We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2nd fantastic visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A 2nd fantastic visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second visit to the Riu Palace hotel, and we only have superlatives to say about the staff, the rooms, food and cleanliness. On arrival it was good to be offered champagne or a soft drink in the bar area while passports were being copied and people checked in. We had e-mailed the hotel requesting the same, or similar, room to that we had occupied on our previous visit and were delighted to be given the same room and also the same table in the dining room. There are two sittings for the evening meal – 6.00 and 8.00 – and tables are allocated for the entire visit. We preferred the later sitting as we stayed by the pool until around 6.00. Our chosen table was on the raised dais just inside the dining room as it seemed quieter than the main dining area.

We ate in the Krystal Restaurant one evening and could have done so again, but as the menu does not change we decided once was enough – although the food was excellent and beautifully presented. (The appetisers were interesting!).

All the employees are friendly, always greeting the guests in any situation, efficient and good at their jobs.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and have adequate space for clothes storage. The food is excellent, with great variety and superb quality. Everywhere from the gardens, pathways and swimming pools to the indoor areas are kept meticulously clean. We could not fault it on any of these criteria.

We shall definitely return for a further stay as in our opinion this is the best TUI hotel we have stayed at. The only suggestions we have for improvement are (a) reduce their prices for the room safe,(b) get in a better wi-fi system as it was often difficult to get any signal and (c) get the management (suits) to also greet the guests when they are in contact with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    168
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
111
427
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

cant understand how anyone can be negative about this hotel,staff very friendly,bedroom very clean,and all other areas very clean.food is very good.it seems on some reviews people are expecting the ritz?.we found it was nice to sit next to someone,but if you want to be on your own the staff will find you another table.some very nice bars 5mins away but if you want it a bit more lively then you would need to walk 20mins.will definitely return to this hotel,on par with the other riu palace hotels we've been to.

Room Tip: 3rd floor upwards a good choice,at the front sea views,at the rear mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We received fantastic service as soon as we arrived, greeted with a cold drink whilst we were checked-in. By the time we were given our room keys, the receptionist had realised that we were both celebrating birthdays during our stay. On both days this was marked with room decorations including bubbly, and also a decorated table in the restaurant.
We were allocated a room on the ground floor with a patio on to the well cared for gardens and with a view of the pool and the sea beyond. The third bed in the room is supposed to be suitable for another adult. It probably wouldn't have been that comfortable for an older adult as it was a little on the short side. My son is 15 but luckily not too tall and didn't complain about the camping style to his bed! The room and bathroom were very clean and we successfully kept both at a cool temperature with the air-con and ceiling fan. We weren't in the room that much to worry about anything more.
On the first day we'd been given the 6pm dinner sitting. This was a bit early for us but it was no problem at all to change to the 8pm for the next day onwards and we had a very nice table for the rest of the holiday. Waiting staff were very attentive. The food was very good and there was always a wide choice at the buffet. The Krystal restaurant is worth a visit for a change and for the wonderful views. Evening entertainment was the same most evenings on the terrace but we quite enjoyed watching the sun go down whilst sipping a cocktail and listening to the saxophone. The occasional flamenco or magic show was possibly more a source of amusement than professional entertainment but we enjoyed it none the less.
The hotel is in a lovely location, almost at the end of the promenade running from La Caleta to Los Cristianos. There was no noise or daytime entertainment at the hotel, which is just as we wanted it to be. Some days we just read, swam in the pool, ate at the pool bar, had drinks and ice creams brought to us and were not disturbed in our relaxation at all. Across the promenade from the hotel is a small beach to a man made harbour. My husband and son swam across that a few times. If more entertainment is wanted then it's a less than 10 minute walk to Playa el Duque where there are water sports available. We went parascending. There is a shopping centre here with clothes, jewellery etc and also some nice restaurants here for lunch. In the other direction La Caleta has a nice selection of restaurants around a pretty bay. We took a taxi to the market at Los Cristianos - abt 10 euros. A very colourful and noisy experience with much haggling for fake goods! We attempted to walk all the way back along the promenade but only managed half way in the heat! Siam Park is only 10 minutes by taxi and had everything a 15yr old could need for a day. For ease, We took excursions to Santa Cruz and to Loro Parque but would probably use public transport if we were to return as this didn't look as difficult as we'd first thought.
If I were to find any negatives at all about the hotel they would be a) the poor management of sunbed reservations by the pool. Signs say they can't be reserved but, as many previous reviewers have said, they usually have towels on from 7:30 am with their occupants not actually using them until mid afternoon in some cases. We were always able to get beds somewhere on the grounds but it would be good if the early morning "reservation and leave" was prevented. b) We weren't able to get on to the Wi-Fi in the hotel bar, although we could see some people could. It's possibly true that this could do with being more widely available but to be honest, it probably did me good to have a break from email too.
We absolutely loved our holiday and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was the second Rui Hotel we have stayed in the previous one ten years ago and little has changed, they really need to update the facilities and service to reflect on the 21 st century. Sitting at the same table every night is fine if you like dining with strangers 30 centimeters away. In this day and age people in my opinion like the opportunity to enjoy dining in a relaxed informal manner this is not possible at the Rui.

