We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duran to your Saves list
Hotel Duran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Figueres
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

one of the two best hotel in our trip.great location 200 meter from dali place.big and clean room with a balcony 203 wifi in the room.great breakfast and we sorry that we did not take also the dinner for 20euro -great restaurant.

Room Tip: take room in the 4 floor for less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    171
    52
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
215
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stated here only for one night. Our room was very welcoming and clean, not too big, but was just right. The person who was at the check in desk was nice, but not too helpful. However, the lady who was there the next day was definitely more friendly.. so this might be just that one person. Just FYI they dont have anyone to help with the luggage, so we had a trying time shuttling luggage and baby to room. It took my husband three trips which would have been easier if there was someone with a luggage cart.

We did not get to eat at their restaurant because I had heard so many good stories about it..

The museum of Dali is walking distance from the hotel and they give you very good directions and a map of the area. It really helped us. The lady at the front desk also told us how to find the free parking lot which is just straight from the hotel at the first stop light. The hotel is also close to the square. There was some kind of a festival happening there the night we were in town. It was fun to sample the wine and food in the various stalls. The hotel is also close to the highway to get out of town, we did have a GPS, but it was quite a short distance to the highway.

I would definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Please - look no further for a brief stay in Figueras. Tidy, clean rooms that rate better than 3* - but the main attraction is the rather brilliant, one-off restaurant, that we've been visiting over a number of years, never fails to impress, and is a little treasure that is 100% recommended..and if you're a Salvador Dali fan, there are lots of personal items here to savour. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for only one night to visit the Dali museum the following day. It's only a couple of blocks from the museum. The receptionist gave us the great advise to make sure to be at the museum well before opening time (09:15AM). This way we avoided large queues and moreover, we could properly enjoy the artwork without lots of people standing in front of it. The room was spacious and tidy; the bathroom was a feast compared to lots of bathrooms that we've had. One small downside: wifi is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in room 222 for two nights in mid-August 2012 and had a great time.

The room was well appointed with its own very attractive terrace with two chairs and a table. Note that it (the terrace) wasn't particularly private as it was surrounded and over looked by other rooms, not that it mattered to us. The room was spacious, well appointed with a large double bed and a very good shower in the ensuite bathroom.

We ate there both nights, the first selecting the "Taster Menu" for 49 Euros per person which was excellent. The head waiter gave us a really good local wine recommendation (Espelt Quinze Roures) which was a brilliant wine. The restaurant staff were very friendly and at times joked with us, despite the language limitations.

One slight negative was on the second night at about 7.30pm we went to the bar to buy two Gin and Tonics to be told by an unhelpful female receptionist that she couldn't serve us until 8.30pm! This hadn't been a problem on the previous night when we were served the same order at around the same time without issue!

Overall, it was a relaxing stay in a very clean hotel with loads of character and at a reasonable price. The walls of the hotel are festooned with Dali paintings and sketches; well worth seeing on their own. The location is excellent, very close to the square in the centre of town and the Dali Museums.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a terrace, that way you won't get a smoker next to your open bathroom window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel itself is pretty good, clean rooms etc although the staff on the front desk are a bit unfriendly. During the evenng we swerved the restaurant down the road which was No 1 on tripadvisor and instead hoped for the best at the hotel restaurant. It turned out to be great - I had a huge spinach salad which was eactly what was needed - dont worry they do a huge selection I jsut can't remeber what. The reason for making this review is that I wanted to mention one of the restaurant staff he was an older member of the team and not the maitre d and he absolutely saved this place. He was really fun and his service was absolutely great. We ate late like normal and at the end of the meal he told us to chill a while and take out time as nobody needed to clear away until morning. Definately recommend this place but not if you want a lie in as everyone is up early to get to the Dal museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked into Duran, as it was recommended as one of the best hotels in Figueres on both Tripadvisor and Booking.com. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes from the Salvador Dali museum, and in the centre of town. The room is clean and comfortable, apart from one fundamental problem. Our window, together with many others, open on to a small central courtyard/atrium. This atrium is open to provide sunlight and fresh air. Unfortunately, the hotel saw fit to provide a table and chairs, and as we're in Spain, people naturally choose to sit in the sunshine smoking. This means two things. First, someone smoking directly outside our bedroom window, so close, that if I smoked, I could share their cigarette. Second, we have to leave the curtains closed while in the room, for obvious reasons of decency. The hotel's response? All our rooms are non smoking! I beg to differ.

More minor irritations. No iron/ironing board available in the room. If you want the hotel to press anything, expect to wait well over 24 hours.

The hotel staff don't speak English, with one exception, a nice lady who hasn't been here since the first afternoon. I know we're in Spain, but my Spanish (or French as we're near the border) is sadly quite basic, and I struggle with properly expressing the above irritations.

Finally, building work has started quite early each morning. If you're a late sleeper that doesn't mind the smell of smoke, the hammering might get you out of bed.

All in all, sadly a let down. Still, it absolutely didn't spoil our visit to the Dali museum.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duran

Address: Lasauca, 5, 17600 Figueres, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duran 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duran Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Figueres. It is a family hotel with great tradition and reputation. The hotel presents a sharp contrast in its interior design. Its upper floors, superbly renovated, displaying a very high-end finishes higher than expected in his category. They are distributing the 65 rooms decorated with functional furniture design wooden heads inspired Dalí elegant, warm tones on the walls and a nice lighting. The ground floor shows a more rustic, with the presence of the original corner stone of 1855, the Celler de Ca la Teta, and crowded restaurant, a landmark for those who want to learn the cuisine of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duran Hotel Figueres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.