We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin Tropical

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jardin Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tropical
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Adeje
Iasi, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dream vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was very satisfied with my stay at Jardin Tropical. We received an upgrade - so we stayed in a Junior Suite room instead of a regular room. The room was so big, the bed was fantastic! And the bathroom...a dream come true. I would recommend this room for a couple in their honeymoon. The view was of the street but in the right we could see the mountains and in the left, a little bit of the ocean.
We didn't have to wait too long at the reception, we received the room immediately. We were offered a glass of champagne or orange juice at the arrival. The room was cleaned every day.
We were satisfied with the food also - we had breakfast and dinner at Jardin Tropical. I wasn't too happy that we had to pay for the drinks at dinner - i thought that if I paid for the demipension, the drinks will be included. So we had to pay 2.6 euro for one bottle of water (0.5 L) or 5 euro for a glass of orange juice. But I understood that this is the case everywhere (demipension/pension)...you have to pay the drinks for the lunch + dinner.
The staff was very friendly. I would have liked that the staff at the restaurant (Mimosa) spoke better English - sometimes they didn't understand when we asked for the check or to bring us some water.
The pools looked nice, but we prefered to go to the beach (El Bobo), in front of the casino. The water was warm, the black sand was so soft...
The only problems we had were with the key card - sometimes it didn't work and we had to go to the reception to change it or to make some changes. Once we had a problem with the door but in 20 minutes the lock was changed and we could enter in the room. All problems were very quickly resolved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    234
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
121
332
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

AGAIN!!!! We return to this magical property!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ...... It's more gorgeous than last time .... Is this possible???

We arrive in the lobby, which has been totally renovated! Without even stepping out the taxi the gorgeous staff are there to great us, help with luggage and look after our 2 small children (4 and 6). Waiting is a lovely glass of chilled champagne and the fabulous guest relations manager to welcome us to the Island.

This hotel is ideally situated! The views are breathtaking! It caters for everyone! Just wow and the food delicious, I would definetely recommend taking half board, as the restaurants are gorgeous! Julio will look after you at "Il Rocas" where you can relax and enjoy beautiful views and amazing ambiance by the sea!! Also not to miss a photo with the psalm trees at sundown, fabulous! "Il Patio" the a la carte also wow and the Steak is mouth watering! Cooked to perfection in front of you just fabulous!

Nothing is too much trouble at all, the main restaurant wonderful and also there is the sushi! There is a kids club although we never use it! There are beautiful walks and I'd for sure recommend a walk to the beautiful Adeje beach. You are surrounded by beaches to visit, shops and cafes, restaurants close by! The rooms are beautiful cleaned to perfection and with air con, really email me any questions! We hoped we'd find something to dislike so we could go somewhere else next year, but it's so fabulous already planning a trip back before the end of the year! If I had 1 complaint, the only one would be the rude russians! There are a few there and it's a shame they can't learn to smile!!!

BOOOOOOOOOK BOOK NOW!!!!! it's amazing!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a great two weeks! We feel totally rested after a lovely stay. The location is super and makes for interesting walks either left or right of the hotel. The breakfasts are absolutely brilliant – an excellent choice; and the pancakes, courtesy of Jose Lois, professor of’ pancakeoly’, taste amazing. The main pool is very busy but the terraces of the beach club are wonderfully peaceful – whoever thought of the terrace was a genius! I just wish they had thought about heating the second pool!
In all, a good hotel, great food and a lovely building and beach club. I recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview which also overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed a week in Jardin Tropical (March 20-27, 2012) It was my third stay in 20 years. It was as fresh and well kept as my first stay in early 90's. Great location and value for money. Well kept hotel and gardens. I love the lazy river running in the lower garden by the beach filled daily with fresh filtered sea water. (could be chilly depending on season) but the hotel has a
fresh water heated pool also for the cooler months. Don't ever try the public beaches nearby which are dirty, crowded and under kept. The water and sand are not clean. (Hence the JP's Lazy River)

The Buffet Breakfast is excellent and part of the room rate.Hotel F&B outlets are more or less the same as all the competition around it for quality but higher prices. Try the many smaller restaurants along the sea front walk. Staff are friendly and very helpful, rooms are small but kept very clean. Try the upper floors with at least partial sea views, they're worth it.

Duty free Shopping was once one of the world's best places, now with the EU, it's the same
as anywhere else, with just one exception: Perfumes. They cost up to 50% less here than any duty free airport. Providing that you shop around and ask for a discount, the sales staff are flexible.

