We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Bahia Principe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bahia Principe Costa Adeje to your Saves list
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Extra Sales
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Loved Bahia Principe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

I travelled here with my husband for the first week in June from Dublin.
We stayed all inclusive and our room was on floor 7 giving us a fantastic view over the entire complex.

The room was excellent, with mini bar stocked daily and the maids cleaning the room to a very high standard. TV was a nice addition and beds were very comfortable. The AC was an added bonus.

The food I found to be of a very good standard. Breakfast had a large selection for everyone, even if you were very fussy there would be something for you. Lunch again in the buffet had a great selection of salads , fish traditional Canarian food and pastas, pizzas etc.

We only ate in the pool snack bar once and I didn’t think much of the food, I found it stale and greasy, the buffet offered a much better variety.

We ate in the Mexican (at Bahia Principe Tenerife next door), Seafood and Italian restaurants during our one week stay. I would recommend the Italian and the seafood restaurant I thought was fantastic. The Mexican was just ok- I would give it a miss if I returned. I think this is the key to the variety of the food. Eating in the buffet ever day could become quite repetitive. We booked the 3 restaurants on our second day.

There was plenty of alcohol and non alcoholic beverages available all day and up to midnight, cava, wines, spirits and beers, international spirits and beers were also available( at a small supplement if you wished)

Location wise the complex was quite remote- but we knew this before booking. I didn’t visit Las Americas but did take a taxi into the resort of Costa Adeje which is well worth a visit, with all 4 and 5* hotels, upmarket shops and a beautiful promenade.

Staff were really pleasant at all times; the pool area was kept extremely clean. Sunbeds were plentiful but umbrellas were a bit scarce.

Overall I would really recommend the Bahia Principe for a relaxing break. It was very good value for money

  • Liked — Pool areas
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,157
    1,080
    288
    105
    46
See reviews for
1,186
1,666
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We have just returned from this fantastic hotel, myself and my wife. This is our 3rd visit to this hotel in less than 18 months for these reasons, the food is excellent, there are 5 different restaurants here, mexican,asian,spanish,italian and sea food, we have done them all in our 3 visits and all very good, and aswell as these there is a fantastic buffet restaurant so you wont go hungrey. There are 2 hotels you can use, and all the facilities aswell, in the costa adeje part there are 2 pools (one heated) and a chidrens pool, loads to do around the hotel grounds which are keeped in excellent condition all the time. The beach is small and a bit out of the way but you dont need the beach when you have so much to do around the pools. The rooms are very nice, we had a king size bed,free mini bar that was stocked every day with water,beer and soft drinks, bathroom great, balcony massive, we were in room 3411 very nice with a pool view. The drinks are excellent, most of them are self-service including beer,spirts,wine and cava,my favourite was the irish coffee's, the snacks during the day are great, done to order note left out to go cold, and there are chicken nuggets and chips,jamican chicken,hamburgers,hotdogs and toasted sandwiches. As this is my 3rd time i have wrote a review about this hotel i wont go on too much but i will say if you go you wont be dissappointed, i have just booked to go back next june for 2 weeks, cant wait, try eclipse.com, good prices and you get 23kg luggages allowance cause its a priemer holiday plus if you book soon you will get a free child place, enjoy.

  • Liked — food and drink
  • Disliked — beach
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

