We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle La Enramada, 9 | La Caleta, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Two adults and one five year old for 1 week. Travelled with Sovereign - superb service to and from airport. Superior hotel. Had Club room on 4th floor - great view and quiet. Huge bed and large bathroom. Check pillows, some very soft. Foldaway bed for daughter was comfortable. Aircon quiet. Room cleaned to varying degree, sand left on floor on one day. Had to chase up for free water. Otherwise, a superb room.
Paid for Full Board Plus so had credits against most meals and free drinks. Check bar menu and food menu for free offerings. Food was a cut above normal all-inclusive. Japanese and Spanish restaurants worth a visit. All staff very efficient and friendly. Cannot fault any of the staff at all.
Kids Club was brilliant, our daughter loved it. Kids pool warm and free toys. Very busy at times. Kids Club staff fantastic, evening entertainment and food good.
Two main pools quite cold but seemed to be clean and safe.
Lovely walk along coast into Costa Adeje - nice restaurants. Great sandy beach at El Duque - five minute walk. Sea was clean but quite a strong current at times. Hotel at El Duque looked good.
One problem - mostly British guests reserved all sunbeds before breakfast and continually left towels on chairs for whole day even if not using them. Annoying - you can choose your hotel but not the guests !! Having said that we met some lovely people.
Overall the best all-inclusive type hotel we've stayed in Tenerife. Staff should be congratulated.

Room Tip: 4th floor Club on either end - south better sunsets longer sun. Avoid above bar area if travelling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_georlette, Sales Manager at Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton la Caleta Resort & Spa in Tenerife.
We are pleased to hear about your successful stay with us, and that you enjoyed our gastronomy as well as the Kids Club for your daughter.
I will pass your congratulations about the great service to the rest of the team, as it is a value we always strive for, and it is always a pleasure receiving such positive feedback.

Thank you once again, and we are hoping in seeing you soon back at the hotel.

With sunny regards from Tenerife

JG
Sales Manager
Sheraton la Caleta Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    391
    125
    40
    17
See reviews for
384
619
51
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel! The grounds are great and the pools are fantastic!
If you have an oceanview room, you will have an amazing view to wake up to! We stayed here in 2008 for 1 week and it was a fantastic way to end our 3 week honeymoon. We spent 2 weeks on a cruise and were excited to spend 1 week relaxing! And that is just what we did at the Sheraton! Location of this hotel is just off the boardwalk and the walk is wonderful to the beach, restaurants and shops. Like all Sheratons, the beds are heaven and the bathrooms are beautiful. Great place to stay in Tenerife! Hope to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_georlette, Sales Manager at Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your experience at the Sheraton la Caleta Resort & Spa in Tenerife.
We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us at the hotel, converting it in a wonderful end to your honeymoon.

Thank you for choosing us, combined with the cruise, to celebrate this important event.
We are hoping in seeing you back in Tenerife, and at the Sheraton La Caleta Resort and Spa.
Meanwhile, please, feel free to contact us at the following e-mail for updates and information on the hotel: guestservice.caleta@sheraton.com.

With kind regards

JG
Sales Manager
Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday at The Sheraton La Caleta. The best thing about the holiday was the consistently cheerful, helpful and seemingly genuine staff. To us, this is so important as it creates the 5* atmosphere. Nearing our last day, upon entry to the restaurant, a member of staff seemed to remember our name and room number which is always impressive, not least because of the capacity of the hotel.

The next best thing is the clever architecture. Despite booking their most basic room (deluxe room – and rightly named), we were delighted to be facing out on to the garden, albeit at a low level but still pleasant. The room was spacious with a balcony where we were happy to relax whilst allowing our baby to nap in the main part of the room. The bathroom had a separate loo contained within it which is lovely for privacy, not waking a baby up in the night if you need the loo and also to allow others to use the bathroom at the same time. Two wash hand basins, a large bath with shower and then a separate stand up shower were, attractive, clean, spacious and bright - ideal for our needs. I would use one of the wash hand basins to wash our baby’s beakers and rinse out our swimwear, leaving the other for normal use. The only fault with the bathroom was that the plugs did not keep the wash hand basins full meaning things couldn’t be soaked.

The only tricky thing about the architecture is, not that we ever asked or looked particularly hard but there did not seem to be a step free way to the restaurants or pools. This meant that if we were taking our son in his pushchair, my husband had to carry both down the stairs. Had I been on my own, I would have been a bit stuck. There are lifts with great views but there always seems to be small flight of stairs at the bottom. Presumably there must be a way for wheel chair users, we just didn’t find it.

