We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WANT TO GO BACK SOON” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles

Save Saved
You added Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Adeje 300 | Playa Paraiso, 38678 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Adeje
A TripAdvisor Member
“WANT TO GO BACK SOON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a great holiday This hotel ticks all the boxes we went with friends.
We could not fault a thing-we were Half Board.The food was varied and plentifull catering for all tastes as well as children whom they made very welcome.
We are definitely going back.
The pool area was very atrractive and no shortage of loungers towels and bed covers were supplied- area was spotlessly clean.We truly give the ROCA NIVARIA THE THUMBS UP..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel and Adrian Hoteles for your vacation with your friends.

Flattered by your comments towards us, to the food, the children friendliness and the spotless pool area.
We thank you very much once again for being perceived our organization. And that you will definitely come back !

Your recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return to our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel and to have the privilege of being of service to you again soon.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    249
    71
    26
    14
See reviews for
412
465
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There were a lot of good things about this hotel. The recpetion staff were excellent, as were the staff at the kids club, our room was spacious and nicely furnished and some of the facilities were really good. Several things really let it down though.

1. The food. It was like eating school dinners. The quality of ingredients was so poor that nothing tasted of anything (we even ended up buying our own jam and bringing it to breakfast because the jam was so cheap) and perhaps uninspired by the cheap ingredients the chefs appeared to have given up as well. It was really disappointing.

2. The towel fiasco. Token system for towels at the pool was degrading. Worse still the hut was often not manned so you have to queue for 5 minutes to wait for someone to come and give / take your towels.

3. They didn't ever enforce their sun lounger policy. I complained a couple of times and they humoured me by saying they would send someone down immediately but didn't bother.

4. The location. Lovely voiews of the sea but nowhere even remotely decent to eat or drink nearby and very limited sea side walk ways.

5. Pools were freeeeeezing!

6. Aerobic equipment room sucks. Small windowless cavern with dirty dated equipment. And the reception staff at the gym are a miserable bunch who also make you feel like a criminal if you want to borrow a sweat towel!

All in all a very disappointing stay despite the best inentions of most of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Kave,

Firstable we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your comments on the tripadvisor ´s website.

We really feel sorry to read we didn´t reach your expectations. We do of course respect your opinion which is for us a constructive criticism. We can confirm that our hotel has an increasing number of repeater guests, which means their complete satisfaction with the hotel as a 5 star and its 5 star services, as well as the perfect relationship of price-quality, but we are also aware that we cannot please everybody. We always try to improve our service level to meet all clients´ expectations and we take guests comments and criticism very seriously.

We have already forwarded the provided information to the affected department managers for internal processing. We apologize for not having responded at your expectations.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Roca Nivaria with my husband staying on half board. We also booked the hotel due to the positive reviews that it had on TA,

I can say that the Navaria didn't disappoint, we had a lovely stay and being the off season it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves!

Hotel

Spotlessly clean, we couldn’t fault them at all on this. Everywhere around the hotel was immaculate and rooms were cleaned daily to a very good standard
It is a very large hotel which does take some time to learn your way around, however they provide you a map and frankly the walk around to explore it all was quite fun.

The swimming pools were also very clean, the saltwater pool is solar heated and sit alongside the children’s pool. On the lower level there is also a freshwater pool that is colder, but also less busy.

Previous reviewer mentions keeping the pool towels all week, we never did. We simply returned them and got new each day, they even swap them during the day if they are too wet etc,

Its location is a little more remote then some hotels, however they provide shuttle buses to towns. We never used these as our plan was to relax and enjoy the resort.

Staff

Most of the staff speak several languages and were helpful and friendly but were not overly interfering. The bar and resturant staff are busy but always happy to help

Food

As other reviews state breakfast and dinner are set out in a large buffet style dining room. I would imagine It’s large mainly because of the amount of diners they would have to seat should the hotel be full. I found the food to be lovely and my husband very much like the open grills. Large amounts of choice and food was very fresh, particularly the fruit and veg.

Room

We had booked a sea view room as we wanted to chill out and relax, upon arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a junior suite! These rooms were large with balcony’s overlooking the sea, sun loungers as well as a small table and chairs were also provided.
Bathroom again was well stocked with toiletries and plenty of space, robes and slippers were also provided which was a nice touch.

Entertainment
We found this to be a little hit and miss, each night there are usually 2 acts. 1 a sort of lounge singer and the second more of an entertainment act such as dancers, gymnastics acts etc. However the singers were average and whilst singing in different languages for the guests, seem unsure of the words sometimes

Spa
Upon check in we were given a free 1 hour spa voucher for use during our stay. We both found the spa to be almost empty and we had free range of the different showers, whirlpools several saunas and flotation tank. On the whole we found this to be good fun and very relaxing, however some of the fixtures and fittings in the saunas need replacing as they seemed quite worn out.

