We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Winter Break (over Xmas)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bahia Principe Costa Adeje to your Saves list
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Winter Break (over Xmas)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went via Thomas Cook over Christmas 2013 for a weeks break as a group of 13 ranging from a 1 year old to a 74 year old.
Overall we has a great chill out week, greatly enhanced by the weather which we were told was the best they had seen in the last 10 years. I would imagine that should you not get the weather then even a week would be a bit boring as there is simply nothing close by or anything else to do as the hotel is isolated (like many have already said).
A few minor negatives which I think if you know about before you go you can deal with them and see if they are an issue for you personally.
- Slow check in, the reception staff seem to struggle as holiday makers arrive
- Some issues with seating in the restaurant (probably as we were a large group).
- Lots of people had issues with the key cards not letting you in the room without making several attempts and when technicians arrived they had no proper fix
- It is on an incline and could be hard for the less mobile
- the hotel is isolated
- the gym is useless and wants all new equipment
- the heated pool is very very busy as the other pool & Jacuzzi are freezing
- the plastic cups (vending machine style) are too small so take a couple of your own
- It wasn't made to be very Christmassy other than one xmas tree
- on several occasions it was difficult to get seats around the bar area after dinner

The above said, we had a great time, would we go again...YES, would we recommend it... Yes.
The hotel is spotless, the food excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, efficient and comfortable (though the swing saloon style doors to the toilet need to go and the old TV's need changing).
You can get a taxi for a reasonable price to Las Americas / Los Christianos.
A great feature is the serve yourself shorts, beer and cava...no waiting for bar staff

The positives outway the negatives so if you can cope with the few niggles like we did, book it and enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your great winter experience at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you and your family have enjoyed most aspects like the excellent food, the friendly staff and the comfortable rooms.

It is a pleasure for us to inform you that the televisions have been changed recently. All the rooms do have a modern flatscreen TV now.

We hope to welcome you once again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    983
    269
    99
    42
See reviews for
1,101
1,496
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here from February the 25th-4th March 2014. We went as a family with two adjoining rooms. I have stayed in many all-inclusive's in the Caribbean and I must say this resort was just as good if not better.

We arrived at the hotel at around 8pm and we were checked in by quite a miserable woman who didn't really look interested to help or give us many directions as to where the buffet, restaurants were etc. First thing we noticed was how large the actual resort was, Huge is the word. Finding our room was like a maze and was quite far from the main lobby, not great if you're travelling with disabled or elderly people.

However, everything else about the hotel was superb. The lobby and bar area was very nice with a grand staircase and unlimited sparkling wine, sangria, wines, beer, soft drinks all self service as well as the lobby bar drinks, Drinks overall were very good for an all-inclusive resort except for the wine which was more or less undrinkable. The pool area was very big with one heated pool there was also a non heated and a infinity pool which was very impressive. There was one drinks bar and one snack bar serving Salads, Pastas, Burgers, Hotdogs and chips all day.

The food overall was very good quality, the buffet did get a little samey but much much better quality than previous resorts I've stayed in and there is a wide range to suit everybody. The A la carte restaurants were fantastic we ate in the Canarian, Spanish and Italian but there is a Mexican and a Chinese in the other resort the Tenerife however I like trying local dishes so I stuck to the Adeje's A la carte's. I would highly recommend them. The waitresses and bar staff were very attentive and friendly.

The rooms were very spacious and immaculately clean with very nice bathrooms. They're quite Caribbean theme along with the majority of the hotels décor. Everything was working fine and we had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Fridges were restocked with beer, soft drinks and bottled water everyday. Couldn't complain about the rooms, everything you expect from a 4* room.

The weather was very good throughout our stay 25C in February! We did go for a day to Costa Adeje and also los Cristianos. We found these resorts very busy and very British, the restaurant there said it served tapas and it more or less was British food. The food in the hotel was much better. The resorts do have all the shops selling tourist tat and costa Adeje does have a new Centro commercial (designed for the Russians). There is a shopping street about 15 minutes walk from the hotel called playa paraiso which has supermarkets a few shops and bars but don't be expecting playa de las Americas, the hotel is pretty remote.

Overall had a very good holiday here would definitely return for another winter holiday, perfect for relaxation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing a review about your great all inclusive holiday in Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that your all-inclusive experience in our hotel was the best one you have had in Europe for the quality and variety of the food & beverage, the attentive staff and nice facilities.

It will be a pleasure for all the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Team to have you back for another winter holiday.

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very nice and beautifully hotel , built in the local style. Beautiful large garden and big swimming pools ( 3 ) .
Beautiful , quiet and spacious rooms with balconies. Daily maintenance . Wonderful beds , not too soft, not too hard. Free use of minibar .

But above all: delicious banquets ! This hotel exceeds the wildest expectations of any tourist when it comes to delicious meals with choice of various meats, fish , vegetables , ...
Also wonderful cocktails and a wide choice of aperitifs and fine coffee.
Don't forget to reserve a dinner in the 4 restaurants à la carte.
Big tip: the red wine Rioja Crianza Marques de Arienza.


Are there any downsides ?
OK : The hotel is situated in a isolated bay. You really need to rent a car or take public transport. But this you know in advance .
OK : the hotel is situated by the sea, but there’s no beach and no access to the sea . But this also you know in advance .

