We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bahia Principe Costa Adeje to your Saves list
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Extra Sales
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just had a lovely week at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje with my wife and 6yo daughter. Beautifully designed hotel, immaculately maintained, with friendly, willing staff, and a lovely holiday vibe, especially from the entertainment team in and around the pools. (Special mention to the Miniclub too, which our daughter absolutely loved, and who worked so hard to keep the kids entertained with Easter egg hunts, foam sword fights in the pool, etc etc.) Food in the main restaurant, as with most all inclusives, has its highs and not-so-highs, but I'd say, overall, was very good, with a wide selection of dishes.

There were only a couple of small things that stopped it from being a 5-star holiday.

1. The hotel can be noisy at night depending on who you're unlucky enough to be below or beside: doors clunking shut, chairs and furniture scraping across tiles, long corridors where foghorn-mouthed drunks struggle to find their rooms (mostly, it has to be said, fellow English speakers - although, thankfully, the hotel's notable for its general lack of lobster-coloured 'Brits Abroad'). It didn't bother us too much, but a couple of nights my wife and I were kept awake by the noise.

And 2. This is admittedly pretty specific to us and a few others, but if you or especially your kids have any sort of nut allergy BE CAREFUL: food isn't labelled at all, and the staff seem to be pretty unaware of how serious this can be. One night, my daughter accidentally thought she was having ham with olives when she was having ham with pistachios - and her face puffed up immediately. If it was cashew or brazil nuts, we would have really been in trouble. This is also true in the kids club too: they offered her chocolate, she asked if it had nuts in it, they told her no, and it actually had a hazelnut centre. Again, hazelnuts aren't one of her problem nuts, but it might be someone else's.

Overall, though, we had a fantastic week, and we'd thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time in writing about your fantastic holiday in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje hotel.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our beautiful and well maintained facilities and our helpful staff.

We are also very glad to know that your daughter had a much fun in the Miniclub at the activity of Easter egg hunts.

We have also taken note of your comments on the food labelling and have passed them to the Food & Beverage Manager in order to take the corrective measures.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,152
    1,078
    288
    105
    46
See reviews for
1,184
1,662
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this resort for our honeymoon, 14 Feb and had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and spoke fluent English. We were made to feel like King and Queen and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in our sea-view suite with jacuzzi bath when not sunbathing next to the infinity pool. The pools aren't heated, only the shallower children's/activity pool is, but I found it a welcome relief from the heat and enjoyed the beautiful view of the coast as I swam, you soon got used to it.

The gardeners at this resort should be commended, I found the garden areas very charming and creative, with some exquisite examples of the local plant varieties - they are very talented.

There was never a time that you were left wanting, the resort has both bars and self-service, which my husband was very chuffed with - no long drinks queues in the heat. I really enjoyed the hot chocolate and non-alcoholic cocktail and he enjoyed beer on tap, literally!

The restaurants were good, the buffet always had a lot of choice and we soon found our favourites. We enjoyed seeing the smiley grill chef, who was always in a good mood, serving us grilled alternatives to the many meats in sauces on offer - good for those who would like to watch their calories!
The A-La-Carte restaurants offer a buffet entree and a choice of 3-5 options for main course. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant in the sister resort, the Canarian restaurant and the Italian restaurant, but ate most days at the buffet restaurant as we loved sitting outside with lit candles, watching the band that began at about 8pm. It was very romantic.

The room was extremely spacious, I was pleased there was a ceiling fan as well as air-conditioning, and the mini bar was stocked daily and was also included. The maid service was excellent also, I am a stickler for cleanliness and they always did a good job. The balcony was large and had a table and chairs to enjoy the early evenings before dinner. The bath had jacuzzi jets and a powerful shower above it, there were also twin sinks and the decor was all finished beautifully.

Being as it is on the cliff-side, this resort had beautiful areas to walk to and watch the waves and we enjoyed walking as a break to the sunbathing, getting some beautiful photos of the stunning scenery.

There was also a free and a paid bus service to the nearby Playa de las Americas for a cheap day out and taxis were always available outside the front of the reception area which was very handy.

There was also evening entertainment, although I have to admit that we did not watch many of them, the ones that we did see were quite entertaining.