Best part of this hotel: It's central Location and excellent Pools Gardens.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed in Jardin Tropical for two weeks in July.One of our friend recommended this hotel who stayed here before(and regularly stays here) and have to say it was a very good recommendation,first of all, the position of the hotel is really good,very close to the shopping center called San Eugenio (my wife was so pleased as she likes shopping so much..),staff was really nice.Our room was spotlessly clean every time when we returned from the beach or from our afternoon trip.Reception staff was very helpful from the beginning and the staff ,overall ,was great!!Deserves a 5 stars!Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wilts, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its ‘curb appeal when walking passed on the promenade outside Costa Adeje and the hundreds of tourist who want to be photographed up against its brilliant white walls and cascading bougainvillea flowers.
On first impressions of its reception it looks very modern with all the staff kitted out next to its minimalist white furniture and new ‘Apple Macs, they puff their chests out as if they own it the joint. Once the chilled Cava arrives then the cracks start to appear. Can’t find our reservation, our room not ready, how do we work the PC, incidentally its now 2pm! We are then given a voucher for ‘late lunch until our room is ready, so we couldn’t grumble.
On showing our room we were disappointed with size of it and the smallish bed with no coffee facilities and a side sea view, with all sides of the balcony bricked up and arched windows spaces to look through, you have to strain your neck to see the view! At the same time our safe didn’t work. So we trundled down to see reception to explain that we had paid for a sea view and were not happy with the room, they advised the hotel is fully booked and they couldn’t do anything until tomorrow, where we could pay for an upgrade of £700 to have a junior suite, so we said ‘lets a have a look and see what our additional money buy us! What a joke! Yes the room was bigger by about 3ft and it had coffee facilities, but the biggest joke was the balcony, a skinny narrow edge overlooking the car park! At first, I thought it was some kind of windup, ‘what this for an additional £700, are you mad!! My suggestion if you are thinking of treating yourselves with a junior suite check it out before paying, because ‘that room was taking the biscuit.
Breakfast is where we first uncounted our Russian counter parts, completely ignoring the matre d’ showing to our tables, basically they want to sit where ‘they’ choose, rather than at the chosen table offered by the matre d’. I’m ok with the customer having to change their mind on the seat offered, but when somebody is already using that table, you just can’t plonk yourself down, and then move the other diners handbag and sunglasses, because you fancy their table, in the meantime, their other partners in crime are off collecting bottles of Cava to get smashed on before 10am, So when the Matre d’ takes them back an argument erupts and the manager is trying to explain that he would prefer it if could drink the Cava by the glass, rather by the bottle, just because it’s part of the breakfast. Like the other reviews the breakfast is a bit of a mixed bag, buffet style with lots of options, but slightly annoying queues for everything being cooked. The quality and choice of foods being offered is ample if not on the unusual side being they had roast meats and gravy for breakfast?
There two swimming pools at the Hotel Jardin Tropical, freshwater and a seawater pool where the water is changed daily from the sea. They really could be in two different hotels, the freshwater pool is occupied by hotel residence only, whereas the seawater pool, the general public can use for a premium, the reason I say they could be from two different hotel is that freshwater has lovely feature of mixed European guest who reserve the their sunbeds at the crack of dawn, and the Russians run riot during the whole day and have not one ounce of consideration that other people are looking to relax on holiday. On the other hand the seawater pool has a calm serenity of a 5* hotel.
We only had lunch as the hotel so I couldn’t give a true insight of the restaurants we ate at both Las Mimosas and Las Rocas, they are two different type Las Rocas being the a la carte which has beautiful views and is a bit pricey for Tenerife, but I would have to say the staff at both restaurants were very friendly and knowledgeable for advice around Tenerife as to where to go and what to do etc.

The question is would we go back HJT, probably not, which is a shame because the waiting staff in the restaurants and bars were brilliant, but reception were just dam rude and the hotel management need to inject some sort of ‘rules of behaviour towards our Russian counterparts, I’ve travel to many hotels around the world, what is a common theme, is that, usually upmarket or 5* Hotels tend to have very well behaved clientele, generally because they have worked hard all year and want to have a bit of R&R, unfortunately this isn’t the case with HJT.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only reason we wanted to come home (apart from seeing our dog!) was to get on here and write a review about what a fantastic holiday we have had. So here we are, 24 hours after leaving the Jardin Tropical re living our trip.
Firstly we were pleased to see more positive reviews on here as when we flew out a week ago, it was a mixed bag. Ignore any reviews that are less than 4 as these people are the kind of people who win the lottery then say their lives won't change (in other words, the miserable lot!)
Upon arrival we were taken aback by the grand entrance which has been updated considerably since the photos on most sites suggest. The individual booths for checking in and complimentary fizz were a nice touch while we admired the setting.
We would definately recommend paying the extra for the sea view and request a high floor (8th is by far the best, room 829 if you're lucky like us) as this gives you stunning views across the complex and sea. The rooms aren’t huge but as a couple it suited us perfectly. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever stayed in abroad, and the double sinks/ dressing gowns and lit wardrobes would rival any top star hotels in the UK.
The building has beautiful architecture combining a modern London hotel with a Spanish fortress! The complex is full of nooks and crannies to sit and soak in the atmosphere with staff on hand to cater for all your needs.
We stayed B&B which was perfect as the selection of foods ranging from cooked English, continental, omelettes and crepes made to order, fruits and pastries was out of this world. Add on free cava on tap and endless tea and coffee we rarely needed lunch!
The pools were beautiful, we didn’t use the main heated pool purely for the fact we found the Beach Club on the first day which had an exclusive feel with the most comfortable bed cushions and sea views you could wish for. Be warned though, the salt pool is filled daily so can feel like the English channel in temperature! Also a quick heads up, the climate seems to have changed like it has here so there becomes a freak scorcchio at 3pm till 6pm so whack on the suncream. In the Beach Club is also a brilliant restaurant that is worth booking a couple of days before to enjoy the best table (slight error with our table choice meant free Moet was given, what a treat)! Even watching the sunset meant all the ladies were given crisp white table cloths as cloaks to avoid the chill.
The location is perfect for everyone with the beach a few metres down the road, however in the evenings the pull of workers nearby trying to get you into bars put us off (in our 30’s now, reminded us of clubbing days) so we ventured further afield. Only a 5 minute taxi ride to El Duque is highly recommended for a beach day and the spectacular ‘Vegas’ feel in nearby American Plaza was purely breath taking. The restaurants and bars here are expensive but worth the visit.
Apologies for the long review but can’t say enough about this place, one we will be booking up again for 2013. Enjoy, you lucky things.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view up high. 8th floor, room 829 if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jardin Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tropical

Address: Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tropical Hotel
Jardin Tropical Adeje
Hotel Jardin Tropical Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.