We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two People Ruined our Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duran to your Saves list
Hotel Duran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two People Ruined our Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel would have receicved a higher rating except for two people. The person in the tiny hotel garage directed my car into a cement post while "helping" me into a tightplace and didn't even apologize. Most important, however, was a female at the reception desk. In our weeks in Spain she was by far the worst hotel employee we encountered. From the moment my wife walked in the hotel to ask for directions to the garage until we checked out, it was absolutely clear she had no interest in assisting or being pleasant to hotel guests. Everyone else in the hotel and its restaurant was very pleasant. With Spin's high unemployment they certainly could find someone better. Otherwise the hotel was pleasant enough. The restaurant was fine and had some interesting Dali memorabilia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    180
    55
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
237
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a really comfortable stay at this hotel, and ate in the excellent restaurant. We found the the staff on the front desk to be really friendly and professional. Rooms are well-furnished and clean, and the bed was really comfortable. If you visit the Dali museum you might also notice some nice design touches in the rooms. In our room there were a couple of lights over the bed that looked like drawers (which you'll see popping out of people's heads in some of Dali's paintings) and our friends had a bed with a headboard design that reflected a motif in the large painting near the stairs in the jewellery exhibition. Overall, a really good value place to stay with an excellent restaurant just down the road from the Dali museum.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Everything is just right here! Check in very friendly. Nice, modern and very clean rooms.
Excellent restaurant visited by many locals. Breakfast great.
Toplocation: next to the Rambla Figueres, 5 minutes walk through historic village to Dali museum.
Private guarded garage, locked at night.
We definitely will return here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

one of the two best hotel in our trip.great location 200 meter from dali place.big and clean room with a balcony 203 wifi in the room.great breakfast and we sorry that we did not take also the dinner for 20euro -great restaurant.

Room Tip: take room in the 4 floor for less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stated here only for one night. Our room was very welcoming and clean, not too big, but was just right. The person who was at the check in desk was nice, but not too helpful. However, the lady who was there the next day was definitely more friendly.. so this might be just that one person. Just FYI they dont have anyone to help with the luggage, so we had a trying time shuttling luggage and baby to room. It took my husband three trips which would have been easier if there was someone with a luggage cart.

We did not get to eat at their restaurant because I had heard so many good stories about it..

The museum of Dali is walking distance from the hotel and they give you very good directions and a map of the area. It really helped us. The lady at the front desk also told us how to find the free parking lot which is just straight from the hotel at the first stop light. The hotel is also close to the square. There was some kind of a festival happening there the night we were in town. It was fun to sample the wine and food in the various stalls. The hotel is also close to the highway to get out of town, we did have a GPS, but it was quite a short distance to the highway.

I would definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Please - look no further for a brief stay in Figueras. Tidy, clean rooms that rate better than 3* - but the main attraction is the rather brilliant, one-off restaurant, that we've been visiting over a number of years, never fails to impress, and is a little treasure that is 100% recommended..and if you're a Salvador Dali fan, there are lots of personal items here to savour. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for only one night to visit the Dali museum the following day. It's only a couple of blocks from the museum. The receptionist gave us the great advise to make sure to be at the museum well before opening time (09:15AM). This way we avoided large queues and moreover, we could properly enjoy the artwork without lots of people standing in front of it. The room was spacious and tidy; the bathroom was a feast compared to lots of bathrooms that we've had. One small downside: wifi is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duran

Address: Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duran 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duran Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Figueres. It is a family hotel with great tradition and reputation. The hotel presents a sharp contrast in its interior design. Its upper floors, superbly renovated, displaying a very high-end finishes higher than expected in his category. They are distributing the 65 rooms decorated with functional furniture design wooden heads inspired Dalí elegant, warm tones on the walls and a nice lighting. The ground floor shows a more rustic, with the presence of the original corner stone of 1855, the Celler de Ca la Teta, and crowded restaurant, a landmark for those who want to learn the cuisine of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duran Hotel Figueres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.