We would love to go back and highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about your recent honeymoon in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

We are happy to know that our hotel has met your expectations and that you keep such a dream like souvenir of your honeymoon holidays in the hotel.

We hope to welcome you once again.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We wanted a week’s winter sun away from it all and that is what we got from this hotel.

On check-in at the hotel we found reception to be very efficient, they check you in quickly but do ask you to come back later when they are quieter to sort out safe keys (about 18 euros for a week plus a 10 euro deposit) and towels (10 euro deposit per towel). They also arranged for our bags to be delivered to our room.

Our room was in block 6 near to the pools rather than the main hotel and was quiet which suited us. We were located on the 3rd floor and had a pool and sea view from the balcony. The room was big and very clean, yes the décor was slightly dates but it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The only slight niggle was that our air con didn’t seem to work and the room became quite warm event with the fan on, which was fine that time of year but would have been unbearable in the summer. The mini bar with water and soft drinks which was replenished daily was a nice touch in the room. The cleaning staff were all very friendly and our room was left immaculate every day.

The whole hotel is extremely clean and tidy and the staff work very hard to keep it to a high standard. We spent most of our time by the infinity pool which is the quieter of the two pools but isn’t heated but is near the main pool bar and has nice sea views. The heated pool is where the main activities take place and the families seemed to be around there so we preferred the quieter pool even through it was quite chilly for a swim!

The location of the hotel is a way from Costa Adeje as it describes in the brochure but if you use the steep steps and track just outside block 7 you can walk into the nearest resort in 15 minutes where there is a supermarket, a few bars and a cash point if you want. The hotel has a bus that does to Las Americas twice a day, one is a paid service at 5 euros each and the other going at 12noon and coming back at 6pm is a free service which you book at reception. There are also taxis outside the hotels reception and we caught one out to the main shopping area in Las Americas and it cost 16 euros. It was nice for a change of scenery for a few hours just to go out of the hotel and have a wander round somewhere else.

The food at the hotel is good. It is nice to have the option to use the A la carte’s, we used three of them during our weeks stay which we booked on our first day. The reservations desk gets busy when it first opens at 10.30 but we went back at 12noon and where seated straight away and found booking which ones we wanted and when we wanted no trouble. We ate at the Mexican which is at the sister hotel and had the best meal of the holiday there so I would highly recommend it. The Spanish and Canarian were also nice just with slightly less variety. The service in all the restaurants including the buffets we found to be excellent all holiday. We were always seated quickly and served quickly and topped up with drinks. The food in the main buffet was good all holiday, plenty of variety and topped up often so it was hot. There was also a counter where the chefs cooked the fresh meat and fish of the day. We often ate at the Italian for breakfast as it was quieter with a nice area outside for breakfast and ate lunch mainly in the Spanish again it was quieter but still with plenty of variety. We used the pool bar and found the food to be fine, just the usual burgers, chips etc.

All the drinks at the bars are self-service apart from during dinner which is great. It’s much quicker than having to queue at a bar when you can just go up and pour a glass of wine or a beer. There was a great variety of drinks including two cocktails of the day. During the evening there was entertainment in the main square but we never went to this we stayed in the seated area next to the buffet restaurant which normally had a singing act on which was fine. Near the main square there is also a paid sports bar; drinks aren’t a bad price, about 3 euros for a beer. They seem to show all the main football and sporting events which is handy if you are interested.

All in all I think this is a very good hotel, nearly all the staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful which was a real bonus. The food and drink are of a high quality and the hotel and its grounds are spotlessly clean. We would definitely go back if we were after a week’s get away.

My only complaint about the holiday would be Thomas Cook. We didn’t get the seats on the way out or back that we had paid for and on the way out there was no film on the plane and it was incredibly hot. Check-in at Tenerife airport was joke and took over and hour and half and there wasn’t a Thomas Cook rep to be found especially when quite a few people experienced problems checking in, the lady at the desk couldn’t find us on the flight to start with!

Room Tip: We liked being closer to the pool than the main hotel block as it was quieter so blocks 5, 6 or 7 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your great experience in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje with all Tripadvisor users.

We appreciate your detailed description of the hotel facilities and service, as we think it can be useful for many future guests.