We have just returned from a week staying at the Bahia Principe Adeje ( we are in our mid 40's and took our 2 adult kids) and overall we really quite enjoyed the experience - mostly down to the fact that we managed to get a really good deal thru XL Hols direct and when we compare the overall quality of the hotel along with the quality of the food and drink at the Bahia Principe we really can't complain.
The hotel was certainly extremely busy - very large and I would agree with other reviews that it was certainly not very easy to get around - thankfully we no longer have buggies to think about!
We checked in at a very busy time mid afternoon and therefore really wanted to get swimwear on and down to pool but were told that it would be quite sometime before a porter could get our cases to our room ( 45 mins wait already for room to be ready by that point) so ended up lugging our own cases up and down umpteen sets of stairs! Reception not very helpful in pointing out the best way to get to our rooms which were at the far end of the complex. Lifts are pretty useless.
At least the steps and steep paths helped to keep the excesses of the food and drink at bay!
Re the food - buffet restaurant was lovely- great selection however I personally would keep well clear of the pool bar snacks - soggy, fatty chips, nuggets and tasteless pizza - would recommend putting something lightweight on and going for a sit down buffet lunch in the spanish restaurant - great salads!
We have had 2 previous hols AI in Canaries and the wine / spirits have previously been disappointing but not here - rose table wine was lovely and the vodka in particular tasted just like a top brand.
Staff weren't the friendliest we have come across but no real complaints.
Would agree that there is a lack of sun beds and parasols - as a matter of principle we have always objected to the early morning dash down to reserve but after the first 3 days of struggling for beds with a parasol we succumbed!

  • Liked — all inclusive package
  • Disliked — getting around
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

This was our second - 2 week visit to this hotel this year. The first being during low season in March.

It was as a result of that great experience that we booked for Summer (possibly to hasty?).

Overall, we had another great holiday, but there were issues that as a couple, we were not happy with.

I would like to warn other couples who are going during peak season that 'IT' will get you!
There is no use in hiding because 'IT' will get you eventually, probably more than once.
'IT' may get you at breakfast, 'IT' may get you at lunchtime (dining room or snackbar 'IT' doesn't mind, 'IT' will definately get you at the pool, 'IT' may get you at dinner, 'IT' may get you during the evening entertainment and possibly even as you are sleeping.....

Are you wondering what 'IT' is?????

'IT' is the small child's cry developing into the scream!!! 'IT' may be a tired child, a spoilt child, a sick child, an overheated child, a cold child, a grumpy child, but whatever the situation, you will never be far away from 'IT'.

As you can see above, we went as a couple, and stayed at what should have been the sort of adults area around the bottom pool with the jucuzzi. This was a massive mistake as it was turned into the baby/small child pool with the inflatable whales, tyres, ducks, ships, crocodiles, rings, along with the ball throwing from every angle. You had to keep a watch out for yourselves if you went into the water to cool off.

There was nowhere at all in the complex to have a quiet meal or drink. Even the theme restrauants had buggies and small kids.

You may think my comments are overkill, no, they are not, just an honest observation.

Even during the evening entertainment, it seemed okay for parents to parade their children in front of everyone to seek their approval? Very strange.

Then there were the young teenagers tearing around the bar, accommodation corridors, and pools, with apparently no parents keeping an eye on them?

We even watched a young lad walk straight into the dining room, past everybody queing, grab a plate, put a park chop, chips and a full french stick on it, find his own table, wipe the chop on the linen napkin. He disappeared to return with a glass of coke, he then moved table and just ate the chop and then left as quickly as he arrived! It was more funny that ridiculous - parents?

In a few cases, it appeared to be a free for all, ranging from the adults down to the children, with adults taking full bottles of wine from the table bar rather than a glass, to children taking full glasses of juice out of greed and just leaving them untouched.

We did enjoy a quiet drink on our balcony on a number of evenings due to the sheer numbers of people moving around the social areas.

If there is anything to be learned from our experience, then, if you are a couple, stay away during the peak holiday periods, and if you are a family, please think of other people when your children are screaming or misbehaving.

Again, we did enjoy ourselves overall, but will only book this hotel during low season (this is always going to be difficult, due to
working in the education sector).

  • Liked — Rooms and value for money
  • Disliked — To many children, when the hotel is touted as being for adults
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

RETURNED FROM THE 'BAHIA-PRINCIPE' 21/07/07 - 10 days
We read all the reviews before booking this holiday over a year ago, and have to say have very mixed feelings on return and this hotel is not for our taste.Look around for a good deal if you decide to go and we suggest 7 days is long enough.

