We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in Tenerife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin Tropical

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jardin Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tropical
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Adeje
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First stay in Tenerife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As both of us had been unwell and fed up with the winter blues,we were delighted with our treatment at this hotel all arranged for us through our travel agent and Classic Holidays.The flights with Jet 2 although long, 4 hours, were comfortable with adequate leg room.Transferes to and from airport were short and without hassle.The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke numerous languages,the pool facilities are beautifully laid out through the tropical gardens.The food was buffet style and there was a great variety at all meals.We came away feeling rested and refreshed.

Room Tip: Great views of the sea from a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    234
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
122
332
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our party of 4 made the hotel our base for playing golf on 5 of the local courses all within a 15k radius ( all arrange by the hotel). The hotel has a separate golf lounge which golfers and their guests can use and also a booking desk for golf courses. The hotel is great and must have the most helpful staff in Tenerife. We had a lovely room with a really beautiful sea-view balcony and large bathroom. There were plenty of seats by the pool and in the separate beach club.The breakfasts were excellent with wonderful freshly made pancakes each day and a very large selection of fruit. Dinner on the half board was also good and the buffet restaurant was very comfortable. The hotel has a really good atmosphere and it's easy to have a walk to the marina or farther afield to Playa de Las Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As you pass the vulgar white Maybach and Mercedes Mclaren parked ostentatiously at the front of the hotel, you wonder if you have arrived at a sleezy Vegas casino, not a soothing Canary Isles idyll.

For a first visit here for over ten years I can thankfully say it retains its tranquility and beauty. There has been a lot of refurbishment, but the delightful pool, waterfall and facilities remain constant. Pricey, yes.But you get what you pay for.

The breakfasts were always superb. Much written about below, so I'll just say put the toast on the machine before you order your freshly-cooked omelette or pancake.It can take a while. Grab a banana or two to nibble on poolside later.

I confess to joining the ranks of sunbed grabbing at 9am. That is when the guys open up for (free) towel distribution, cushions and parasols. If you don't want lunch from the lovely outdoor bar/cafe, nip down to the shop (left out of gate150 metres where they also sell papers) for a beer (1 euro) and pickup an American sandwich at the Ten O'Clock club.

The sumptuous evening buffet at 24 euros is worth it if you are hungry or tired. It's a short walk to some decent restaurants (Wolfi for a 23 euro paella for 2- left 200 metres, or others in Port Colon -right 250 metres) where they serve some surprisingly good food.

The clientele's average age must be 55 or so. Not many kids about and a good mix of nationalities. One fully-grown British man let the side down by wearing his football team's replica shirt at breakfast. Oh well - guess Reading FC need the exposure.

Water-based attractions from Port Colon are recommended: jet ski for 30 mins for 2 people at 60 euro was a blast. We also took a 3 hour dolphin cruise on a yacht.

One or two downsides. Although I emailed Joaquin on reception to ask specifically if wifi is available in the rooms - it isn't: only in reception or, if you are lucky to have a room near reception, in one of those.

This remains a jewel in the Tenerife crown. An real oasis. Hope it's not another ten years.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room.743 has a great view and can pickup reception's wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJardinTropical, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel. I would like to Inform you that wifi is available in reception, lounge bar, heated pool and Cucuruchos snackbar, in a very near future there will be wife all over the hotel. Thank you for your trust in us and hope to see you soon back in our Hotel, please feel free to contact me personally for your next stay. Chefi Díaz Simón - Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Short winter holiday options from the UK are limited. We decided to take a four day family break to Tenerife organised by Flight Centre. At first there were complications since the operator had not booked us twin rooms, but the staff at the hotel soon sorted this out. The service was great throughout our stay.

The hotel has a good sized pool, nice spa and fantastic restaurant (Las Rocas). The buffet breakfast is ideal. I have previously stayed at the Jardin de Nivaria Hotel in Tenerife and recommend Jardin Tropical over the former.

