We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Adeje
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Five star treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly ; nothing was too much trouble. It's well worth paying an upgrade for a seaview room. Good location , as there is a gate which opens on to the promenade. Happy memories.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    166
    57
    10
    4
See reviews for
111
420
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

you need to go there!!!!
the Riu palace is the best holiday i have ever been, we arrived late and the staff were soo helpful and polite they took our bags up to our room , sat us down and gave us a wolcoming drink each.The next morning they gave us a welcoming basket with loads of holiday items.We went down for breakfast and it had everything you could imaginethere is a big selection of food!,the food is to die for and my mother is a vegetarian it made no diffrence they was plenty for her aswell,it was a all you can eat buffet which really filled you up.You might need someone from the family to go and grab a couple of sunbeds it depends how bissy it is.If you have little ones there is a sand park and a little swimmers pool for them.Also it is a 2 minuite walk to the beach which is lovely! you can also walk into the town which is gawjus and every sunday there is a market just out of town they sell traditional things and much more there are alot of places that you can walk you You must goo there!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: try and go to the 4\5 floor to a room in th middle exellent view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The impression I gained from brochures and the website was that the majority of rooms have a great sea view. Believe me that is not the reality, and if that is a primary reason for considering this hotel, be very careful and know exactly what type of room you are being sold.
This is not as easy as it sounds as you will see if you go on to their website or indeed send an e-mail to Reception making a request for a particular type of room.
Disappointment is the mildest expression I can say about our experience at the Riu Palace and it will influence my future holiday decisions to the extent that I will not return to this hotel, and indeed it may be some time before we choose the Riu brand again, which is a pity because I had previously held the brand and their management commitment to customer satisfaction in a high regard.
Surprisingly during our 7 night holiday we had no direct contact or communication with management which for a Riu hotel was strange.
Rightly or wrongly, the impression we gained of the management attitude / tactic at this hotel appears to be to give you their lowest and poorest grade of everything from rooms to dining room tables and then you have to contest and argue for something better. Supposedly, then you will feel grateful for the ‘upgrade’ and think the management are great. For me that doesn’t impress. I do not wish to spend the short holiday time I have feeling frustrated and angry about inadequacies in facilities and service.
The room we received on arrival reminded me of ‘Courtesy rooms’ I have had when we have had a late check-out. Although the room was on the 3rd floor, it had a patio area and not a balcony because of the steep incline of the ground at that side of the hotel. Furthermore the overhang of the building from the floor above made for a ‘cloistered’ effect and no direct sunlight got into the room. You actually had to walk to the end of the patio area to get a narrow glimpse of the sea.
I immediately went back to Reception, and the arrogant, indifferent attitude that we had perceived at check-in i.e. ‘you will be grateful for what we give you’ was very much to the fore. They did give me keys to view two other rooms on the opposite side of the hotel which in all honesty were no better, and I felt it was a bit of a ‘wild goose chase’ and indeed was only wasting our valuable holiday time.
I can assure you that if I had been able to visualise the standard of room and its position/outlook, there is no way I would have made the booking at the Riu Palace.
Two days after arrival, we were allocated a room 13 doors along the same floor which gave us a balcony and sea view, and we at least had 5 evenings to relax and enjoy the setting sun from our balcony.
Briefly:
If you are not fussed about the room you get.
If you are not fussed about the table you get in the dining room, and the variable quality of the food, although there is a wide choice available so you should find something to satisfy your appetite.
If you are not troubled by sunbeds being reserved in prime sunny spots and then left unused for 6 hours or more, and no management action taken to prevent the practice.
If you are not troubled by the quality of the sunbed mats.
If you are not troubled about handing your used and damp towels over to the Reception staff – not very pleasant or hygienic for them. (Who in management thought that was a good idea?)
Then:
You will find in the main a friendly and helpful staff, and high standards of cleanliness at the Riu Palace Tenerife.

Room Tip: 'Let the buyer beware' Make sure you know what you are being sold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from our sixth visit To the Rui Palace and in these times of cut backs and savings the Rui Palace still maintains its high standards we can only agree with all the other positive comments in the reviews so I will not repeat them all but just add a few other comments. The service is excellent, the rooms and other areas of the hotel are spotless, the pool area and gardens are immaculate the Rui management should be very proud of all their staff as they go about their duties with professionalism, enthusiasm and a big smile on their faces. An option to the excellent buffet restaurant is The Kristal restaurant that serves excellent food in what must be one of the best locations in Tenerife at no extra cost.

