We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check your mattress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin Tropical

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jardin Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tropical
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Adeje
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“check your mattress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

nice place room had most disgusting mattress with urine stain took pictures but as I was on my way home when I discovered this at last minute no compensating from jet2 whom was the booking agent didn't give a damn

Room Tip: dark rooms with no light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    234
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
122
332
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is described as being built in a Moorish style. It was, more or less; I was told it was designed by a leading Spanish architect. I imagine he was trained in Barcelona by a student of Gaudi's. Staying there was an experience: I have never stayed in a movie set before, I expected Douglas Fairbanks to leap through one of the doorways or through a window at any time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel, like a tropical garden, with super, smiling staff who really want to please. Excellent layout and spacious feel. Food looks good, tastes delicious and the choice is almost overwhelming.
The views from the better rooms with large balconies, chaises longues, table and chairs are to die for, and get booked well in advance.
We had not been to Tenerife before, but have travelled widely for many years, and were not sure if we would like it. The short flight from our local airport (Bournemouth), no time change, warm sunny weather in January, away from the rain at home, and a great hotel ticked all the boxes. We need not have worried, as every aspect of our 10 day holiday was beyond expectaions. Chefi Diaz Simon, the outstanding Guest relations manager, is a huge asset to this fine hotel. They cannot do enough for you. We were extremely well looked after.We shall return, often!
Thank you Chefi, and team, we loved our time with you. Guy & Monique

Room Tip: Higher floors with sea views are the best; ask for one with afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Situated on the boulevard (on both sides you can walk around eight kilometers) there are four restaurants, swimming pools, bars, wellness, etc. Golf tee times can be booked tough the hotel as well. We liked iy very much!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We arrived on 3rd Jan for a 5 night stay, we stayed here in April 13 & thought this is the hotel for us from now on!! The room we were allocated was No 628, it faced the hotel car park, it never got any sunshine which made it very dark, as the lighting in the room is very minimal & not very bright, I couldn't even read the daily paper, I had to go out to the balcony. The room & the balcony was very small, I'm comparing to our last room No 558. The blue voile was very dirty with lots of stains on it!! We were left bath sheets one day, I noticed a large yellowish stain on one, I called reception & housekeeping repeatedly for it to be replaced - no one answered !! The pool areas, restaurant & staff are all excellent, the communal areas are kept clean but we were disappointed with the room. The breakfast was lovely & plentiful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just had a week at this hotel with my wife on a half board basis.
We were very impressed on arrival, the reception consists of several personal desks where you are attended to and served a glass of sparkling wine. The public areas are beautiful and clean.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel on the ground floor facing the sea, there was no view however as the patio doors opened onto a grassed area that bordered a public footpath that cut through the grounds and it rose up slightly obstructing the view. The path was busy most of the time and passers by had a view straight into our room. We then noticed some holes in the curtain and the TV table was filthy. The furniture was chipped and tired and the décor bright yellow and rather garish. We went back to reception and complained and were offered an alternative room. This one was more modern, but just had a window rather than a balcony or patio, so we decided to stick with out original room. The receptionist promised it would be cleaned.
The next day some new people moved in nextdoor and when they spoke we could hear every word they said, it was as if they were in the same room as us and no doubt they could hear us too. The problem was caused by an interconnecting door between the two rooms. Our room had a microwave which we thought unusual considering this was not a self catering hotel, it also had an empty fridge which was useful, but again rather unusual. There was also a child's bouncy type toy fixed in the garden at the rear. It was then we realised that this was quite obviously a family room with adjoining kids accommodation or vice versa. As an added annoyance the TV didn't work and although the cleaners returned the room was still not clean.
I went back to reception and complained again, this time about the fact we were in a family room, I got a fairly sympathetic hearing, but a few annoying comments too. They were surprised the room was still not clean, I offered to show them the dirt, but they declined. I was also told some guests without children like a microwave and they thought we would have liked this larger style of room. I felt like I was being treated like an idiot and got a bit annoyed. They promised to sort things out (despite earlier telling me the hotel was full).
By that evening I had not heard from them, so I went back again and was told to return in the morning, which we did and were given another room key. We checked out the room and found it much better, a proper smaller adults room, no interconnecting door to nextdoor, no microwave, a fridge full of drinks, modern decor and a TV that worked. The patio again bordered a public path, but it was nowhere near as busy as the other one as it was a side path not one on the promenade.
So, after the first couple of slightly disappointing days we settled into our holiday and enjoyed the hotel after that.
The pool, sunbathing areas and gardens are first class and most of the staff are excellent. The design of the hotel is very interesting and clever, all in all a very pleasant venue. The food is quite good, plenty of choice and as in the case in all the public areas the restaurant is clean and bright. The drinks are a little expensive, so we visited nearby bars most nights where it was a lot cheaper. This was our first visit to Tenerife and to be honest we found the area a bit tacky and lacking any originality, all Karaoke and pub singers, but the hotel was like a small island of class and tranquillity and if I was returning to the area I would consider this hotel again despite the initial room problems.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms need refurbishing and some rooms have interconnecting doors, great if you have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have just returned from a quick weeks break to this hotel. Staff were all excellent, the design of the hotel is most unusual and sits nicely on the site, but in some places a little too clever as the maintenance on some aspects was almost impossible to reach. (mostly peeling paint) but this did not detract from the overall ambiance. The planting was very abundant and well maintained. The sitting out space was also varied, from a subterranean passage under the road which takes you to a sea water pool overlooking the coast, to the main pool, and also plenty of tables and chairs nearer to the hotel if you are looking for a quiet spot.

The breakfast was faultless, with everything available from bucks fizz to natural yoghurt.

We saw two excellent shows in the evening, and there is also exercise classes if you are that way inclined. Our first trip to Tenerife and I think we did well.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite - inland facing - no complaints, but not a sunny situation if you like that so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jardin Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tropical

Address: Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tropical Hotel
Jardin Tropical Adeje
Hotel Jardin Tropical Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.