It would be a pleasure to see you again in Bahía Príncipe.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

had a lovely stay at this hotel the staff very friendly and helpful, if you want to just stay in the hotel and not go any where else you will not be disappointed, plenty to do plenty to eat and drink. if you have a mobility problem you could feel restricted at night as the hotel is on a big hill and the local bus stop is at the top, no problem during the day as the hotel put on a free bus once a day. the entertainment at night was very good all round a lovely holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about your lovely holiday in Bahía Príncipe
Costa Adeje.

We appreciate your positive comments on the friendly staff, the quality and variety of food & beverage and the night entertainment.

Hoping you will return very soon,
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

be going here for a few years, and have nothing but praise generally for the hotel, particurlarly with cleanliness - which makes it odd that my main concern is with that subject - but revolving around the pool bar only.
the toilets next to the pool bar very quickly runs out of hand towels, and they are not replaced during the day. The air dryers have some for of mystical operation system, and work when they feel like. They food in the pool bar area is not always covered and you can see birds feeding off the cheese and ham.
Not a worry to me as i don't eat there - but an observation.
The other area of irritation is the check in. A popular hotel with many checking in - can take over an hour. I believe the root cause is Thomas Cook saving costs by landing a few flights together so they can fill coaches better, and passing the problem on to the hotel, but is a problem that wants resolving.
Godd comments? see my previous comments re the hotel - my opinion generally has not changed - apart from what i say above - all good!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time in writing about Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje Hotel and for sharing with us your concerns.

We have already discussed the issues at the pool bar and toilets with the head of the Housekeeping and Food & Beverage departments in order to take the corrective measures.

As regards the check-in, the waiting time is obviously longer with large groups, as there is a minimum time we have to spend at registering each guest. However, we are already working to find a way of making a check in express.

Hoping to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I toyed between a 4 and a 5, and I only went for a 4 cause there is no obvious beach (but then is Tenerife renowned for its beaches anyway?).

What a great hotel? The weather was fab and the all inclusive worked so well - we went as two families with children. When the children wanted a drink, they could go and get a juice or a lemonade, no worries about cost. If we wanted a soft drink or a beer or a sangria then no problem and no nasty bill on check out. I shall only travel all inclusive again!!!

The food was yummy. With most hotels I get fed up of the food after a week, and although there is a bit of a samey element, I think there's enough choice. I loved the food! I'm missing it!!

The pool was lovely and warm and ideal for my children (3 and 6) as it is quite shallow for a large area so they spent ages in the pool. There were quieter pools where I imagine I would go for a quieter sun bathe without children.

The entertainment team were great. The kids club was the best of any I've seen. We have stayed in mark Warner a few times and have had to bribe kids to go but half they time they refused. This holiday they were asking when they could go. I think in part thanks to Gabriel who was amazing with the children, they had lots of fun. Top marks to Klaus too. The mini disco at night was very popular with our children and there was stuff to do and atmosphere for the reluctant dancer among them.

A must with kids (or even without) is the Siam park. Some of the rides are scary for brave adults (tower of power) but lovely for children. So clean. Very well organised. Amazing rides, more original than your average water park. Lovely children zones. Really well landscaped.

If we had more time we would have gone to the Loro Park but its over an hour away and couldn't justify it for a week, but have heard great things about it.

So if like me you worry about not liking a hotel, then I'm sure you will like this one. It's very pleasant and we had a great time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje and for giving us your feedback, which we really appreciate.

It is a pleasure to know that all members of your family had a great great time that you liked our all-inclusive system and your children loved the mini club. We will pass your kind words to Gabriel and Klaus who will surely celebrate it.

We would like to see you again in Bahía Príncipe.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

first time going all inclusive did not regret it two friends recommended the bahia excellent food and drink four themed restaurants rooms cleaned every day , staff very friendly what more could you ask for in a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time in writing about Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

It is great for all the Bahía Príncipe Team to hear that the expectations of our guests have been met because of the high standards of service.

Hoping to see you again.
Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Urbanizacion Playa Paraiso, Parcela 18 | Entrada Por Crtra "El Puertito", 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#2 Family Hotel in Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools 1 children's pool, 1 outdoor pool Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 478 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.