On the first night, we had a problem with our air conditioning but that was pro-actively and promptly dealt with.

Perhaps this is a British thing but it would have been really handy to have a kettle in our room as well as or instead of the coffee maker as well as an abundance of fresh milk and Earl Grey and English Breakfast tea bags. We made hot water via the coffee maker but it was never quite hot enough to make proper tea and also had the slight flavour of coffee. We also used this to mix up our son’s formula although he didn’t seem to notice. It was great to have a separate mini fridge as well as the mini bar. We bought our own fresh milk and bottle water and kept them there.

The resort is perfect for couples / adults needing a peaceful break and those with young children. It is perhaps not lively enough for older children though unless you are prepared to take them to the water parks during the day.

My husband tells me the spa and gym were impressive. Sadly as I am pregnant, I could not make full use of the facilities but hope to return one day.

There is live entertainment every night in the bar. For at least 2 of the nights we were there, there was a very good singer. It perhaps would have been good to have a lively band at some point but as we were not there for the weekend, it maybe that they save this for Friday and Saturday nights.

The breakfast and supper buffets are certainly impressive given the challenge of such mass catering. I was pleased to be able to find things suitable for my son and myself to eat and only sorry that I couldn’t eat some of the lovely cheeses, Serrano ham and rare meats. We found out pretty early that the high chairs would not keep our son contained and he would frighteningly try to climb out. This could easily be resolved if they fitted some harnesses or lap belts. We ended up keeping our son in his pushchair during meals.

To save pennies, we booked a bus transfer from the hotel. If we went again, we would book via the hotel taxi firm who can provide child seats. The long and windy bus journey via lots of other hotels is not worth the saving and the taxi must be really quick in comparison.

The heated outdoor pool, salt water pool, Jacuzzi and baby pool were all lovely and clean although a little chilly (the weather was consistently 26 degrees when we were there). Had our son have been 3 yrs old, we would have left him at the kids club. It would have been really useful to have an indoor soft play area for children that are crawling to let of steam as the mostly marble and stone surfaces can be a concern if you have a toddler.

We would have loved to have gone on an excursion to the volcano, however, we were advised against it as you can’t see much if it is cloudy. This definitely was the most appealing thing to do as our son is too young for the water parks etc and swimming with dolphins is not completely unique to the area. Perhaps another time.

Other reviews have said that the lunch restaurant is expensive. It seems to be marginally more expensive than the restaurants along the promenade but in line with what I would expect from a 5* hotel and on a par with general London prices. I paid 11 Euros for a carbonara so approx £9.50. Pizza Express pastas seem to range from £8.25 to £9.50 so this doesn’t seem unreasonable.

For anyone really wanting to do lunch as cheaply as possible, there is a Spar supermarket approximately 10 - 15 mins walk along the promenade (you’ll walk passed nice restaurants though - some don’t appear to be open on Mondays) or we even saw signs for 3 Euro English Breakfasts further in to the main area.

We chose Tenerife because we wanted some October sun and we thought the other contenders (Egypt, Turkey and Caribbean) to be either too far to fly with an infant or we felt uncertain about whether suitable to take a young child to. Perhaps we were being paranoid hygiene parents but in the end we were more than happy with our decision. Of all the places we have visited in Europe, this is the most comparable with the luxury honeymoon resorts we have been to in Kenya and Bali.

Room Tip: As for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_georlette, Sales Manager at Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa in Tenerife.

It brings a smile to our face reading your review, especially when being compared to the luxury honeymoon resorts in Kenya and Bali. It is always so rewarding to receive such positive feedback, and knowing our guests are enjoying their time with us. Thank you.
Regarding your comment about no stop-free way to the restaurants/pools, we do have a step-free access with an elevator for wheelchairs, but it is true that it is not properly indicated, and can sometime be difficult to find. We are aware of the issue, and are in the process of creating appropriate indications for the benefit of our guests.

Thank you once again for all of your comments and feedback, and we are looking forward to your next stay at the Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa.

