We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday once again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe Tenerife

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Principe Tenerife to your Saves list
Bahia Principe Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, c/ Idafe s/n. | Entrada por ctra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Extra Sales
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday once again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Returned last week from another brilliant holiday. Been here 6/7 times before but this time went with children aged 10 and 12. Both boys had great time and ejoyed the pool and football. Food was great even for fussy child. Everywhere was very clean and the staff were cheerful and helpful. Great to see Orlando Kenneth again (I think he had been promoted). He is excellent. Only downside was a trip booked through Cosmos to Loro Parque (through Jumbo Tours I think). We were taken on an hour and a half joy ride on the return trip, right past our hotel up to Los Gigantes to drop people off first. The driver was obnoxious and made us wait at a garage for another 5 - 10 minutes on the way back after I complained. This was unacceptable but nothing to do with the hotel. Thanks Baghia Principe Tenerife for another relaxing and carefree holiday. Hope to see you again next year. Only annoying thing is that you still have to pay for WiFi - not good in this day and age, most hotels offer free access!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - cheaper rooms are just as good as more expensivce and you seem to get more bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Pat,

Thank you for publishing this review about Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that, after a few visits to the hotel, you still find everything up to its usual standard and that your children also loved it.

We are waiting for you to come back to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    624
    179
    48
    39
See reviews for
858
854
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

After a last minute change to our holiday plans, we ended up booking 2 weeks at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje just 4 days before we departed.

We were aware that the location of the hotel was a bit remote, but as we wanted to spend 2 weeks doing nothing, this suited us perfectly. This is specified in the brochure and on the website, so those wanting to be in the hustle and bustle of the major resorts, then this is not the hotel for you.

The hotel is set on a cliff and has a tiered layout, meaning initially it can be a bit confusing. However once you get your head around it, there is no problem. Those who are less mobile may struggle with the steps and steep slopes, but there are lifts in each block which can be used.

The rooms are spacious and yes, they are slightly dated - however they are spotless and the house keeping is fantastic.There was good storage and plenty of hangers. The mini bar is a welcome addition and saves having to go down to the bar after a day around the pool. The bathroom was large and the shower pressure was good.
The bed is memory foam, huge and fairly comfortable. My son was on a put up bed which seemed comfortable and did not encroach too much on the space in the room.

There aren't many TV channels in English, so we watched the European Swimming and athletics championships in German, this wasn't a problem as we did not spend much time in the room.

The food in the hotel was good. There was always a great selection of food which was replenished frequently and was always hot. The a la carte restaurants were also fantastic and broke up the 2 weeks nicely. The Mexican and Asian restaurants were our favourite. Here the dining atmosphere is more relaxed and the service is better, as there are fewer people dining.

In the main dining room, we found that the service differed from day to day. Some days the staff were very attentive, whilst on others we had to ask several times for drinks. However this could be easily rectified if bottles of wine were left on the table, as in the a'la carte restaurants. We ate outside both at breakfast and in the evening as the view was lovely. The breeze was also welcomed as inside the restaurants there did not appear to be any air conditioning. The wearing long trousers for men is a slightly outdated and silly policy which IS enforced by the hotel - this was not specified in the thomas cook brochure and it was only thanks to reading reviews prior to departure, that the men in our party packed any trousers!

The wine and cava were nice however the spirits and cocktails were a bit of a let down. For this standard of hotel I would expect branded spirits, which taste like they should. We found the spirits all tasted sweet and not at all like they should. The cocktails all tasted the same regardless of their ingredients. The main bar at night was stuffy, again no apparent air conditioning, and quite noisy. It was much nicer outside, but there were limited tables outside, so we very rarely had the chance to sit outside.

The pool areas are lovely and kept spotless. The infinity pool was our favourite as it was quieter and did not have the animacion team around it. The pool is relatively shallow and we were confident letting our 7 year old swim and play near our sunbeds,
The hotel does have a sunbed policy meaning you have to stay with your sunbeds until 8 am or your belongings are removed, again this is something we knew - however after being accused of moving towels by another guest, it is clear not all guests knew this policy. If you happen to be Spanish, then this rule does not apply, as it appeared they managed to get the staff to find sunbeds for them at any time of day, Maybe being British were are too reserved and should try this approach?? The sunbeds were ok, but I have stayed at other 4 * hotels where cushions are provided. We opted to hire our towels for 10 euro deposit each - however the times that you can change your towels perhaps needs a rethink as they were quite inconvenient times.

The downside to the pool was the 1 ladies toilet. As a result there was always a queue, 1 toilet for all the females around the infinity pool is not sufficient.

Snacks at the pool bar got better in our second week - the usual fayre and adequate. We never used the restaurants during the day as it was easier to stay around the pool.

The entertainment (we only went 3 nights of our stay) was ok and as expected. Reminded me of my holiday's as a child, so evening entertainment in Spain has not progressed in over 20 years!
Our son was looking forward to going to the kids club, but we were disappointed with the location of the kids club, which was situated in the square between the hotels. I recognise this club had to service both of the hotels, but as we were by the infinity pool at the bottom of the hotel, it meant we were not happy leaving our child so far away. There was an empty restaurant next to one of the pools which would have been a much more sensible location for the kids club.

Don't bother with the wifi, it is expensive and rubbish. We just used 3g as it worked out cheaper and was quicker.


