We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel and good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have recently returned after staying 2 weeks in the Riu Palace. We had a good holiday and the Riu Palace meet our expectations, with no major gripes. There are some negatives below, but they are small in the grand scheme and did not overly detract from the overall experience.

Below I have listed what we liked and what could be improved, but they should not be read as an off put.

Good Points

• Very clean everywhere. There always appeared to be people cleaning at all times of the day. They even had a guy in the swimming pool with a wetsuit cleaning the walls of the pool.
• Free fruit and bottle of sparkling wine provided in the room. As well as a drink on arrival whilst they checked you in. They also come around on some days and handed out free melon around the pool, which was a nice touch.
• We had two rooms and I requested that they were together on a middle floor, which is exactly what we were given. We also had a great sea view. I would advise that you do email the hotel before you go as they certainly seem to try and accommodate any wishes.
• Good size room with safe (big enough for a range of electronics such as eReaders and iPad mini, plus passports etc) and mini bar which we used to store our drinks in. Note that the safe is chargeable and two weeks cost 32 Euros.
• We found all the hotel staff friendly and helpful and whenever we requested something it happened. Special note should go to reception and the singing omelette chef.
• The location within the resort is good if you like it quite, which we do. However, this could be a negative for some, as you have to walk for a few minutes to reach any shops or restaurants, as you are pretty much at the end of the resort. The Paris shopping centre is close but is very small and only really contains a few boutique shops and a supermarket, so you have to walk a bit further to really get into the shops and restaurants.
• There are two pools, neither huge, but good for a quick dip to cool off. One of the pools is kept as a quieter pool more aimed at swimming, so no balls or inflatable’s, which was good. There are signs saying no lilos, but they seemed to turn a blind eye as some people used them.
• The food was good, with a large choice for breakfast and dinner (we stayed half board). The quality was fine considering it is mass catering, but do not expect restaurant quality, apart from where it’s cooked to order. What was positive was that they had a vegetarian selection each night, which more than catered for my daughters needs.

Improvement points

• The usual chestnut of sun beds around the pool when the hotel is full. There are not enough and they do get reserved around breakfast time (8.00am onwards). There are signs to say that reserving is not allowed, however this does not get enforced, although I do have sympathy with the hotel where this is concerned as it is difficult to police fairly. I should add there is also a man made beach area for hotel guests to use and this usually had free beds, so you could always find one, but just not around the pool.
• As much as the waiters were on the whole good and helpful, they were too attentive. They were always hovering to tidy plates and pour drinks. On a couple of occasions I was still eating and they tried to take my plate away, which was rather annoying. This also led to them clearing plates and leaning across dinners whilst others in the party were still eating. I’m sure this is done to “encourage” dinners to finish, so they can set the table for the next sitting. We had the earlier sitting, which is assigned to you for the duration of you stay, so perhaps the later sitting was not quite so bad.
• You have a table allocated to you for your entire stay. This is good in some ways, as you do not have to wait to be seated, however the tables are very close together for couples, not a problem for us but it would have been if it were just the two of us.
• You are allocated either the 6.00pm sitting or the 8.00pm sitting on arrival and that is fixed for the duration of your stay. I can see this could annoy some people, so I would request your preference before you arrive if you are making other requests.
• The evening entertainment was dismal to say the least and was perhaps the biggest improvement that needs looking at, especially given the location of the hotel. Again did not really bother us that much, but for some it would be a negative.