LONG - REVIEW - PLEASE READ AS VERY INFORMATIVE

DISABLED PEOPLE

I am a registered disabled person with a walking difficulty and found it very hard to get around the complex lots of stairs and walking from your room to the restaurants. There are lifts but they only get you so far and a lot of walking think very carefully before booking this hotel as it is a problem no proper ramps and lots of stairs, not as easy as you think it will be I did struggle to get around a lot even in a wheelchair as I witnessed.

RECEPTION.
No problems here we arrived very efficent and the 'reception-area' is magnificant, watch the balcony/stairs as not suitable for young children. The majority of staff at reception were very nice but you will always get one!!!!!!!!!!but on the whole very accommodating, but we did not arrive at peak time and no waiting for us.

ROOMS - JUNIOR SUITE OVERLOOKING SEA - EXCELLENT

When we arrived the 'air-conditioning' was not working and we did asked to be moved, but after 24 hours on the complex and seeing what was available and they did fix the problem we stayed put (wise move). The cleaners get a 5* from us and tried hard to communicate and nothing was any trouble big tip from us....well worth it beleive me.Spacious accomodation nice bathroom and wonderful view of the sea.Very clean beds and linen well inspected by myself.No problems with our accomodation after the airconditioning was fixed.Did not get our free wine and Cava though................................................................

POOL

Get up early folks for your parasols and sunbeds as after 8.am they have all gone and they need to get some new parasols and beds as they have seen better days. Excellent pool facitilities three in total we tended to use the bottom one due to a breeze from the Atlantic and our room being yards away. The pool area is very clean and there is a snack bar/toilets in the vicinity no need to go hungry.

LIFEGUARD-ISSUES. Major problem here for parents with young children there is one lifegaurd for three pools and we saw him twice in the whole time we were there. Children left to run riot jumping from the bridge and generally falling out with no adult supervison from parents we had a big fall out with a small minority of foreign people and this was reported to Reception little was done about it until it escalated. These problems could be solved by a lifegaurd on duty by the pool full time at all three pools as some nationalities seem to think that their children are 'PERFECT' hence the Perfect family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RESTAURANTS

You will love the food plenty of variety and lots of it and drink in abundance, too much for my taste but its all-inclusive so enjoy it. We got to eat at three speciality restaurants and picked the Italian twice and the Spanish once and again it was 5* cusine.In the main restaurant some of the staff are very curt and one of the Chefs decided to throw the Turkey at us all one night because he was busy in the back and when my daughter shouted of him very politely ''hello'' he mumbled in spanish and I was not impressed as my child is very young.....................maybe he was having a bad day.You will love the food and not starve at all even my children could find something to suit their pallet, even if you do get the food thrown at you.

ENTERTAINMENT

Bad very much Butlins type material but on a lower scale but after a few bottles of vino you might join in...not me. We even had Bingo one evening - gawd how basic. Mini disco very repetative and the kids clubs not enough going on in them for my children's taste, this hotel has to provide some form of entertainment as there is nothing outside the complex unless you want to spend money going into town 15/20 euros a trip.Lots of booze on tap for you to dull the pain...beware the euro eating machine for the children which are pool at 2 euros a go and Internet access at 2 euros for 20 mins they can eat through money and after trying to suffer the entertainment I can't blame them at all.

TRIPS

Do go to Aqua Land and get a 'happy-pass' as it is cheaper and you can use it twice beats sitting by that pool. Taxi rates are 15 euros each way and we paid 110 euros for the 'happy-pass' which saved us 50 euros for a family of four 2adults x 2 children.
Loro Parque was fantastic but for this one book with the Rep as it a long journey one and a half hours there and back we moonlighted with Lee from 'My Travel' nice man and the cost was 120 euros for a family of four. This was a really good day out and educational also very cool lots of shade and guess what... no swimming pools..........................................................