The food is excellent and a wide variety of dishes are served both for breakfast and dinner. The staff are very helpful and thoughtful in the bars and restaurants.

In the evening it is probably best to leave the hotel unless you enjoy the same band every night playing the same music, once again very dated. The hotel lounge in the evening was described by my wife as being like a residential home for older people, no atmosphere and everyone sat in lines or at small tables. This is where the Rui chain of hotels need to reflect on the clientele they are trying to attract. Like many other tripadvisor's have commented on the majority of the guests are elderly, this if fine but a wider mix of ages would promote a more acceptable atmosphere and bring the hotel into the 21st century.
If you prefer a lively bar atmosphere, with good entertainment then stay in Torviscas further along the coast its got the Benidorm feel. We prefered La Caleta a short walk along the beach with its Spanish restaurants and upmarket bars.

Room Tip: Request a full sea view room otherwise you will be looking into the next hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great hotel from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us.
I emailed in advance and asked for two sea view rooms and this is what we got (on the 4th floor).
The hotel provides pool towels free of charge and you can change these every day at Reception.
It is located in a quiet area which is great as no you have no traffic noise or noisy people walking past.

The food in the restaurant caters for everyone so I can't understand why anyone would complain about it. We were a family of 4 with a 19 year old and 12 year old and both of them could always find something they liked. You can sit where you like for breakfast, but for dinner you have to choose a sitting either 6 pm or 8 pm (we opted for the later one which I would recommend) and you are then allocated a table for the duration of your stay. Our table was fine but I can see the ones for 2 people were a bit close together. If you don't like it you can ask to be moved. The Head Waiter is serious but we thought came across as professional. The restaurant staff are very friendly and efficient. You can eat in the Kristel Restaurant as many times as you like during the holiday but have to pre book - my only reservation about this is that the menu doesn't change and it doesn't cater for kids therefore we didn't use it. People we met who had gone there said is was lovely, although the service a bit slow.

The pool beds do get reserved but the lifeguard will remove them if left too long. There are 2 pools one you can play ball in and another that is for quieter more relaxed swimming.

The beds are a bit hard, but we asked for mattress toppers and this definitely make them more comfortable. The one criticism is the hairdryer in the bathroom which is terrible. Ladies - definitely take your own hairdryer!

It was our anniversary whilst there and they sent us complimentary champagne and decorated our table for dinner. You also recieve complimentary champagne and fruit on your second day.

The main thing that stands out in this hotel are how efficient and friendly the staff are - I was very impressed with RUI and how they must train their staff. It is very clean and they can't do enough for you.

The location of the hotel is quiet but there is a lovely walk along the promenade. There are 2 small supermarkets near the hotel and also there is a Hyper Dino Express supermarket about a 10 minute walk at the back of the Sheraton/H10 hotels.

We went to Siam Park twice during the stay. It is a bit of a walk to the free bus stop so it could be advisable to get a taxi there but we didn't mind the walk. You can buy your tickets in advance and if you want a return

This is actually the best hotel we have stayed in.

