We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Rural Victoria!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rural Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rural Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Rural Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Hermano Apolinar 8, 38300 La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the Rural Victoria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

A group of friends and I met at the Hotel Rural Victoria last month for two nights prior to a Sea Dream crossing from Tenerife to Miami. I had chosen the hotel as I didn't want to return to the Sheraton in Santa Cruz... from the reviews it sounded like a great alternative although I did note quibbles about bedding, etc. When I emailed the hotel I inquired about this and was told by Erica that they were aware
of the reviews and had made substantial changes in the soft furnishings.

I found the hotel to be charming and Enrique and Erica very friendly and helpful. My room was on the third floor, up the little winding staircase to the terrace which had glorious views in all directions. There are two rooms off the terrace, both facing the street but I was never bothered by traffic noises. The room was smallish, very clean with nice furnishings, two windows--one looking out at the mountains and the other overlooking the terrace and the sea. The sheets, blankets, pillows and towels were fine... pillows and duvet in the style of country inns throughout Spain, not plush but certainly satisfactory.

There were 6 of us in all and we each arrived at a different time and on a different internal clock but the small staff took this in stride and made sure we were comfortable and well fed. The food was very good... I had a steak which beat any I had on the crossing and the others were also very pleased with their orders. Rabbit was a big hit with all! The only problem--and it was a small one--was service at dinner... one waiter was just not enough to keep the dinner service
moving along as it should have.

I was able to see one of the larger rooms on the second floor and it was lovely... it looked out over tile roofs to the sea and had a very spacious private terrace. One of our group (the last to arrive) had a small room facing a wall and the ventilation was poor so I would suggest when making a reservation avoiding this room (and any others with the same configuration).

There is a high speed computer set up just off the lobby for guests use at no charge and I believe they have wi-fi also as one of the group used his laptop in his room.

Our group makes this crossing every autumn and we all agreed that this would be our hotel of choice next time we sail from Tenerife. It’s only about 15 minutes from the airport, but La Orotava could be a million miles away from the touristy areas of the island and the hotel is a delight. And the prices were surprising reasonable... very good value indeed!!

  • Liked — Lovely old house (dates to 1500) and great hosts
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    33
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed at the Rural Victoria for 3 nights in March 07 (we had intended to stay for 7 nights but booked out after 3) and found the hotel to be pleasant, but with room for improvement in certain areas.

I had booked the trip as a surprise for my husband's birthday, and had emailed the hotel prior to going requesting a high floor room with nice views. Enrique emailed back and told us we would have a room with the terrace with champagne and fruits. On arrival, we were shown to room 204, which was very small, dark and dinghy looking. Fortunately, we had been shown to the wrong room, and were then directed to 302, which is one of two roof terrace rooms. This was still quite small, but had great views. The "sparkling wine" and fruits had also been left, which was a nice touch.

We found the bed linen to be shabby, with threadbare pillowcases. The pillows themselves we likend to empty crisp packets, they were so flat. These also looked about 20 years old, and were heavily stained! The first night, my husband tried to pluff his pillow up and recieved a sharp prick in his hand. On further inspection he withdrew a 2 1/2 inch darning needle from inside the pillow!! Not good if that had gone in his eye. The rooms are fitted with safe deposit boxes, but at an extra charge of 2 Euro per day for the privilege.

Be warned, as La Orotavia is a traditional working town, parking for the hotel is extremely difficult. There is no hotel car park and you are restricted to either street parking (if you're lucky), or parking
in the supermarket car park a few hundred metres away. This will of course cost you. We also had difficulty in locating nice restaurants within the town, having walked round most of it and surrounding area during the day. We did eat in the hotel on the first night and found the food to be cold and bland. There was only one member of staff covering the resturant, bar, reception and phones. At one point we even saw her cooking in the kitchen! Thus, service was not good. Albelit all staff were very friendly.

The breakfasts weren't any better. Very basic with just a small selection of cold meats and cheese, rolls and thick peach juice (?) on tap. We did ask for orange juice, which was supplied when requested.