Are there really no downsides ? At all ?. Yes:
A tip for the manager: WIFI and also the use of the safe should be free.
A tip for the chef : by Belgian standards , the desserts are a bit disappointing. Belgians are used to chocolate mousse which a richer taste (use more chocolate) and also pastry with a richer taste. Try to create cakes or pastry with lesser ingredients, but a clearer taste. At the other hand, the wide choice of delicious fresh fruits offer an alternative, which after a rich dinner is a better choice for your health.
Last but not least. Customers should be warned: you’ll enter this hotel with a six-pack, but due to the chef and his kitchen, you’ll leave the hotel at the end of your holiday with 2 to 3 extra kilos overweight ;-)

A last word for the staff. We were impressed by the efficiency and hospitality of the service. Especially in the restaurants. A big salute to all the people over there!

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea-view on a higher level (4, 5 or 6, 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Roger,

Thank you very much for the report about your amazing holiday in the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us to know that you had a magnificent stay with a first class service, delicious food and wonderful beds.

We have taken note on your comments to improve and would like to inform you that they have been passed to the General Manager and the Chef for consideration.

We hope to have you back in very soon.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

NOT SUITABLE if you have any mobility problems as the hotels accomodation is in the form of seven blocks that are staggered down a hill. The hotel was in the middle of nowhere (not Adeje), although there was a daily free bus to Chistianos. Wi-Fi was not free, costing 25 Euro per week. Booking for free bus or restaurants was a pain as the resivation desk (in main lobby) only opened during 1030-1300 and 1400-1600 as these times suited the hotel, not its users (who were at a pool and not suitable dressed for the 300 yard up hill walk and into the main lobby). The main pool is very noisy with continuous piped music interrupted by announcements over speaker system in four languages, and lots of screaming children. Large lower Infinity pool looks goorgeous and lovely to swim in, plus nice and quiet for relaxation. Restaurants were good (especially Spanish and Canaries), and staff very friendly. Evening entertainment is held outside, so five months of the year you'll need extra layers to keep warm, theefore it lacks any atmosphere.

Room Tip: We only used balcony after 1800; sun on other side of hotel on cheaper room side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Norman,

Thank you for your time in writing about your holiday in Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the infinity pool, the themed restaurants and the friendly staff in our hotel.

We also apologise if the music at the main swimming-pool or the opening times of the restaurant reservation desk were not suitable for you. We would like to inform that the hotel has recently launched a new Apps where guests can easily book the themed restaurants at any time without moving from their sunbeds.

We hope you will give us one more opportunity to welcome you at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are revisiting the Bahia in June for the 20th time! We just love everything about it. We think of many of the staff as friends now. Has been open for 10 years and some refurbishment is required but is also already in progress in various areas. Is remote but that's what we want. That said, there are shops, doctor etc on site for most of your needs. For everything else the hotel runs a free bus into Las Americas at certain times and a reasonably priced one at other times. Quality of food and service has never changed since our first visit. Friends are there now and we can't wait to go back. Already booked for September too.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Robert and Linda,

Thank you for sharing your brilliant time at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

It is a great honour to hear that you have come so many times to the hotel and that you have noticed that the standards of service are maintained. Regular guest like you add a star to this hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next September.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Arrived on Tuesday 4 March for a weeks holiday, was really impressed with the pick up, arrival and then the room, check in was really fast at Reception, room was immaculatly clean, quick change and off down to the pool, take your pick. Place was really nice, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they are dealing with hundreds of guests so a smile back and a thank you go along way. The food was excellent with a really huge choice, you couldnt go wrong for the amount of choices, breakfast, lunch and evening meal were always good quality. Patio area and lobby bar area were always clean and tidy, the choices of drinks were great and there was plenty of it, the pool areas are clean and tidy, plenty of sun beds to go round and plenty of sunshine too. We took the complimentary bus to Playa Las Americas which is available at 12:00 daily, returning at 18:00, we walked around the grounds which we always found clean and tidy, we were content with the Hotel, the grounds and the room.
You can put your name down near reception for the A la carte restuarants of which you can have three evenings, we only used the two both times Italian, so value for money, layout, cleanliness and location we couldnt fault it. Remember your on holiday with other nationalities, so take your time and enjoy the place, dont rush relax and enjoy it.
We were so impressed with the place that we will be returning again soon.
Your room has an electronic pass card that you place in an holder when you open the room door, this then switches on the electicity to the room, I also think it acts as security as I forgot to put it in the holder one day and 10 minutes later security were at the door.
The bathroom was nice, the cleaner was nice, everything about the place took away and stress.
I would recommend this place, if you look on Google Earth you will get a good idea of how far it is from Costa Adeje, we did hear that some people are dissapointed with how far away it is as they would have liked to walk into town.
We were pleased that it was so quite, thats what we wanted and thats what we got.
So Bahia Principe, hopefully I will see you again soon.
You get my vote.

Room Tip: They all look good and pool facing which is east
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing this review and pictures about your fantastic holiday in Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

We are delighted to read that you keep so lovely memories of your holidays among us.

We have shared your kind words about the friendliness and helpfulness of all our Staff. They will surely encourage them to keep on working to achieve the best satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from the bahia adeje hotel in tenerife,hotel beautiful,very clean.the downside is the location.nothing to do do outside the hotel which led to a very boring stay.food bland wine terrible unless you like vinegar like wine.staff very pleasant.rooms adequate.would not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback of your recent holidays to Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments on the clean facilities, the pleasant staff and adequate rooms.

We are sorry if the hotel location or the all-inclusive wine were not of your taste. We would like to inform that we also have a wide list of branded wines at very reasonable prices.

We apologize for the inconveniences and send you our best regards from Tenerife.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#2 Best Value Hotel in Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools 1 children's pool, 1 outdoor pool Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 478 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.