We went with Thomson and I wasn't overally impressed with the reps and also the fact that we were the last hotel drop off when I thought Platinum Hotels were dropped off first.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet, relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Email hotel direct to ask for a sea view room although all rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is not 5* and the hotel management are trimming costs and service.
I travelled with Thomson (again) and cannot fault their service, but they were powerless to help my issue.
I arrived late at 23:00 on Friday night, the last stop on the coach, as the hotel was the furthest away from airport. On arrival, the hotel offered a cold buffet meal of salad, meat and bread. This was pleasant, as we had left Cardiff at 16:00. The big issue here, is that the Riu Palace treat this as your first evening meal. On the last dal of the holiday when you leave at 19:35, the hotel refuses to allow you into the restaurant as they state you have had 7 meals. After complaining to reception, they stated " Its not their fault that the flights are late arriving, its the tour operators. If you choose late flights, its because your tickets are cheaper". That's honestly what they stated. Even a call to Thomson's rally helpful helpline could not budge the Riu.
Overall the hotel was nice and kept very clean, however the beds were really uncomfortable with the aircon very poor. You will get hot in the night, so have water to hand.
The staff were very friendly, except the Head waiter or Director as he is called. He was very abrupt and trying too hard to make you believe the buffet dinner was fine dining. The restaurant service is restrictive, in that you have to have the same table every night at either 18:00 or 20:00. (you are allowed one night in the Krystal restaurant, but the menu was not very appealing). Drinks were a fair price, but the food was a bit bland and repetitive. Men must wear trousers and sleeved tops. Not a problem for me, but a ,lot of people were embarrassed when they were turned away.
The pool area is a bit busy, but the hotel sandy area was great and had lots of room. No problem with sunbeds at all. The hotel WiFi is very slow and only operates around the 6th floor bar area for about 10metres. If more than 10 people are in the area, then forget about using it.
The hotel is located at the furthest point on the promenade connecting Los Cristianos, Playa de Las Americas and the Riu hotel. if you are elderly, infirm or have small children, then its a long walk to other bars / restaurants. We didn't mind, as it kept us fit.
The evening entertainment is very basic and more suited to elderly clients. Daytime entertainment doesn't exist. I didn't mind though as I wanted a quieter holiday.
Overall a disappointment as it is not to Thomson's platinum normal standard. I think the hotel has tried to tick the boxes to obtain platinum standard, but its smoke and mirrors.
PS watch out for the cats using the Riu's sandy area as their litter tray !!!!

Room Tip: Go for floor 5, as noise travels and you will hear women's high heels on the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have to admit from the moment the travel agent mentioned Tenerife, we were somewhat put off by the idea as its known for being rather tacky and very Benidorm. But I have to say how wrong we were about the resort (Costa Adeje & surrounding areas)
From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were made to feel very welcome by the ever so polite, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel was very clean and certainly one of the nicest in the area. The bedrooms were spacious and clean, and the maids done an outstanding job in cleaning our room.
I guess the highlight to the hotel would have to be the restaurant. The food was outstanding and plentiful. Freshly prepared and constantly being rolled out. Freshness was the key.
You would have to be naive if you were to say there was no selection. There was everything for everyone, from freshly cooked fish and meat to an abundance of salad and desserts.
There was pizza to pasta, fresh fruit to ice cream. We were totally spoilt for choice.
The staff throughout were very attentive and very polite. Nothing was ever too much, so a big thank you to them.
Some people on here have complained about the birds in the outside terrace, I assure you this was never a problem.
There was a short queue to get seated outside, but that died down very quickly as turnaround was fast.
I also have to say a big thank you to Gemma (Our Thomson rep) who heavily pregnant done a fantastic job in making our holiday a pleasurable one. Her advice on restaurants was second to none. (especially Jamon Jamon in San Juan) There was no hard sell and her knowledge of the island was outstanding.
The pool area was clean and accommodating. Plenty of sun beds, although you still have the odd few whom have to claim their bed with a towel at 6am....why I don't know.
My only gripe (well not mine but my girlfriends) would be.....ladies, take your own hairdryer, as the ones in the room have hardly any power and was quicker to dry your hair on the sun on the balcony.
A short 5 min walk from the back the hotel is La Calete (not 100% of spelling) where the restaurants and bars are very cosmopolitan and the beach golden, unlike the rest of the island. A nice place to spend the day and night.

Other than that, a fantastic hotel, wonderful staff and lovely resort. Would recommend to anyone, whatever their standards.

Thank you Hotel Riu Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view, although limited. Also it might also be worth reserving your seating times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 4-6 storey building* Situated on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.