We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Playa Real Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“the best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

my daughter and my self went to ocean palace a year and a half ago and we had a great time.
the food was great because there was a selection of different things to eat 7 night a week.
the rooms were kept cleen and tidy by the cleaners.
we had a nice welcome to ocean palace, when we got to are room because we had a welcome food pack wich was a suprise. the pool was kept very clean and the only thing that was bad was around the side of the pool ( it was very slipy

Stayed September 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    305
    187
    98
    92
See reviews for
405
199
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks at the Ocean Palace. The food, staff and facilities were all excellent,we could not fault anything. Plenty of entertainment for adults and kids,all day long. The First Choice rep's go the extra mile to keep everybody happy and entertained, especially enjoyed the evening shows by the multi-talented Sam, Keiran and Charlie P.
The pool area is well set-up for relaxation and a steady supply of drinks and snacks from the bar. Yes, the poolside tiles can be a little slippery but most people seemed to cope ok.
It's not too far to walk down the hill to Fanabe beach and a bracing swim in the Atlantic. You can break up the walk back with a coffee in The Fanabe Costa Sur or maybe a cold beer sitting outside the Babooshka Bar opposite.
Book with confidence!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

We booked this hotel for just one night as stopover between La Gomera and the airport. Although the suite provides generous space and a nice ocean view (4th floor), we found it rather strange for a **** hotel that there is an extra charge for the TV! Also, we were unexpected non-all-inclusive guests who (paid for and) expected a no-charge breakfeast w/o having the correct wrist-band...

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

We stayed in the Suites at Ocean Palace from 14.3.06
to 21.3.06 and were pleasantly surprised after reading some the reviews on this website! There were 9 in our party, using 4 Suites. One suite did have a leak through the ceiling but the tenants were promptly
moved.

We all found the suites comfortable and roomy. All thought the food for every meal was varied and good. Although the "burger/toasted sandwiches bar" was extremely slow it was worth waiting for. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful.

Only drawbacks - the Hotel is quite a walk from the seafront (uphill on the way back!), the area around the Pool is extremely slippery when wet, and both the
bars close at midnight!!

All in all a good family holiday.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

My husband & I booked this 4* all inclusive to celebrate or Silver Wedding expecting luxury! well we were put in the Nogal Beach apartments as they are now part of the Ocean Resort. We were so dissapointed,as they are a bit like a certain british holiday camp or a block of council masonettes compared to the Ocean Palace. we felt inferior. OK they're roomy but in need of updating. Spoke to the Rep. about getting a room in the Ocean Palace but she said there was none, and seemed very unintrested in our situation. the brochure said sunbed towels were included, when I asked for one, the receptionist said they cost 1 euro! Bathroom towels changed 3xweek! No rooms get cleaned on Fridays! Hair and dust was thick behind the toilet pan, Pillow cases didn't fit!No hair dryer! entertainment good for kids or sportsmen!
The weather was fantastic, just as well!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ocean Palace (now known as resort). Accomodation was good with all rooms in the complex overlooking the pool area which was lovely. Rooms are regularly cleaned and were a good size for a family of 4. In the kitchen area a kettle, toaster and microwave so enough to make do. Next door previously nogal beach is now connected to this complex via a bridge (new since last year). Use of the "spa" facilities meant sunbed, gym, jacuzzi and sauna however all this was at an additional charge and although you could book for a week availability was 12:00 - 20:00 mon - fri, 9:00 - 12:00 sat closed sunday this was alittle disappointing as open far less than the year before, it is also on the expensive side.
Even more disappointing is that the complex has gone from self catering to fully inclusive so no booking from us for next year! Word of warning, although the entertainment was good the price of the drinks in the bars is expensive! 22 euro's for 4 alcoholic drinks and a coke cola.
Weather too was mixed but that didn't spoil our enjoyment it was still far better than being at home.
Having said that we had a great week and would recommend if this sort of holidays appeals to you.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed at the Ocean Resort between the 17th - 24th Feb. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival (after reading some of the mixed comments on this site)- Big, impressive reception area where we were checked in immediately (we had booked 3 rooms)the rooms were exactly as requested (high floor, pool view)1 x Superior Suite & 2 x Suites - the only difference in our case was the bathroom, the spr suite had a large whirlpool bath which was lovely!! All rooms were spotlessly clean, with a toaster, kettle, fridge etc (even though we were all inclusive)which was great for making a cuppa in the morning!!

The pool area was lovely and was cleaned daily , there was also plenty of sunbeds (no having to get up early to nab one) The swimming pool itself was heated so didn't take your breath away. Very slippy by the poolside (be warned) - we saw a couple of people fall!!

The food was absolutely fine - plenty of choice - and very friendly staff who kept the place spotless and seemed to run it very efficiently - we never had to queue for a table. We had 2 vegetarians with us and their choices were a bit limited though plenty of salads to fill up on! We had a night out at the local chinese restaurant - well worth a visit - absolutely gorgeous!!

Supermarket run by a lady from Yorkshire right next door with a really decent stock of 'stuff' so if you do get a bit fed up with the hotel food you can always buy yourself something there and cook it in your room!

All in all a 'better than expected' holiday - if only the sun had shone!!! Warm, but cloudy the whole week.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Real Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Playa Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.