For just a week, we both returned from our stay incredibly relaxed, well fed and will definitely be going back to Roca Naviaria again

Room Tip: Junior suite room 120 has good views of the sea and island without being in the direct midday sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel for your vacation and we very much appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you also for your nice words about our cleanliness, staff, food, room, entertainment and spa.
We are glad that the service level that you came upon measured up to your expectations. As we are at any time trying to meet all clients expectations and as we are taking guests comments (either positive and/or negative) and criticism very seriously, we always forward the provided information to the related departments for internal processing as a way of continuous improvement.

Your recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return to our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel and to have the privilege of being of service to you again soon at ADRIAN HOTELES. Please don´t hesitate to contact us regarding your next visit.

Kindest regsards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came here solely because of the children's club which cares for children from 10 months onwards and it seems to be the only hotel on the island offering this service. I think had we come here looking for the type of 5 star luxury we had previously experienced up the road at the Abama (which no longer has a baby club) we would have been very disappointed. However, Roca Nivaria, while not cheap, is not in the same price bracket as the top-flight 5 star hotels so it is a bit unfair to expect the product to be the same. There is no concierge, no poolside service and you keep your pool towels for the week (they can be replaced, but you have to carry them back to your room every evening), so my suggestion to people considering this hotel is to have realistic expectations.
Our family suite was well designed for the needs of a family, with a large terrace, bathroom, walk in wardrobe and separate children's bedroom (sitting area). Not so good was the bed quality for Mum and Dad. Two single beds (made up individually with single sheets) which had a tendency to move apart during the night, along with mattresses and pillows which weren't particularly comfortable.
Food was a mixed bag. The buffet for breakfast was reasonably good with all the usual bits and pieces, but the lunch and dinner buffets were not so great. The BBQ/Grill options were nice, but the pre-prepared dishes and salads felt a bit dated. I know that some people like to have a vast array of choices but personally I'd have preferred a more limited choice of better thought out dishes with more change from day to day. The two a la carte restaurants had three choices per course, so while the food was pleasant, they didn't lend themselves to repeat visits.
Getting information in advance of arriving was chaotic. The information on the website saying that the baby club is open from 10am-6pm is incorrect. In fact the baby club is available for a maximum of 3 hours per day and only from 10am-1pm and 3pm-5.45pm. The staff there were excellent, and very generously offered us some extra time because they were not fully booked, but I spoke to a number of different people about baby-care before we arrived and not one of them was able to give me correct information which is pretty poor. Outside of the baby-club hours babysitting is available at €20 per hour (2 children) which adds up quickly. I also phoned to book a transfer with baby seats and was told that it "wasn't possible". I asked was there a number for a taxi firm where I could book a car with child seats and was told "no". Eventually after much to-ing and fro-ing the receptionist said they would send someone from the hotel to collect me from the airport as a special exception. It was very kind, but I am still surprised that a "family" hotel was not equipped to answer such a basic question and that the people in the reservations centre don't have more accurate information about how the childcare works.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff who are generally friendly, helpful and particularly accommodating to children. Not everything is done as well as it could be but it ticks a lot of boxes for people travelling with young children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Family,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel for your mily vacation and we appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor.

As we are at any time trying to meet all clients expectations and as we are taking guests comments (either positive and/or negative) and criticism very seriously, we always forward the provided information to the related departments for internal processing as a way of continuous improvement.

Your recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return to our Roca Nivaria GH and to have the privilege of being of service to you again soon at ADRIAN HOTELES. Please don´t hesitate to contact us regarding your next visit.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have just come back from a week at the Roca Nivaria with my wife and young daughter (18 months) on a half-board basis. We booked the hotel based on its "5 star" status and all of the amazing reviews on TA. However we were extremely disappointed by what we experienced.

How this hotel has 5 stars is truly unbelievable... at best it is an excellent 3 star or mediocre 4 star hotel. If you compare this hotel to 5 star hotels in Mexico, the Caribbean, Dubai etc. The Roca Nivaria falls short in so many areas. Also, it is always worthwhile considering why a "5 star hotel" would be situated in such a grotty, run down area...

The food is terrible, both in quality and selection. Breakfast was ok, dinner was a disaster! The quality of the food is very low and preparation and cooking were very poor. Prawn salads with only ONE prawn or Italian salads with some lettuce, a single tomato and a single piece of Parmesan cheese with two notable examples. Overcooked vegetables, poor quality meats. The list goes on and on. The children's food was just as poor quality.

We looked at the menu for the two “a la carte” restaurants and quickly worked out that it was the same food from the main restaurant and decided not to go.

Lunch is also very poor, with the buffet (same as the main buffet) or menu from the pool bar. Beware of the “ham and cheese roll”, it is not want you think… it is two pieces of processed ham and two pieces of processed cheese, rolled up! Not a bread roll in sight…

Because the hotel is located in such an awful area, you have no choice but to eat at the hotel especially if you have kids.