Finally, please note that if you are travelling out of Tenerife Airport they now have the same liquid restrictions as the UK airports, i.e. you can only buy any liquids over 100 ml once airside.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Hotel Rural Victoria is an excellent hotel, consisting of only 14 rooms. It is situated on Calle Hermano Apolinar, very close to the botantical gardens & the town hall. Please note though this is different from the Hotel Rural Orotava, which is connected with Sabor Canario restaurant.
On the ground floor is a good restaurant and open area with seating.
On the first floor, there are 2 rooms (101 & 102) facing onto the street (Hermano Apolinar). Room 103 does not face onto the street, but faces onto the side of the building, as does room 104. Rooms 105 & 106 face onto the back of the building, which is the quietest.
On the second floor, there is a suite (room 201) which consists of a lounge, bedroom & bathroom (with a small bath). This has a lovely old wooden balcony which is delightful but does face onto the street which is busy & noisy unfortunately with passing cars & motorbikes. Rooms 101 & 102 on the first floor will also suffer from this problem.
Rooms 202, 203 & 204 face onto the side of the building, and rooms 205 & 206 face onto the back. However, room 206 is near a door which may bang closed.
The ground, first & second floors are connected by a lift. From the second floor, there is a staircase up to a sun terrace, off which where there are 2 more rooms. Note there is no way up to the sun terrace and these 2 rooms apart from the staircase. The terrace has great views over La Orotava and Mount Teide, and is great for sitting out and relaxing. There are loungers up here too.

The breakfast is very good here. There is also a “sala de vino” at the front of the hotel, ie a small room for drinks.
The hotel is managed by Enrique & his wife Erica. They do this really, really well and are very accommodating in all respects. They were so helpful to us when we had a small child, and thought nothing of preparing him small meals or warming food up. Overall, this is a great little hotel which I highly recommend. The only drawback is the rooms (which unfortunately includes the suite) that face onto the road which is noisy. Enrique & Erica truly make this a very friendly place without being over-bearing. Finally, there is also Wi-Fi internet access, as well as a fixed computer, with free internet access, which is great too.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Rural Victoria in Orotava for 6 nights. In general the hotel was very nice. It was quiet, with lovely decoration in the communal areas - particularly the lovely patio de luz. We ate in the restaurant (only 1 night, though) and the food was very nice. Location of the hotel is exceptional - you probably couldn't ask for better in the town, and we had no problems parking right outside the hotel every day. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The only real area where the hotel fell down was on the quality of the rooms themselves. We saw some of them as we moved rooms to find a double bed rather than twins. All the rooms we saw were average, with some character, but with tired beds, thin pillows, quite old furnishings and in our case a bit of a mangey carpet. Our room wasn't terrible, but we found it wasn't somewhere we would retreat to for relaxation - just for sleep. This was a let down given the high class communal areas in the hotel, the building itself and the images from the web. However, it is possible we missed some of the better rooms.

Despite the let-down on the room, other aspects of the hotel were lovely and still mark this as above average. From what we saw, it would also be the best choice in Orotava - which is a lovely little town, and recommended as a base for exploring Tenerife.

  • Liked — Building, location, staff
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Kiu restaurant in Casa Lercaro very nearby - wonderful building and food.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

Peaceful, relatively authentic and quiet hotel in a small town.
As I saw the hotel's internet site - I knew this will be a perfect thing for our first anniversary. Located in the old part of Oratava, far from the major tourist attractions, this is a 16th century totally restored building, with magnificent (recently covered) patio surrounded by the guest rooms.

All the 32 rooms are differently decorated. Ours was traditional room with old wooden furniture and walls painted in white. Not fancy like imagined, but clean, large, with a charming view of old houses' roofs, church towers and the sea. The room had no a/c so we needed to sleep with a window opened and were awoken by birds singing. Everything was functioning and in a good state. Among the facilities of the hotel - the restaurant (in which we had a charming dinner), wine room and bar. During our stay the hotel was almost empty due to the weak season and we actually liked this tranquility. The breakfasts were excellent and included in the price (we payed 55 E / night).

The personnel were kind and helpful. We stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rural Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Victoria

Address: Calle Hermano Apolinar 8, 38300 La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Rural Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Victoria Hotel
Hotel Rural Victoria Tenerife/La Orotava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rural Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.