GENERAL ISSUES

Lots of shops in the square but you can buy items cheaper outside if you want to a bus runs from the hotel in to town but that is like Blackpool....Good hairdressers highly recommended and very friendly to deal with they like children as well what a bonus. Our opinion of this Hotel is that it was not for us but the food and accomodation are excellent make sure you know what room you want and get down early for the sunbeds especially if you need a parasoll.BEFORE 8 AM - REMEMBER

Would we return 'NOT FOR US' a few issues regarding health and safety issues around the pool with children and the way the Hotel deals with them if you have young children and are going for a relaxing time by the pool think again its eyes at he back of your head watching other peoples children and making sure your children are not getting jumped on from the bridge or spat at, as well as flying hard ball they play in the pool.

FINAL - STATEMENT - nearly finished ........................................

On a final note Dogs/Cats I can assure you that I love animals-but not in the pool first thing in a morning swimming around and doing their early morning toilet duties....cats a lot of them looking for food and one not as friendly as you think it is beware.......the black/white one. I have tried hard to give you the good and bad points but please remember this was our experience and I can only write what we have seen and would not want a repitition of this holiday at all......................................Good luck if you stay we wish you all the very best at this hotel especially by the pool.... We talked to a lot of people and they said that standards have gone down hill over the last 18 months and they had been a few times.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Pool facilities - staffing issues
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We have just returned from a 10 night stay. This was our second visit, we were there previously in September '03. The rooms and communal areas are very clean and tidy. The downside to being at the hotel at peak season was that it was very busy. We are not child unfriendly and we travelled with my 12 year old son. Our biggest gripe was that most adults seem to think it is alright to let their children run riot in the lobby bar in the evening. We found this most annoying to the point that we were taking drinks back to our room for some peace and quiet. The hotel could and should do something about it.

The buffet restaurant is excellent and is far superior to the three speciality restaurants - I wouldnt bother with the farse of trying to book in for those. The dress code is not adhered to which is annoying when you have made the effort. Again the hotel do nothing about this.

If you don't get up to reserve your sunbed at 8am you won't get one and you definitely will not get a parasol - they need more.

Having said all that we had a lovely holiday, we found the staff friendly and we would definitley return, but not in July/August.

  • Liked — Nice spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Having to reserve a sunbed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Bahia principe costa adeje was a great hotel and helped make sure that we had a great holiday.

The accommodation was attractive and always clean, the maids cleaned the room to a high standard everyday. The facillities in the room were also excellent, we thought the mini bar was very useful as it had bottles of water and fizzy drinks, all free and were always replenished everyday.

The food at the hotel was excellent. At the buffet restaurant there was a wide range of food that would suit even fussy eaters. Breakfast had all the usual food including bacon, sausages, toast etc but you could also have things such as pancakes and even caviar! The range of food in the evenings was just as good. Each night had a theme which meant you could try lots of different dishes but they also had the usual things such as pasta, chips, show cooked meats etc.

The entertainment at the hotel was the usual sort of entertainment at a family all inclusive hotel. During the day the hotel team had games and activities such as waterpolo. They did come round and ask if you want to join but we didn't find any pressure to do so. In the evening the main entertainment was at the 'pueblo principe' which was sometimes a bit cheesy but enjoyed by most people. If you didn't like this the hotel also had music every night in the bar.

The only slight downside we found was the issue of sunbeds. I know this is a problem at most hotels but by the time we left people were beginning to get up earlier and earlier. We heard some were even getting up at 5/6am! Having said that we did manage to find sunbeds everyday. If the hotel could change anything i think they could do with getting more sun parasols as sometimes we struggled to get one.

Overall i think this hotel was well worth the money and we had a great time. I think that it would be good for all people, families, couples etc.

  • Liked — Swimming pools
  • Disliked — Lack of sun parasols
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#1 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#2 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools 1 children's pool, 1 outdoor pool Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 478 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.