With warm regards from Tenerife,

JG
Sales Manager
Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We loved it here. Staff were top class, food was excellent, service was impeccable. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and i were in Tenerife staying in our appartment but before we went out i had booked 3 nights in the Sheraton as a surprise treat on our wedding anniversary and after. We had 3 days of luxury where we relaxed, eat, drank and slept in completely perfect surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This must be one of the best hotels in Tenerife. Staff are helpful friendly and courteous and virtually all speak English!!
Location is a bit out of the way but an easy walk into more lively and busier areas of the Adeje coast. Meals are just superb and choices suitable to all but the most awkward and pernickity. My wife and I would definately recommend this hotel for a relaxing break to anyone. Book the buffet for dinner or choose the Spanish restaurant for a change (only open on certain evenings). Only minor complaint was booking a poolside table and it being unavailable (not a bit deal) in the Spanish restaurant. Bar is more expensive than local bars but thats usual for all major hotel chains and entertainment was good but not great. Nearby beach is public not very large and not that nice but bigger better beaches are just a walk away. Rooms are well appointed and quite luxurious, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Pools are large and have lifeguards to ensure no diving or ball games which is great for the less active. Family friendly, great for small kids with a fresh water pool. Larger pool is sea water and has ample loungers and towels (only available after 0900h) which suits all nationalities! All in all this is a wonderful place to relax.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea as the one we had was shaded and a bit dark during the day. No nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_georlette, Sales Manager at Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your recent stay at the Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa.

It brings us great satisfaction to learn that you enjoyed your holiday with us, as well as the great variety of our restaurants. Indeed, our Spanish restaurant La Venta offers a nice selection of Spanish specialties, which can be alternated with a Japanese gastronomic experience from our restaurant Kamakura. As you also mention, the grand majority of our staff speaks English as we thrive to attend the best possible our international guests.
Thank you very much again for your kind recommendation, and we are hoping to see you in a near future at the hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

JG
Sales Manager
Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton for two weeks during late August -early September. We really enjoyed all there was to offer. Enjoyed the hospitality of the staff, the restaurants were good, we also ate out of the hotel alot, as variety is good. We did enjoy the bartender service button on the umbrellas, although at times the service was slow. But nevertheless good.

The rooms were good, we stayed in the Club accomodation, so our rooms had a superb view.

The only gripe we have is - because of the 5 star rating of the hotel, we at least expected padded cushions for the sunloungers, the loungers were exceedingly hard and if you are there all day, it gets most uncomfortable. We ended up taking at least two to three towels each from the towel shack to make the lounger softer......please consider getting cushions for the loungers.

:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_georlette, Sales Manager at Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa.
It’s a pleasure learning that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and that you discovered the benefits of the bartender service button on the umbrellas. It’s a great way to enjoy a fresh cocktail in the sun without having to get up for it.
Thank you as well for sharing your thoughts regarding the sunloungers. We appreciate the opinion of our guests as it helps us improve our services and facilities for the better.
We are hoping in seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

With sunny regards from Tenerife,

JG
Sales Manager
Sheraton la Caleta Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa

Address: Calle La Enramada, 9 | La Caleta, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the exclusive resort area of Costa Adeje, Sheraton La Caleta is surrounded on one side by dramatic mountains and on the other by the blue Atlantic Ocean. Offering direct access to the coast-line promenade, the resort is a few minutes' walk from the beautiful beaches of Tenerife and its water sports. The Canarian Archipelago enjoys an exceptional climate of 23ºC all year round. This, in combination with Tenerife's remarkable natural habitat, makes the hotel a peaceful and relaxing destination for a wide variety of travellers. The resort has 284 bright and spacious rooms all with spectacular views of the Ocean from their private terraces, including 20 premium Suites. A well-deserved rest will be found in our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Guests take time to sample the delights of our 4 restaurants and 2 bars, and savour the variety offered at our El Parador buffet restaurant; taste authentic Japanese specialties in Kamakura restaurant; get to know the best of Spanish cuisine at La Venta restaurant or indulge in a light Mediterranean lunch by the pool at Vivace. Families enjoy fun-filled adventures within the hotel's 18.000 Square meters of subtropical gardens and terraces, magnificent sea-water pool and 2 fresh-water heated pools. The hotel offers a new sport center facility, Padel and tenis coursts and the reknown Spa Eutonos and 24h Sheraton fitness gym. Whether guests are looking for a peaceful relaxing vacation or a fun-filled family getaway, our hotel's mission is to allow them to make warm long-lasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Caleta Resort And Spa
Sheraton La Caleta Hotel Adeje
Sheraton Adeje
La Caleta Tenerife
Adeje Sheraton
Sheraton Tenerife
Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton La Caleta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.