The only problem with the hotel is its location. There is nothing to do or to see outside the hotel walls but that has more to do with the area than the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJardinTropical, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and very happy to read that you liked your stay in our Hotel. We hope you will visit us again and please feel free to contact me for your next stay. Kind regards, Chefi Díaz Simón - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been to Jardin Tropical half a dozen times over the last four years for both winter and summer holidays, so it's pretty obvious how we feel about it. The hotel itself is a great piece of architecture, with a Moorish feel, even though it's a modern building. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, some with lovely views over the pool, gardens and sea. The indoor public areas are open, comfortable, quiet and relaxing. There is good WiFi in one of the lounge / bar areas and the adjacent terrace. The gardens are lovely with a well designed pool and pool area.

All of the staff are courteous and unfailingly helpful, whichever bit of the hotel they work in, and it would be unfair to single a specific group out. All good.

The food in the buffet restaurant is simply great. Breakfasts and dinners include a huge choice, and its great to watch your choices being cooked in front of you if that's what you want. Lunch in the pool cafe is nice and relaxed, the salad buffet is a favourite, but there's a good menu if you prefer something else.

After dinner it's very pleasant to sit outside in the bar / lounge area. The cocktails are rather good.

Overall this is a place we will keep returning to. It's just right for a totally relaxing break.

Room Tip: It's probably worth going for a room with view over the pool/garden area and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJardinTropical, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you one more time for your trust and confidence in the team that makes Jardin Tropical. We try to improve every day and never give up to learn and that makes that guests like you have confidence in our Hotel for more then 25 years now. Please feel free to contact me personally for your next stay in the hotel. Kind regards, Chefi Díaz Simón - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family had a great time staying 7 nts (9th/16th feb) b&b,we found everything to our satisfaction. All the staff were very helpful from Chefi the guest liason manager to the breakfast and pool employees.
The main pool is freshwater and a nice leisurely swim can cool you off from the glorius wall to wall sunshine.
After a hard days sunbathing it was nice to have an early evening drink in the white lounge sun chairs outside the main bar area.
We ate in the mimosas restaurant on one evening,buffet self service from great starter selection to 5 or 6 different main choice meals and a cake selection to die for !
we also ate at Las rocas a littlepricey but good al la carte food.
we felt total relaxed and chilled following this holiday and didnt wish to leave after 7 superb days already checking our diaries so we can re-book for the autumn months.
Siam water park a must visit great water slides.
thank-you chefi for all your help and advice.

Room Tip: room 829 or sea view any sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJardinTropical, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear family Bennett,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel and staff. It has been a pleasure meeting you. We hope to see your whole family back in October or November and please feel free to contact me personally. Sunny regards from Tenerife. Chefi Diaz Simón - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at The Jardin Tropical on 20th January after booking via Telegraph hand picked who were acting as agents for Classic Collection holidays.
We like a nice room when we holiday so the offer of a Junior suite with a 45% discount sounded ideal.
We were given keys to our room some 2 hours following our arrival which irritated and were further disappointed to find ourselves in a room purporting to be a suite but which didn't fit into any definition I have ever seen of a suite ,basically a table and two chairs were all that distinguished it from the most basic room I have stayed in since my student days.
The balcony was facing north onto a busy road and at no time in the day did it see any sun making it completely unfit for our purposes that is to sit with a morning coffee or an evening gin and tonic in the sunshine.
We were offered a room on the 9th floor with the same outlook this may have been quieter but would have involved a climb of five floors from pool level as one lift was out of order for the duration of our stay .We were given one of the worst rooms in the hotel 460 when all the advertising for the holiday suggested otherwise .
I am about to contact the ASA about this it shouldn't be allowed and I see from other reviews I am not the first to be dealt with in this manner.Terry Harding

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJardinTropical, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Hardy,

Thank you for your comments. Respecting your opinion just about to inform the readers that our junior suites can be all over the hotel and we have 4 lifts more to reach the topfloors of the hotel. Feel free to contact me personally.
Kind regards. Chefi Díaz Simón - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jardin Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tropical

Address: Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tropical Hotel
Jardin Tropical Adeje
Hotel Jardin Tropical Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.