All in all we had a great trip. It was relaxing and just what we wanted. The hotel could do with some very minor improvements to bring it up to a more modern standard - but it is better than a 3 * and definitely not 5* so I think adequately rated. We would return, but if we wanted a more modern take on this hotel would go back to the Sandos San Blas - which is, in our opinion, more up to date.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sara,

Thank you for your time in writing about your recent stay at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you found the hotel very relaxing and you enjoyed the infinity pool, the selection of food and the cleanliness of the facilities.

We would love to have you back in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel the last week in July & first week in August 2014, it was one of the best holidays we have had , the hotel is kept in fantastic condition , the staff are friendly, the range if food and drinks were excellent , no hidden charges, highly recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Millie,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your positive experience at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is fantastic to know that all the facilities and services were as you expected so you highly recommend our hotel to the users of this site.

We hope to welcome you once again for a new holiday.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have just returned from our lovely relaxing holiday here. The room was really nice & clean with fresh towels have day. We were quite high up, with 2 lifts to get to the room but worth it for the pool and sea view. The staff were very helpful.
There was lots of choice for food....the buffet restaurant had different theme foods every night. We also ate in 2 of the a la carte restaurants- Asia and Portofino (Italian), & this food was gorgeous. There were lots of choice for the all inclusive drinks-the honey rum went down very well! The main towns are not really close (taxi or free bus from the hotel) but between this hotel & the sister hotel (Costa Adeje) there was lots going on with loads of activities & evening entertainment.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience in Bahia Principe Tenerife with all Tripadvisor users.

It is really flattering for us to hear that you cannot find fault to the hotel for the great choice of food and beverage and the entertainment activities.

It would be a pleasure to see you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a wonderful holiday here and would recommend this hotel to both families and couples. The hotel is spotless, with great service from all the staff. Food was superb, our Son is known to be picky yet there was still plenty for him to choose from. There is also the option to book into a selection of A La Carte restaurants (Spanish, Canarian, Mexican and Asian) all at no extra cost.
The one disappointment here is having to get up at stupid O'clock to have poolside sunbeds (for us a necessity with young children), perhaps this could have been controlled better by the hotel. The first few days we were there, the 'sunbed police' were patrolling removing unattended towels however this didn't continue.
The hotel is in a fairly remote location, however anyone doing their homework would know this before booking. There is the option of a free bus from the hotel into Playa de Las Americas, although we also found the local public transport very reliable too.
Overall we a fantastic stay here and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing a review about Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel recommending it to other families or couples.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed it and you will return in the near future.

We are waiting for you to come back to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

One evening at the bar (Costa Adeje part of the hotel), a friend of mine was punched three times in the face by another person staying in the hotel. This person was drunk and wanted to argue over occupancy of a chair by the bar. He then threatened to punch my friend's wife, at which point the hotel staff were asked to intervene to difuse the situation. The hotel security staff and bar staff did nothing, even though there were children in the bar area at the time. Eventually another onlooking resident managed to restrain this man and calm the situation down convincing this agressive man to stop.This man then disappeared to his room.
When asked, the hotel refused to call out the police and they were only interested in not having any fuss, even though my friend was badly shaken as a result of being assaulted. I was absolutely disgusted by the response of the hotel management alongside the lack of security and lack of action taken.
The hotel made no attempt to locate this agressive resident and remove him from the hotel. Therefore for the rest of the stay, this man was still able to enjoy his time at the Bahia Principe without any recourse or remorse for his violent action.
I would never recommend anyone to stay here, infact I would deter them from staying here as a result of the lack of action taken by the hotel staff, hotel security and the hotel management. A real shame I am having to write this review as the rest of the hotel and the catering was very good. Apart from this incident we enjoyed the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thanks for taking time to write about your stay in Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

We are very sorry for the incident that occurred to your friend. This situation is very uncommon in our hotel so our future guests can rest assured.

We would like to inform you that the police was called by the hotel management as soon as this man was identified and the attitude of your friend was not appropriate at all, according to police sources.

We are sorry that this incident has not allowed you to enjoy this holiday.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Got back 8 days ago. Our room was lovely, bed comfy and all cleaned to the highest standards each day.
Food and drinks all very good, plenty of choice and fresh. Usual deserts you find in all inclusive. Pool bar food not brilliant but ok as snacks to keep kids going.
We had to take it in turns to get up at 7:30am to reserve a sun lounger. This was a bit of a shame as a lie-in would have been nice but then we wouldn't have had anywhere to sit all day!
Entertainment was there if you want it or nice quiet lobby bars available if you didn't.
Kids club reps good although some didn't speak that good English. We have had better experiences of kids clubs in other holiday villages run by Thompson reps. I do think it could be improved here with better age division and more appealing activities on offer.
Our first time in Tenerife and we liked it a lot. One or two niggles but nothing to prevent us returning. I would recommend this hotel to others, it's beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mrs Greene,

Thank you for giving us your opinion about your great stay at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

We are very glad to know that you had a perfect relaxing family holiday and you would recommend it to other travellers.

It would be a pleasure to see you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, c/ Idafe s/n. | Entrada por ctra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools and outdoor Jacuzzi pool Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel) Sun terrace Sauna (additional charge) Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym and squash court (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel), sports courts Restaurants Bars Wifi (additional charge) Meeting and convention room Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 220 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Junior Suite with sea views and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub, shower, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini bar Wifi (additional charge) Junior Suite: Hydromassage bath tub, telephone in bathroom, sofa, sitting area Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required Mini Golf. Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Laundry (additional service) Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Incentive and convention service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia Principe Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tenerife Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.