We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isabel Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ISABEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ISABEL to your Saves list
Hotel ISABEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Moscu 2, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel A. ISABEL)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Ruislip
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Isabel Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed during October half term so hotel was completely full. Quick check in at 2am! We were shown to our bungalow (711) - fantastic position but up some steps. We overlooked the pool and were quite central but it was so quiet we all slept really well. Bungalow is massive with lovely comfortable beds. Self catering was virtually impossible however, because the two hobs didnt heat up much so just tended to have toast in morning and ate out most of the time. Glad we didnt go all inclusive as the restaurant was packed. Drinks were very expensive though in the bar so we bought drinks from the supermarket and took them down to the entertainment each evening.
Entertainment was appalling. Had 2 professional acts whilst we were there during the week and most of the time it was the animation team who mimed their way through terrible shows like "Saturday Night Fever" without any ability to sing, dance or act.
The hotel was really clean, gardens beautiful with water falls and lots of benches in quiet areas. Didnt have a problem getting a sunbed - went down about 8.30 in the morning and there were loads left.
It seemed about 20% of the hotel were english with the majority being German.
Location was great and the walk down to the beach wasnt bad at all and was definitely worth it as loads of lovely restaurants down there and shops.
All in all, this was a great hotel and we had a wonderful relaxing week's stay.

Room Tip: Go for room 711 (bungalow) which wasnt miles away from the reception or pool but was still really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel ISABEL, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate very much your review and are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel A. ISABEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    583
    175
    47
    28
See reviews for
807
386
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have stayed here five times in the past eighteen months and can honestly say we have not had any issues with the hotel.
Admittedly it is very tired and needs some updating but you will striggle to find anywhere else in the area with these facilities at the competitive price the Isabel charges,

We have a four year old and a one year old and it is ideal for us. The baby pool is never crowded and my eldest daughter has quite happily gone to the Kids Club as all the entertainment staff speak a variety of languages.

The food is served as well as can be expected for a huge hotel complex and there is always plenty of choice. In peak season you are obviously going to have to queue.

In regard to the hotel location. I think it is great as it gives you a chance to do some exercise after eating from the buffet!

You would struggle to find anything in the UK which ticked all the boxes and was as price competitive.

Room Tip: Bungalow is better is you have a baby/pram
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel ISABEL, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Family,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that you have chosen already several times for your holidays on Tenerife.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards from the Hotel A. ISABEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Isabel, we went all inclusive the food was fantastic and there was plenty to choose from from breakfast to evening meal however you need to go in the at the right time as it gets very full and the queues get bad. The apartment was so clean and was in great condition with really comfortable beds we slept well every night except for a hotel somewhere near by had very loud entertainment with carried on until the early hours of the morning. The staff where all very friendly in the restaurant the bar and the entertainment staff where also very pleasant greeting everybody throughout the day. The entertainment was quite hard to follow as they had to say things in lots of different languages and also seemed to be aimed at children and families even at 10 o'clock at night so if you where a couple or a family with older children I would be aware of this. The pool area is very spaced out and pleasant, it is very easy to get sunbeds sometimes there is no need to get up very early to them there is always plenty even at midday, the pool is warm depending on the weather. We had a wonderful stay at the Isabel and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room as the lower floor apartments are too close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We went as a family and stayed in one of the bungalows half board. Food was great and we really didn't need more than half board. Pool area nice. Only real criticism was noise in the evenings from the entertainment in the hotel next door. Clientele overwhelmingly german it seemed so entertainment and kids clubbed catered mostly for them. Good location for the beach (about 10-15 walk away). Best beach was Del Duque. Enjoyed outings to Aqualand and best of all was a trip to El Teide. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our first and only stay at the Isabel. From the outside it looks very 'posh' in fact my husbands first response when we arrived was...'where have you brought me?'. Once you get through the reception which is very clean but dark and imposing you are given a map so that you can find your room! The 'hotel' opens up into a 'village' of cottages and apartments. We were situated 'miles' away from the entertainment area however this didn't stop us from being disturbed until the early hours by 'music' and 'singers'. We went self catering so we didn't get to try the food but judging by the queues at night the food was well received. The entertainment was delivered in an open air arena which was different. We managed to catch a couple of the shows which were OK. The Beatles Tribute Band were a bit extreme as they didn't like the response from the audience to their act so the lead singer 'spat his dummy out' and threw a tantrum on the stage which I thought was hilarious. They weren't that bad really just a difficult audience I think. It was a very hot week in the high 30s all week. In respect of the Hotels location its good for those of us who enjoy self catering holidays there are lots of supermarkets so you don't have to rely on the 'in house' mini mart. The cheaper one we found was 'Dino market'. There is a market twice a week held on the car park opposite the hotel which was good for cheap and cheerful souvenirs. The pool was always crowded right up until late in the afternoon. Kids were well catered for by entertainment staff. My only real criticism is the sprawling vastness of the hotel. Not really a bad thing I suppose.

