We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for our Golden Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bay Club

Save Saved
You added Sunset Bay Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Bay Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Antonio Navarro, 1, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Adeje
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Back for our Golden Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went for the first time in March 1988 for our Silver Wedding and now we have been back for our Golden Wedding. As this is a timeshare complex we have been to different locations in and around 1990 but we have now been going back to our "second home" for 17 years.

All the complex is kept very clean and the gardens are immaculate. The staff are brilliant and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. In fact we were given a bottle of cava and a rose on our Golden Wedding Day from all the staff.

When we went in 2012 the bottom pool had been completed renovated and this year the top pool has been completely renovated and it is now heated. It is like getting into a warm bath. Our 4 year old Grandaughter could not get enough of the pool. She was in morning and afternoon. There is also a jacussi and new sunbeds.

There are now 2 cold water machines on the complex where you can fill a 5 litre bottle for 50cents. It would cost you 2 or 3 times that at the supermarket and it saves you having to carry it too far. There are plenty of supermarkets, bars and restaurants around the complex. We have some favourite restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk.

There is entertainment in the evening in the "square" on Wednesdays and Saturdays and entertainment was on nearly all day on St. Patrick's Day.

What else can I say only that we will be back next year. Can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us – thank you for your review! We are very happy to know that year after year you are satisfied with the standard of accommodation and facilities at Sunset Bay Club. It is very important to us to ensure that our guests can celebrate moments important to them in a homelike atmosphere, and therefore, we are happy to hear that you spent your Golden Wedding Anniversary here with us, surrounded by our friendly and welcoming team- we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Mariana de Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    151
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
141
132
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic holiday. Everywhere was well cared for. Reception were very helpful. Nothing but the highest praise for sunset bay. We've stayed there on two other occasions and have always enjoyed the holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

These apartments are very spacious. We stayed in a studio
Very large balcony. Welcome pack on arrival. Staff very helpful. Nothing too much trouble.
Only downside is the lack of lifts. That said this is our second time staying here and we would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bed and a studio two bed was in Block K very quite and relaxing. Lovely apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly, the building and surroundings are very clean. It has two very nice relaxing pool areas . There is a lot of nice restaurants and bars in the complex. The rooms are kept very clean and modern. More English speaking channels would be great and also either free or cheaper broadband. But you can get another company if you have PayPal account. Also some apartments are better than others

Room Tip: Block c over looking the pool area is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week recently on a recommendation from a family member.

The hotel is made up of several little apartment blocks as opposed to one building. When we first arrived we were allocated a room in "D block" which is directly beside a small row of bars that they have in the complex. I had asked for a high floor and even e-mailed prior to my arrival after reading reviews on trip advisor but was told when we checked in that the rooms were taken.

I wasn't exactly happy with this and even more so when I went to the room and there was an overwhelming smell of sick. They tell you that the 'music' goes off at 12 which it does, but there was countless drunken people sat yards from our windows and doors til the early hours that keep you awake.

Thankfully on our third day we were moved to "G block" right across the other side of the complex which was peaceful and high up.

The apartments were okay. They aren't cleaned everyday which would have been nice but had everything you would need.

Personally, I found the service very slow on reception and the hotel seemed a bit greedy charging 14 euros a week for a safe and 27 euros for a weeks access to wifi (Especially as this hotel chain claims to have hotels in the USA which 99% gives their guests these basics for free).

It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to the beach from the hotel but is in close walking distance to restaurants and bars nearby.

All in all, the hotel was just ok for me, nothing special I am afraid and I wouldn't want to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sunset Bay Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
We regret that you were disappointed with your original room allocation. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that we always try to address all our guests' requests, however we hope you will appreciate that we have a limited number of apartments fulfilling certain criteria and once these have been booked there is no further availability we can offer unless guests check-out or cancel their stay.
We are also particularly sorry to hear of the slow service you experienced. All of our team members are committed to providing a friendly and efficient service to make each guest’s stay a special one, and we apologize for not properly carrying this out during your time with us. We are sorry for this and will do our utmost to better meet your expectations next time given a chance.

Mariana de Ataide
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Arrived on 10/03 only for 2 nights due to not being available for more than 2, booked via diamond points.

Booked a 2 bed family room which was what I got located in B block which was where I requested.

Check in took over an hour as one person on reception who was excellent however they needed more staff on duty!

Apartment B303 was great, smaller than one of the previous ones, downstairs was lovely with sofa, big kitchen and a very small balcony which was disappointing! However rooms upstairs were big and great furnished including 2 bathrooms 1 with bathtub and shower and 1 small shower room.

Apartment was very clean and good, also if you are a gold or platinum diamond member there is wifi in rooms and around the resort which is great!

Pools were nice and really liked the look of the smaller pool which had been refurbished as before it was horrible! now there is a lovely new pool bar then and nice sunbeds. However the main pool is lovely and not to crowded and a fantastic pool bar there.

Location is great near to plenty of restaurants and lots of bars just outside, great for familys groups and couples.

Any questions please message me as have been lots of time and looking forward to returning in under 3 weeks thank you again sunset bay!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms up the hill, always remember timeshare owners should get priority over better qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great family accom! Modern quality fully equipped apartments . Sleeps 6 comfortably. And has 2 bathrooms and a lovely patio outside. one of the swimming pools was heated and this was generally the busier of the tow pools as it is also where the entertainment team are based! very relaxed atmosphere but very professionally run! great lifesavers and very clear guidelines given to you by them re the sunbeds Which requires a signature to say you have read it. the only thing i found was that the pools closed quite early. Otherwise a 10 min walk to beach and 5 min from restuarants . Wifi avail at a cost but didn't really have a good signal. Lovely , well maintained resort

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club

Address: Calle Antonio Navarro, 1, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#11 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Bay Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, the village-style resort of Sunset Bay Club is one of the best loved destinations in the Canaries. Situated at Torviscas, on the outskirts of cosmopolitan Playa de las Americas, this attractive, informal destination has two huge swimming pools surrounded by graceful palm trees and verdant subtropical shrubs. A range of spacious and superbly equipped accommodations with large balconies ensure that you stay in complete comfort, and for those who enjoy the social life, a warm welcome is guaranteed in the resort's restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club Hotel Adeje
Sunset Bay Hotel
Sunset Bay Resort
Sunset Bay Club Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.