does not do justice to the inside. The room was absolutely lovely: spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the free wifi was very convenient. It is a bit far from the city center, but it's a quick bus ride or a doable walk. Overall, highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsetpatrimoine, Directeur général at Hotel aux Remparts, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for having taken the time to post your positive comments on Internet. We mostly appreciate it.

Your appreciation of your stay will be forwarded to our team, who gives its best to make your stay a comfortable and easy one.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in hotel Aux Remparts.

Kindest regards.

Peter Bütler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Quiet and reasonably comfortable hotel just outside the old town walls of Fribourg. Friendly receptionist and good service.

No air conditioning in rooms - though a fan was provided. I'm not a fan of air conditioning, but in hot weather, it would have made the room a little more comfortable.

A little bit away from the town centre, though not too far to walk to restaurants and bars - about 10 minutes walk.

Easy to find, but roadworks on the road from the motorway made it more difficult than it should be.

I would stop here again if I were returning to Fribourg.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the playing field and town walls are quiet and have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice hotel, little but nice and clean rooms. staff available.
The hotel is 15 mins away from the city center by walking, or few mins by bus (bus stop 50m away from the hotel) so it means that is not the best choice if you want to get out and be in the "heart" of the city but if you would like to have a walk it can be also a smart way to better explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location as we could walk everywhere and leave the car in the car park. Rooms are very clean and perhaps recently updated? Excellent staff who are incredibly helpful and genuinely friendly (Sabine was delightful along with another young woman with a pony tail :). We would DEFINITELY stay here again because of the staff, location and the cleanliness of the room!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street as have a view of the town/old wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel aux Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aux Remparts

Address: Chemin de Montrevers 2 - Porte de Morat, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aux Remparts 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ivy-covered facades of hotel Aux Remparts 4**** look in to Fribourg's historic "Porte de Morat". Upon entering the hotel, you are welcomed into an intimate "Art Deco" interior design carried through to the smallest detail. This cosy and elegant hotel is a chic and comfortable address for your next stay or seminar in Fribourg. 64 Rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms (20 to 80 persons) and a parking in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel aux Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel aux Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.