Other useful Info

• The beds are hard, but they do have mattress toppers available.
• There is a gym, not overly big and the equipment was rather old, however it is usable.
• The Krystal restaurant looked nice, but the menu never changes and did not offer much for vegetarians, so we did not visit.
• You need to be seated by the waiters if you want to sit on the outside Terrance for breakfast. Whereas inside, you just chose a free table.
• If you want an early start, let reception know and you can get an early continental breakfast in the restaurant.
• If you want to snorkel in the sea opposite, swim right the back on the right hand side, where the breakwaters have created an artificial reef. There were plenty of fish and crabs to see, although the fishermen are not best pleased.
• Pool towels are only available from reception on the 6th floor, so not in the pool area.
• If you like wine, best to order a bottle as you can save any unused for the following day, assuming you have any unused of course!
• We went to Mount Teide and as much as it is one to tick off, this was a very expensive trip for what you get. The cost was €234 for a family of 4, which includes the coach trip plus the cable car (€100 of the cost).
• We also went to Loro Parque and this was far better value in our view. The shows were good, but as we went with Thomson there was just not enough time to fit everything in, as the coach arrives at 10.00am (ish) and leaves at 4.40pm. I would recommend getting a car as you then have complete flexibility and it will work out around the same price, just make sure you leave early and arrive before all the coaches do.
• Prices in the hotel – beer is €2.50 and water is €1.95. We purchased beer and soft drinks for around the pool in the supermarkets, which was a lot cheaper. For instance 5 litres of water was €1.10 in one of the closer supermarkets and less than a euro in the one in the Paris shopping centre.

As said above, this is a good hotel, so do not let some of the negative reviews put you off this hotel as we were more than happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Email the hotel to make any requests before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    168
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
111
427
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Resort for a week in the peak season of August as a family of 3. Upon arrival the reception staff were very welcoming. We were given a complimentary drink of our choice upon arrival while our bags were taken to our room. We had a room situated on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the sea and pool, which was exceptionally clean and well presented however the rooms were a little dated for our taste. The service from all the staff was very attentive, where they were always smiling and doing their best for you. There was a wide variety of food available from breakfast through to dinner. We spent our days by the two pools, one was for families while the other was more adult only based. There were sun bed's overlooking the fantastic palm tree gardens overlooking the sea where we watched the boats go by daily. The hotel is situated on the promenade approximately ten minutes walk into playa del duque where there is a fantastic sandy beach where you'll also find high class restaurants and bars. I would defiantly recommend this hotel for anybody who would like a relaxing break.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel in advance for a room overlooking the sea and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. 5 star service from the moment we srrived. Everyone couldnt do enough to make our stay there perfect. The food was amazing, something different every night, so much choice. Stunning views from our ground floor suite, we were upgraded for free! The bottle of bubbly and fruit basket delivered to everyones room was a lovely touch on the second day. Big thankyou to all the friendly reception staff that helped organise bikes and trips for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We (husband and I) stayed at the Riu Palace peak season expecting a busy resort, but we were very happy to find a sun bed with shade every day, friendly staff who always had time to talk and good tasty food.
Only negative was the very high price of the drinks both soft and alcoholic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arrival: A complimentary drink at the piano bar whilst our bags were taken to the room. The reception was excellent and as an international hotel they are very helpful.
Restaurant: has 2 sittings so that everyone is allocated their own table and you can then just walk in between your allocated time and you don’t have to cue as with some hotels. There is no problem in changing your time either.
Buses are cheap and a stop just outside the hotel, plus you can tour all over the island for very little. You also have a Saturday market just up the road, so dont worry about travelling to Los Cristianos market.
The hotel itself is beautiful and kept extremely clean. Staff are polite and helpful. The room was what we expected and I did like the sun loungers on the balcony. I had emailed the hotel and asked for a sea view (I understand you have to pay more for this though) but they did give us a side sea view room on the 7th floor. It was very nice as we got the sunset and lets face it, I dont spend my day in the room anyway!
By the pool, even with a lot of people, there is a serene feeling (maybe because its not full of kids) and sun beds are plenty. There is a sister hotel to share with though.
Beware, pricing was inconsistent, so check before ordering as guest have no way to check. Some waiters had to guess the price as they couldnt find it, once we had to pay nearly 10 euro for 2 soft drinks.
Through the private gate you have the sea and a very short walk to a sandy beach. There is not much to do in this area and the shops are expensive so be prepared to travel if you want to explore but for a relaxing and quiet holiday this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff who offered us champagne whilst our passports were processed. We were then shown to a room on the 6th floor, which was clean and well presented. Our bags were brought 5mins later.
Every single member of staff were super friendly, polite and helpful. We stayed half board and thought the choice of food, presentation etc was fab.we enjoyed having breakfast on the sun terrace overlooking the sea. The tables are very close together in the restaurant and this was the same as the sun beds around the pool, but we never had a problem finding two together after breakfast. Even though there are signs around the pool saying beds can not be reserved they were daily, on one occasion 6 beds together by the edge of the pool were reserved for 5 hrs 30 mins before the occupants appeared!

