We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a three star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duran to your Saves list
Hotel Duran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Figueres
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a three star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good location and atmosphere, parking a bit expensive. Tried the restaurant based on previous good review. Food was good but nothing spectacular. We were surprised to see the appetiser on the bill as we didn't order, assuming it was free when placed on our table. When we asked about it, all we got was an unfriendly sneer. This was a big disappointment. Otherwise the hotel might get a better score.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear customer, sorry if the conversation with us of the lunch bill caused you bad impression.
We will not apply the appetizer price what was in the bill was the bread.
Thank you for expressing your opinion, the opinion of our customers is important to us and helps us to improve day by day. We appreciate your time and apologize again for the misunderstanding of the bill.

Best regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    171
    52
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
215
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. We came in from Madrid by train-don't get a taxi!! One of the most expensive taxi journeys we had on our three week visit to this area of Spain. There is a bus which will only cost around 2 euros which stops really near the hotel. (we used it for our return to the station).
The hotel is interesting with lots of Dali related artwork. The room was of a good size and staff were approachable and friendly. We decided to have dinner at a local Basque style restaurant rather than eating in the hotel restaurant although I understand that the hotel restaurant food is very good.
Breakfast was good although the nespresso machines aren't to everyone's taste.
Very convenient for the amazing Dali museum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, the satisfaction of our customers is a priority for us. Feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Figueres is a lovely town and had a nice feel to it - this place is in the thick of the inner town, but behind the nondescript outer wall is a very modern and comfortable hotel with great staff. I highly recommend it.

The Dali museum is only a couple of hundred metres away and the hotel is surrounded by cafe and restaurant options that are worth considering - but a visit to the hotel's restaurant is a must. I was in surreal heaven eating delicious paella negra at a table that Dali himself may well have sat at - considering there is a framed signed sketch by him just next to me. The rest of the meal was also excellent and worth the price.

The public areas and rooms are surprisingly new and modern and the room was good, i.e. without any flaws worth mentioning.

Service was fantastic, I managed to get the booking wrong and the lady on reception was extremely helpful and managed to sort out a solution for me.

I only wish I'd been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Old world charm, excellent service in both the hotel and the restaurant - the food was great and reasonably priced. The hotel is minutes from the main square but rooms are quiet. Reception and restaurant staff speak good English.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
In Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, thank you very much for your comments, We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had an amazing experience in this hotel. Is walking distance of the Dali museum, the toy museum as well as other attractions. It has an excellent restaurant with plenty friendly staff and fine cuisine. The room includes bufette breakfast. The decoration of the restaurant and the place itself is surronded by artistic vibe of Dali. Although the rooms were extremely clean I wish it had more artisty decoration as the rest of the hotel. But other than that I found it to be an excelent place to stay. I would definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved our stay at the hotel Duran. The location was great to the Dali museum and also to Castell de San Ferran if you don't mind a little bit of a walk. The room was clean, modern, and had excellent wifi. We also had a bonus of a terrace that was attached to our room and we were the only ones who could access it. The front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, the satisfaction of our customers is a priority for us. Feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Met up with friends in Figueres and stayed one night at Hotel Duran. Great pick! The room was fine albeit small, the restaurant was excellent, and everyone from the parking attendant to the waiters and front desk staff were very friendly. This is the place if you are planning to visit Figueres.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, the satisfaction of our customers is a priority for us. We send your feedback to our staff. Remain at your disposal for future stays.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duran

Address: Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duran 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duran Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Figueres. It is a family hotel with great tradition and reputation. The hotel presents a sharp contrast in its interior design. Its upper floors, superbly renovated, displaying a very high-end finishes higher than expected in his category. They are distributing the 65 rooms decorated with functional furniture design wooden heads inspired Dalí elegant, warm tones on the walls and a nice lighting. The ground floor shows a more rustic, with the presence of the original corner stone of 1855, the Celler de Ca la Teta, and crowded restaurant, a landmark for those who want to learn the cuisine of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duran Hotel Figueres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.