Room Tip: make sure you mention when booking if you need easy access room as the stairs are a killer. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent a week at this hotel in October and had a wonderful time. The food and the staff were excellent. We went All Inclusive and there wasn't one meal that we didn't enjoy. Loads to chose from, there was even a 'Champagne Breakfast' on the Sunday.

When we first arrived the complex was quiet but by Monday it was really busy, but I must say that the staff made everything run so smoothly we didn't have to wait for anything, either in the restaurant or at any of the bars - They were exceptional. The apartment was large and clean, in fact me and my partner had a wardrobe each. Rooms cleaned daily, as was the pool area. The only downside was the entertainment. Fantastic for families, the entertainment team were great but not so good if you were going as a couple and as it catered for different countries most announcements were in three languages. But the staff and the cleanliness of the whole complex made up for it. Would definately go again in fact hoping to go next year not just as a couple but a group of us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel ISABEL, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your kind comments.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and are looking forward to welcome you again for your next holidays on Tenerife.

Kind regards,

Hotel A. ISABEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Isabel Family Hotel, Costa Adeje from 27 September to 7 October 2011. Didn't start too well when we were given the keycard to a bungalow (we didn't know it was for a bungalow at the time) which was tucked in a corner, the grass had disappeared leaving just a patch of soil with the table and chairs on. It was quite a long trek from reception and difficult pulling two suitcases on a cobbled road in soaring heat after a very long day travelling. However since we had booked an apartment I trekked all the way back to reception to explain the situation and after a wait of approximately 10-15 minutes I was given the keycards for an apartment on the second floor. When we finally arrived at the apartment it was absolutely great. It was very, very bright, clean and exceptionally spacious with a wonderfully large balcony. So our holiday from then on was really good. We were on half board basis. Some of the food was really good but some of it wasn't to my taste. However there was a good variety so there was always something to enjoy. They did a carvery each evening which was extremely enjoyable. I was amazed at the size of the place. We only went on a sunbed twice and didn't stay to see the entertainment much so I couldn't really comment on these except to say there were lots of sunbeds and the entertainment staff were very vibrant. They did have parrots from Loro Park performing. The room was cleaned every day and they work very hard, are very pleasant and do a wonderful job. The same can be said of the restaurant staff, they are very professional and pleasant. We were very thankful for the air conditioning as some nights the temperature was 29-32 degrees at 8pm.
The only downside, and this is from a personal point of view, was that as we are both 'over 60' we found it rather a long walk to the seafront, the port and the bars. There were one or two bars close but we like to have a change. After you walked down it was a long steep walk back. We did use the train to get back to the hotel on one occasion from the port but that was a rather expensive choice at 9 euros each (it is really for a round trip but we only wanted to get back to the hotel). So all in all I would say this is a great hotel and especially suitable for families. If they could pick it up and put it down nearer to the sea we would not hesitate to go again but unfortunately I think we will have to pass and choose one nearer to the seafront and shops and bars next time. We did celebrate our 43rd Wedding Anniversary whilst we were there (as you can tell by the cards on the table of apartment).

Room Tip: Since the Isabel Family Hotel is like a little village with bungalows, villas and apartments I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel ISABEL, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Sirs,

we appreciate very much your comments.
It is nice to know that you have finally enjoyed your stay with us and are sorry to hear that you decided not to return due to the hotel location.

Kind regards,

Hotel A. ISABEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ISABEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ISABEL

Address: Avda. Moscu 2, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel A. ISABEL)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ISABEL 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel in Costa Adeje area, south of Tenerife. Hotel A. ISABEL offers Apartment, Bungalow and Villa (one and two bedroom) accommodation, in a lovely Canarian village style. Our accommodations are fully equipped with kitchen and separate bedroom area. In our Hotel in Costa Adeje you will find facilities and installations as: Mini Club, Children playground area, sport installations, gym and pool area, Restaurant, Pool and Tapas Bar. Perfect for families, couples or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel ISABEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Family Adeje
Hotel Isabel Family
Hotel ISABEL Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ISABEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.