We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food at a very reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mago

El Mago
Calle Gran Bretana 10, 1st floor | C/C Krystal, (on the1st floor in the corner), Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
0034616971614
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 173 Restaurants in Adeje
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Small restaurant located upstairs on the first floor in centro comercial Krystal in San Eugenio. You are more then welcome to join us, for a drink or a meal on our terrace, located in front of the sea and the beautiful sunset here in Tenerife. Special request please don't hesitate to ask. (Please give us a day notice.) Reservations recommended. Hope to see YOU soon.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High quality food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Amongst the plethora of restaurants in Tenerife, make sure you spend at least one sun-kissed evening at El Mago. My two young daughters were enchanted by the lovely staff (Isobella and the dry-witted waiter) and we all had a great time whilst enjoying our delicious meals.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    39
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to return to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

It's not just the beautiful view over the atlantic ocean, it's not just the very friendly staff,
it's not just the food... This restaurant has it all!!! The pealla is awesome (and I've eaten quite some pealla's in my life) the wines are great and the staff is very friendly (and funny)
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who's in for a great evening!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent - best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

An excellent restaurant - just go there. Spotted this restaurant on trip advisor and realised we were staying quite close (Hotel Santa Maria). To be honest, I probably wouldn't have given it a second look as it's upstairs above other more tacky places beneath it. But trusting the reviews I ventured in , with my wife and 2 children (12 & 10). We had a table with a clear westerly view of the sea and watched the sun go down towards the island of La Gomera. Service from the two waitresses was very friendly. I had the spaghetti salami which was great. My wife had the kebabs , one daughter a goats cheese salad and the other ribs. Everyone really enjoyed their meals. Even the house rose was great - being nicelly chilled and decorked in front of us at the table.
Deserts were equally as good - crepe suzzettes and tiramisu. We spent €57. All in all, this is by far the best restaurant in the area - and believe me there are loads of them trying to win your custom. Thanks to all those who recommended this place on TA.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother eating here... the good reviews are so wrong!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My family and I dined here after reading the good reviews and we had high expectations.
We couldn't have been more disappointed with the food.
Several of the party ordered a started of 'Tiger King prawn cocktail'. What we were served was not tiger prawns. They were like tiny frozen cheap value supermarket shrimps!.... Main course was not much better.. two of the group ordered fillet steak. What we were served was tough meat that was more like the cheapest cut of meat that could be found! I ordered my steak medium and it came rare and had to be sent back, my mother ordered hers medium/well done and it came cremated!!
The paella ordered by two members of the family was made with rice that you should not be using to make paella.
We did not eat desserts after the disastrous servings of the previous courses.
The ambience of the restaurant is drab and cheap too. Cheap plastic chairs and tables like a back street cafe.
Cutlery is not laid out for you.. you have to help yourselves from a cheap basket thrown onto the table.
The server also had a bad case of body odour which was very off putting when being served your meal!
All in all, not a good experience, would definitely not recommend.
We were in Tenerife for a week and searched out all of the best restuarants. In a week , we experienced some fine restaurants and this was the only place that seriously disappointed.
Try 'Molino El Blanco' instead, excellent food, service and ambience, we ate there twice. Rosso sul Mar in La Caleta is also excellent.
If you want fine food, ambience and a great night, then avoid El Mago!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definately go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Just had a brillant meal in this restaurant, I had the spareribs and the meat just fell off the bone! The canarian potatoes were lovely aswell and the mojo and alioli are to die for! Will come again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mago also viewed

 
Costa Adeje, Tenerife
 

Been to El Mago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.