The service in the hotel is not 5 star, the staff were generally happy and helpful. But there was not enough staff, no pool side service, the pool towel service was a joke, my wife (6 months pregnant) asked for extra pillows which arrived 5 days later... we were told by reception that someone would come to sort out the internet in our room, they never came... we are also informed on our first night that the hotel does not stock any ironing facilities due to the fire risk and we had to use the laundry services (which takes two days) and would of cost us approx 100e to get our clothes pressed... after several arguments with the reception staff, we rented an iron and board from a local company which they arranged..! So what about the fire risk then??? I asked a couple of times to speak to the manager, he was not available...

I have also never been asked when checking in to any hotel, how often we would like our bed clothes and towels changed!!! Every day please…??? Apparently that is not an option. We were asked to fill out a form and selected every-other day (the most frequent allowed). On our first day our daughter left an orange pen mark on one of the sheets, four days later it was still there!

On checking out, I was asked by the receptionist if we had enjoyed our stay. When I said no, not really the hotel was not very good. She just said "oh well, sorry to hear that" and buried her head in her computer. This is the reason why this hotel is so bad, they do not want to listen to criticism or complaints!

The pool areas are tatty and in need of repair, and the towels are threadbare and only available when the towel attendant feels like working...

When an unfortunate poo incident closed the children’s swimming pool, it took over an hour for someone to deal with the problem and it was left to the parents to advise others of the problem.

There are "some" good points, the Spa is very good and the kids club is a real asset.

In summary this is a very cheaply run 5 star hotel, where it seems the owners/management have decided to cut costs in all of the wrong areas. They are also trying to profiteer in others, especially the laundry service.

My advice would be if you have stayed in 5 star hotels in the USA, Mexico, the Caribbean, Dubai or similar such places. DO NOT expect the same level at the Roca Nivira as you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstable we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your comments on the tripadvisor ´s website.

We really feel sorry to read we didn´t reach your expectations. We do of course respect your opinion which is for us a constructive criticism.

We can confirm that our hotel has an increasing number of repeater guests, which means their complete satisfaction with the hotel as a 5 star and its 5 star services, as well as the perfect relationship of price-quality, but we are also aware that we cannot please everybody.

We always try to improve our service level to meet all clients´ expectations and we take guests comments and criticism very seriously. We have already forwarded the provided information to the affected department managers for internal processing.

We apologize for not having responded at your expectations,

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ignore the last traveller's review. Some people just can't help complaining. We've just returned from 7 days in the hotel and it exceeded our expectations by miles. So full of respect for its style, cleanliness, food, facilities and organisation and, above all, the unfailing courtesy and good humour of the staff. To be able to draw the curtain in the morning and see the sea so close is wonderful and the "infinity" swimming pools were great. The sea water pool is the best hotel pool I've ever swum in. Also the quietest A/C I've ever known. The hotel was full every night and yet they coped magnificently. We asked for an extension in our room and got it despite them being so busy. Just can't fault it. Would highly recommend to anyone - unless you want to be in the middle of Playas Americas of course!

Room Tip: We preferred the sea view but the pool view would also be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Joan,

A big thank you for having taken time to write a nice review on the tripadvisor´s website onto your holidays at our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel, exceeding your expectations by miles.

I also do appreciate that you recognized our staff's unfailing courtesy and their good humour, even if you noticed the hotel was full every night and that we coped magnificently.
Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.

Once again thank you for recommending us and please don t hesitate to contact us for your next visit with us and ADRIAN HOTELES.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our 3rd visit and sad to report that the hotel is struggling. Yes, it's half term week but the hotel is full to bursting. Breakfast has become a chaotic overcrowded experience. The staff are trying hard to keep up but vocalise that there are simply too many guests. Queuing behind 10 others at the egg station for an omelette not a great start to the day. They have run out of pool towels several times this week so lots of time wasted waiting for fresh ones to arrive. Entertainment poor. Only 1 eve of relaxing duo, rest have been almost laughably bad. Asked to have an extension of half an hour on standard checkout time and denied. A shame as this used to be a hidden oasis of calm. No longer a 5 star experience and over-priced as a result. Get what you pay for? No. Leaving tomorrow and would need some convincing to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Propietario at Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Customer,

Firstable we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your comments on the tripadvisor ´s website.

We really feel sorry to read we didn´t reach your expectations this time. We do of course respect your opinion which is for us a constructive criticism.
We can confirm that our hotel has an increasing number of repeater guests, which means their complete satisfaction with the hotel as a 5 star and its 5 star services, as well as the perfect relationship of price-quality, but we are also aware that we cannot please everybody. We always try to improve our service level to meet all clients´ expectations and we take guests comments and criticism very seriously.

We have already forwarded the provided information to the affected department managers for internal processing.

We apologize for not having responded at your expectations, willing to welcome you again at Roca Nivaria GH and Adrian Hoteles.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles

Address: Avda Adeje 300 | Playa Paraiso, 38678 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#4 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Nivaria Gh - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Adeje
Roca Nivaria Gran Adeje
Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel
Hotel Roca Nivaria Gran
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.