We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Nicandro Gonzalez Borges, 19, La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in October 2012. The building has an amazing atmosphere and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was very good. We particularly enjoyed all the rooms and spaces to sit when the weather was bad. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family, and are hoping to visit again soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like old houses and want to feel like a lord - book this very exquisite and unique place! Other travelers have already said how great this hotel is. We were there for 5 nights and can only say: They are right in every aspect. We would recommend it to our best friends and hope to come back one day...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Alhambra, in La Orotava, in early March, 2013. This hotel was originally a private residence that was converted into a beautiful small hotel, with large rooms, enormous bathrooms, and charming public spaces on the ground and first floors, all beautifully furnished and immaculate. The breakfasts were copious, with a good selection of breads, cheeses, and eggs on demand, prepared and served by the owner, a charming, knowledgeable host, who has decorated his hotel with an extensive art collection. (The hotel is listed as a gallery featuring the art of Antonio Otazzo, a well-known Spanish artist.) In addition, the hotel is within easy walking distance of all the special sights of La Orotava. The views from the hotel are wonderful - the rooftops of the city, the snow-capped El Tiede, the ocean and beaches. This is indeed a memorable place to stay when visiting La Orotava.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Alhambra hotel is one of the loveliest and most unusual we have ever stayed in; it is perfectly named as the interior of the old palace resembles the Alhambra in Grenada and is full of interesting works of art-a totally different world from the vast package tour hotels and apartments of the South and nearby Puerto de la Cruz.
Jessica was a wonderful hostess,extremely helpful and did everything to make our stay perfect.
Our room was spacious, airy;we could look one way to the sea and in the other direction a beautiful view of El Teide in the early morning sunshine- and the bathroom was amazing!! I would like to redesign ours at home in a similar style.
The breakfasts were excellent and it was great to sit around a big table and chat to other guests from many different countries which made the holiday so much more interesting.
There is a lovely little pool in the garden,though the water was a bit too cool to take the plunge whist we were there.
La Orotava is an interesting working town and is a good base for visiting the mountains and El Teide national park but needs to do more to inform tourists of its many attractions.
There was one wonderful restaurant, Hotel Victoria, with superb food, but a dearth of other decent places in the town centre to eat in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After spending 4 days in Costa Adeje on our first visit to Tenerife, we arrived at the beautiful Hotel Alhambra to make a contrast with the all inclusive hotel we had previously stayed in. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen well. We arrived in La Orotava on the afternoon of the main procession of the Carnival. All the one way streets had been closed to traffic and there was no way to get to the hotel. We asked for help from police who were parked near to one of the closed off streets and were escorted to our hotel arriving the wrong way round in the street requiring a tricky manoeuvre to turn round and park. This exciting start continued into the hotel that was everything previous Tripadvisor reviewers have said. The huge room called Tenerife was amazing,with two windows overlooking the mountains and the sea as well as the whole of the Valle de Orotava. The bathroom was very large with a great variety of lights and shiny blue and white tiles, the sitting and eating areas of the hotel were furnished in traditional style with different aspects from every corner, classical music playing unobtrusively and tremendous works of art on the wall. The breakfast room was great but even better to sit in the English conservatory for your breakfast and have intimate views of Mounte Teide and the old houses and churches stretching up the hillside. The welcome we were given was warm and inviting and made our stay more personal. We highly recommend this hotel and we fell in love with Orotava more each day. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished to a high standard but La Palma, Tenerife and Fuerteventura all look towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in Alhambra during a last minute weekend in Nov.

The hotel is an elegant country house with amazing artwork wherever you turn.
We stayed in the La Palma room which was spacious with a view of the ocean and mountains.
The mosaic bathroom is huge with both bath and shower!
The lovely sound of church bells was the alarm call every morning.
Breakfast is in the shared dining room and is simple but sufficient.
La Orotava is a pretty little village in the north part of the island. It is definitely the 'other side' of tenerife and there wasn't a package holiday hotel in sight.
It is well worth a visit for a sneaky romantic weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Booked for a week, having read others' reviews. The Alhambra lives up to all the previous comments and is a charming place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful, with some delightful extras. Our bathroom was fully tiled in mosaics and had underfloor heating ( not all bathrooms had this) and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The town is much more authentic than anywhere else we have seen in Tenerife but someone could do a fantastic job in upping the standard of restaurants. Only one worth eating in: the Victoria. It felt as though La Orotava had heaps of potential but didn't quite know what to do with it.

Room Tip: La Palma seems to have best view and is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Calle Nicandro Gonzalez Borges, 19, La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alhambra is located in the centre of the North of Tenerife, being in a strategic area in order to visit the whole island. The Eclectic style-like current appearance of the building of Hotel Alhambra is due to two consecutive refurbishments, projected by Mariano Estanga, for the Ascanio family, which were accomplished in 1925. He chose elements of classicist origin, as the curve pediments or the balcony balaustrades. He proposed the recreation of a "nazari" (Muslim) courtyard in the inside, by means of horseshoe arches, tiling zocles and ornamentation made with plaster. Hotel Alhambra has 5 bed-rooms: 3 double bed-rooms and 2 double superior bed-rooms, all of them with large beds. Every room has an exclusive bathroom, television set, telephone, safe and mini-bar. The atmosphere of the hotel is very comfortable and inviting, offering a personalised service, providing an alternative to the clients who run away from hustle and bustle. There are different types of communal rooms: living rooms, reading rooms and exhibition rooms with paintings and frescos of the Maestro Antonio Otazzo, among others. It also has a reserved area for parking outside. In the surrounding of Hotel Alhambra you will find an excellent gastronomic selection of restaurants, where you can taste the pleasure of the typical Canary cuisine and many of its local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel La Orotava
Hotel Alhambra Tenerife/La Orotava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.