Most of the guests return year after year and most of the staff have also many years service it is like meeting old friends when you return that is the sign of a good hotel.
We will defiantly be returning next year

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Wise words from most of the positive reviewers so will not repeat them. We returned for a second time. Very happy with operation. The staff are very good, happy disposition & hard workers from all over Europe. Points to remember: go to Krystal restaurant at least once ,stylish food , table service, great view, nothing extra to pay. Enormous garden looking towards sea, garden gate to promenade. This is definetly the best end of town. Plenty of sun beds. 80% German clientele (which we like) remember they will be more formal & over dressed than Brits. Not for the young most guests over 60. Entertainment fairly ordinary but where is'nt it in Spain. You have to commit to 6pm or 8pm table allocated for your whole stay. (note if you can eat in an hour ok to go in at 7pm). Food is all buffet so bit of a bun fight. (nice touches with plenty of big prawns & a roast every night.) Rooms very clean , bathrooms marble, bedroom furniture old style but not worn. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Reception say if you want the best sea view send them a fax or email after you have booked with tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights from 23rd October. The staff here (bar, one or two in the restaurant) are excellent!!! The service is nearly on american levels, and should be what all other spanish hotels aspire to. The standouts were those in reception and all bar staff both inside and poolside, as well as a waiter who's name i forget in the restaurant -tamezio or something similar, who should really be working in a michelin 3 star restaurant-he was so good at his job!
Rooms are just ok,they are very clean but beds are hard, A/C does not blow cold air in to the room but consists of a fan swirling above the bed, which does not seem to bring the temperature down.For a young family, this was quite uncomfortable at times to put up with. Bathrooms are of a decent size, but are stilll fitted with dreadful shower curtains that stick to your back, and the shower head was not brilliant either.
We still had to go through the silly rigmarole of setting the alarm to go down and put towels down on favoured sunbeds at 8 o'clock every morning!(everybody does it, even though it is 'frowned upon'). The pools are freezing!!!
Food here is very good on the whole. Breakfast consists of the usual cereal, yoghurts,breads, salads, cheese, and cold meats. There is also the hot buffet where, providing you are a young attractive woman, can get eggs cooked to order to your liking, and if your not (like me- a 37 year old bloke!!!) are offered what is left under the hot lights!!!not kidding!
Dinners, were, on most nights fabulous!! offerings including roasts of wild duck, beef, pork, gammon, all cooked to succulent perfection. Salads and vegetables were of superb quality, and even desserts of mini rum baba were superb. The Krystal restaurant was good, and a nice change to the buffet restaurant for one night.
The terrace is a lovely place for a few pre-dinner drinks when it is dry (it rained for 3-4 days during our stay). Overall, a good hotel, one of the best in spain for my reckoning, without going into mega-bucks territory, but it's still a fair amount of money to save to be just 'good'. I said in a review last year, that spain needs to invest in refurbs i.e good beds, decent A/C units, and seperate shower stalls in bathrooms if it wants to retain it's regular custom. More and more of us want that bit more from our holiday, and will save longer, but will go long haul to get it, if necessary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staff at this hotel are of 5-star quality, nothing is too much effort. The hotel itself is starting to show its age, and the furnishings and rooms could do with an update. It is all very clean and spacious, the location by the sea is great and the pools are excellent. We had a larger ground floor room, which was very spacious but the furnishings are all very 90s glamour. Bathroom is similar: big and clean, but not from the current decade anymore.

I should also mention that the type of guests visiting this hotel are of the slightly older variety. In the week we were there, which was partly in a British holiday period, I would guess the average age of the guests was about 50. That was also obvious in the way the hotel is set up: dining is buffet style (with an a la carte option) and in two shifts: one from 18:30 and one from 20:00. The bar and terrace at the top floor are great, with a fantastic view and evening entertainment that takes its music repertoire from anything before the 1980s. There is absolutely nothing wrong with any of this, but if you are looking for a "hip and happening" hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Adeje - Tenerife, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#1 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Adeje
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 4-6 storey building* Situated on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.