The pool area is lovely clean and well maintained, with regular waiter service. We ate in the pool bars for lunch and again the food, service etc was great.

We wanted a relaxing week in the sun and that is what we had. The evening entertainment was ok, mainly easy listening music whilst we sampled cocktails or the varieties of coffees on the terrace. Even though the hotel was full it didn't feel so, a handful of young children, mainly full of couples of various ages.

We did find the bed uncomfortable and the room warm, even with air con and fan on. We would also like to see Internet /wifi in all areas of the hotel not just the lobby.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view email the hotel as well as your tour operator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On arrival at the Riu Palace we were warmly welcomed and offered champagne or orange juice whilst our passports were checked and room keys sorted. Within 10 -15 mins our rooms were ready, 1 double and 1 twin for our sons on floor 4. Both rooms were clean and spacious, ours had a wonderful sea view and our sons a side sea view, and both had late afternoon sun on the balcony.

There are 2 sittings for evening meal 6pm & 8pm. We were given 8pm which suited us fine, and were shown to a table which we kept for the full 2 weeks. One word of warning men are required to wear long trousers for the evening meal, and i did see some guests who came in shorts politely being asked to change. At breakfast you could sit anywhere even on the terrace, staff were very prompt in serving tea and coffee, and the buffet had a huge variety, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, cheese, cooked breakfast, pancakes, also you could have an omelette made of your choice.

The evening buffet was fantastic, an enormous choice of meat, fish, vegetarian plus local cuisine as well as pizza and pasta. All food was hot and topped up regularly, my family and i could not fault the food in any way. The best part of the meal for me was the fantastic service we received. I have never experienced a hotel with such friendly, helpful staff who really seemed happy to be doing their jobs.

The Riu Palace has 2 great pools, one for adults and kids where lilos and balls are allowed, and other purely for swimming. The pool areas are kept very clean and there are plenty of beds. The hotel gives you pool towels from 8am when you can put them on the beds and yes there are people queuing to do this. We could usually get 4 beds together if we were there for 8.30, but some people always seem to want the same place each day (boring). There are plenty of staff by the pool to serve drinks and snacks, there is also a pool restaurant where we usually ate, the food was all very good.

Each evening there was some entertainment, usually music on the terrace. We also watched the juggling show, chinese acrobats and i think there was also a flamenco show. For us the entertainment was fine, nice music to listen to whist we played cards and had a drink in the lovely evening sunshine.

The hotel is set in a lovely peaceful location. There is a small, dark sand/pebbly beach just outside the hotel gate, and a lovely sandy beach at Playa el duque about 10 mins walk from the hotel. 1 Parasol and 2 sun loungers were expensive though at 19 euros! we were happy to spend most days by the pool. If you wanted lots of bars and shops then a 10 minute taxi will get you to Playa las americas. One of our favourite places was La Caleta just 5 mins away, a lovely village where we had a great lunch overlooking the sea.

We (myself, husband and 2 boys 12 & 18) all had a fantastic relaxing holiday. Lovely weather, great service at a hotel in a lovely location, and will definitely return.
Many thanks to all the staff who helped make our holiday extra special, Pedro, Yave and Christian to name a few, but to be honest i could name every member of staff from maids, gardeners waiters and front desk, as they were all so polite and friendly. This is the first Riu hotel we have stayed in, and i am now keen to stay at other Riu hotels to see if they can be as good as this one.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on Level 4 which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#1 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 4-6 storey building* Situated on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.