We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bay Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Bay Club to your Saves list
Sunset Bay Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Antonio Navarro, 1, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from sunset bay and had a great time. Apartment in c block was very convenient for top pool, reception and shop. Staff were brilliant nothing was too much bother for them. Top pool was lovely and warm and we enjoyed the aqua fit sessions and crafts held In and around the pool. A spacial thanks to Aleisha for all her help in the office to get the card classes up and running. Please continue with them throughout the rest of the year. Yes some of the buildings are needing an upgrade but the apartments are still very well equipped and comfortable with all the extras you have to buy elsewhere. Sunset bay gives you a feeling of belonging to a large family. Looking forward to seeing you all again next year.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you found our resort to your liking.
It is great that you took part in all the activities and created some priceless memories with us.
We will look forward to seeing you again next year!
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    175
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
167
157
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at Sunset Bay many times, and although it is the lowest points in the Diamond system, it's certainly not low points on friendly helpful staff, spacious clean & comfortable apartments in a good location. However I agree with other reviews to avoid block D due to noise etc etc! Although not yet re-furbished Blocks E & F are good blocks to be located in. The sunbed reservations at the top pool (the heated pool) should/must be addressed, as previously stated this is not fair - guests were queuing at 08.30 to put towels on bed and yet not using the beds for a few hours later - the management must note these comments.There are a good choice of bars and restaurants very near by to accommodate various age groups, preferences and prices etc. Sunset Bay is a very popular resort and once you have stayed there you can see why so many guests return again and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad our staff have provided you with a great customer service time after time.
We are currently working on a system for the sunbed reservation problem with our senior management team so we can assure you this is something we are looking in to.
It is great you could take advantage of the local area as well as try out what the bay has on offer!
We hope you will continue to return!
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a great stay in I block, just above the restaurant between Sinatras and the end of the block. Nice studio apartment, with lost of space for the two of us. Nice, clean and comfortable. Great situation in Adeje for walking and all the restaurants in the location. Sinatras and Twelve Bells are well worth a mention.
Only one down point. Three and a half hours we watched four sun bed towels without a person laying on them or being used whilst we had to go to the unheated pool as the sun beds were all full with towels. About 15-20 of the sun beds were " reserved" but had no one on them for over three hours! UNACEPTABLE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you your kind comments, we are glad your apartment was too your liking. We are glad you took advantage of the local area to see what the bars and restaurants in town had to offer! As we have stated in some of our previous review responses the sunbed situation is something we are currently working on, we are looking in to a solution with our senior management, so please be assured we will be addressing this.
We do hope you will return soon!
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from a week here and have decided too write my first ever Tripadvisor review.
I read (as I always do) the reviews before booking and found the usual mixed bag and decided too ignore the comments about the noise,etc. as usually when I've booked somewhere the negatives have proved to be very overblown.
Generally the resort is fine but 'D-block' is a different matter.Previous reviewers are spot on with their descriptions.We were in D103,on the ground floor.This is smack bang in the middle of 4 pubs,you walk out of your front door and within 2 meters the tables+chairs start,a further 2 meters and there's the TV on a stand pointing directly at your front door,with the days sport on.Times this by the 4 pubs and that's what you're in for (plus occasional 'singers' + crowd at 2 of the pubs).
The clatter starts at about 8.30-9.00 am when they're opening up,low level noise until mid afternoon,then loud,obtrusive noise from then until 12pm.
Please don't regard me as some stuffy old moaner as I love sport,beer and socialising as much as the next man but I felt I had to review as it really was unpleasant.
We asked to move but was told they were too full.Quite comical really as the poor guy couldn't make eye contact with me during the discussion-he'd obviously had the conversation many times before..........
Oh and previous reviewer correct about showering on the last day-again 'too busy' for the room allocated for getting ready after early checkout so you end up in the toilets next to the reception!
In summary a decent place apart from D-block,too which I wouldn't send my worst enemy........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are sorry you were unhappy with the allocation of your apartment, however having said that we are glad you had a good stay with us despite the issues you faced.
We are glad that our staff were helpful to you however we are sorry you were unable to be moved, it is true to say that we are often working on near full capacity so moving guests is often hard for the reception team to accommodate.
We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope you will still return in the future.
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I have been to the sunset bay club three times now, always a great holiday.Only downfall we have had is issues with wifi connection and bugs ie ants and cockroaches in our apartments buts that's easily resolved. The apartments are located in a great area, not far from shops pubs etc! Staff are always helpful and very friendly! With the amount of club points this is now only the place we can have our summer holidays and luckily I love it! Planning to go again next year with a friend and hopefully be a little lucky and open a door to a refurbished room!!! Wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad you continue to visit us at Sunset Bay club.
We are thrilled that you enjoy the resort and its location!
We will look forward to your return stay with us.
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having read previous reviews and already booked and paid for this apartment, I e-mailed the hotel and asked not to be in D block, as it was supposed to be above the bars and very noisy. We weren't put in D block, but were in I block, directly above the supermarket and opposite Sinatra's restaurant, room I211, I was a bit nervous about it, but the noise level wasn't too bad from this source. However, I can only assume that a family of Feng Shui practioners had moved into the apartment above us ,from the amount of noise generated by the dragging around of furniture from 08.30 am onwards. The apartment was very well equipped, even a kitchen roll and washing up liquid but, to say the apartment was designed for six, there was a very small balcony, with only two chairs or a strange little enclosed patio with 2 sunbeds and a table and chairs crammed in and surrounded by high walls, with about 20 mins of sun at midday. The pools were Ok, never a shortage of sunbeds at the bottom one, if you could stand the constant wafts of gravy and pastry-enclosed comestibles that assaulted the olfactory senses!! I would probably go again, but only if I could choose the exact location of my apartment, ie on top of a block and away from all restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: Aim high and avoid D block and I block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are sorry to read of the noise during your stay and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
It is great to read that you took advantage of the onsite facilities and found sunbeds readily available throughout your stay.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Mariana De Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Having spent one week in Santa Barbara then moving here as planned came as a shock. We have kids so I appreciate not every resort will cater for children but even so just didn't work for us. The 2 bed rooms in C block are very out of date and cramped to the point where doors open into doors to perform the simplest of manouvers. Only a contortionist could use the bidet ;-)

One socket didn't work and one balcony side window didn't catch properly leaving a security risk.

The evening entertainment was suited only to the Benidorm style guest of a particular age. Nothing for kids.

There are a few activities during the day for kids as organised by Alex who is great.

The location is what people come here for as well as the better weather than at Santa Barabara in Golf del Sur. Restaurants around are great and cater to a wide range of budget.

My advice is you must venture out and do not come expecting much for kids.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club

Address: Calle Antonio Navarro, 1, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#10 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, the village-style resort of Sunset Bay Club is one of the best loved destinations in the Canaries. Situated at Torviscas, on the outskirts of cosmopolitan Playa de las Americas, this attractive, informal destination has two huge swimming pools surrounded by graceful palm trees and verdant subtropical shrubs. A range of spacious and superbly equipped accommodations with large balconies ensure that you stay in complete comfort, and for those who enjoy the social life, a warm welcome is guaranteed in the resort's restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club Hotel Adeje
Sunset Bay Hotel
Sunset Bay Resort
Sunset Bay Club Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.