We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but would never book with On The Beach / Playa Real again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Playa Real Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
Bromley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday but would never book with On The Beach / Playa Real again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked this hotel 6 months before our week holiday in February 2014, and on numerous occasions I emailed OTB and the hotel to ask for confirmation that we would be actually staying in a junior suite matching the description on their website that we booked. We never received a response to any of our emails from the hotel, however, OTB responded to all our queries telling us that they couldn't guarantee our hotel booking until 2 days before travel and even then our place at the hotel was not guaranteed and that this is the case with all travel companies. I'm well travelled and tbh this is the only company I've come across that can't guarantee that you'll get the hotel / room you've paid for before departure. I won't be using OTB again.

As for the hotel, we were given a beautiful apartment on the 4th floor of the hotel when we checked in **relief**. I wouldn't have stayed in Isla Bonita it looked depressing, cramped, dowdy and just uninviting from the outside. For what we paid, (flying Norweigan Airlines was a bonus too, great modern budget airline, great wifi and leg room was ample), I couldn't actually fault this hotel. The rooms are kept clean and fresh, the pool area is cleaned thoroughly daily, the waiting staff in the dining room were constantly cleaning and taking away used crockery/glasses etc and they were really friendly too, especially with my kids, I couldn't fault them on this. The food was okay, you could always find something to eat, some days better than others but generally a great all inclusive for the money. Sangria, beer, soft drinks on tap which was great.

The area itself - Playa Fanabe - we also loved because its quieter than the more built up Los Cristianos and Playa de las Americas yet has plenty of shops / supermarkets / great transport links close by. Fantastic location. The distance from the hotel to the sea front is about a 10-15 minute's stroll. Its not that bad a walk as people make out on here, and who's rushing on holiday, just take a stroll, relax and enjoy the area. It certainly isn't that steep, a mild slope most of the way and it burns off that extra glass of Sangria or portion of desert so who's caring!

We went to Aqualand and Jungle Park which were brilliant and I'd highly recommend to those with families, although we took a hotel picnic which was adequate, as the food in these places it was a complete rip off (18 euros for a pizza in Jungle Park which resembles one you could buy from Iceland for £1!, and Aqualand's cafe had long queues, extortionate prices, and the food was rubbish).

Entertainment at the hotel was okay, on some nights better than others. We mainly used the pool tables and the mini disco and then got bored of the repetitive nature of every night, bingo, music quiz, entertainment (if you could call some of the acts entertainment), so we didn't go every night. The entertainment area is dowdy and could do with some new chairs and a lick of paint.

All in all would I go back - Yes, if I could guarantee a junior suite at the hotel, however, because this seems like an impossible mission, then No, I wouldn't. I'd rather spend that bit extra and have a guaranteed hotel on arrival as the stress leading up to our holiday was unnecessary and no-one wants to touch down for holiday and wonder if the hotel they've paid for will honor their booking! Crazy way to do business!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    305
    187
    98
    92
See reviews for
405
199
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just came from our vocation and I can tell that was one of the best!everything was just splendid.Special thanks to the animators COCO and OKSANA!!Hotel was clean and all the people who working there were very kind and helpfull,thanks a lot!I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

do not book this hotel unless you want a ruined holiday. got back today. booked a weeks holiday with my wife and friends at the Playa Real, arrived Thursday 13/2/2014 no rooms available ,after 4hrs we were sent to Aguamarina golf and our friends sent to Adeje Palace, we were promised we would all be in Adeje Palace by Friday 14/2/2014, got taxi to Adeje Palace no booking for us.Another taxi to Playa Real,after another 4 hrs got another taxi to Isla Bonita hotel for one night.they had no room for us after another 3 hrs got a room.15/2/2014 left Isla Bonita for Adeje Palace got a room at 3pm and finally unpacked. we spent two and a half days travelling between hotels. both in our seventies not a very good experience, no help whatsoever from staff .Holiday completely ruined although they did pay for some of the taxis, made our friend ill through the stress

Room Tip: do not book the Playa Real, we enjoyed the Adeje Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Director General at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Derek,
Once more we express our very regret about the inconviences caused to you and your friends, travelling to our hotel. Being fair in the review, please to recall that there was no prior information to the hotel that you came for staying with your friends, which made the issue much more difficult to solve for us, too. After our cordial and prompt attending of you and your friends, we finally could solve the issue that you both have been allocated in the Costa Adeje Palace, a adecuate and very good hotel, compensating with that the inconviences caused to you by realocating you in another hotel. Our staff at all time has been polite and explainory to you all, therefore it is not correct saying that no help from staff has been provided. The taxi fares have been all payed by the hotel, which we explained to you, too.
Finally with the intervention and help not only from the hotel, but as well from the local T.O. representation, it could be managed that you and your friends could enjoy the holiday and stay together at the same hotel.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirsk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we arrived hoping we had the room we booked, we did, but other people were not so lucky, and were placed elsewhere, disgraceful, having travelled 2000 miles with kids, who looked beat , the travel companies need to have a word , or the reservations manager needs to find alternative employment, The hotel is not 4 star , the costa adeje palace is 4 star and look at the difference, its 3 star on a good day ( and I doubt they have many of those ), I work in the hotel and restaurant industry and have done for 40 years, this is a budget hotel, pure and simple, we booked last minute, so hadn't read reviews , which can be hit and miss, This place is a bit tired , peeling walls , plaster chipped, the usual tired hotel syndrome, the staff were in general very pleasant, you got the odd grumpy one, but you get that everywhere, the restaurant/ dining room is more like a canteen ,but what do you expect, they didn't have enough tables for everyone to eat at the same time, so people had to wait, its no big deal, just had another glass of wine and waited, its buffet style hot and cold, its ok for what we paid( 1350 for 10 days in a junior suite all inclusive) that including the flights is cheap, we won't go back, simply because they can't guarantee you'll get the room you booked, and that is not acceptable,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I highly recomend this hotel, i stayed here last year and had a wonderful time,, and planing to stay here in june and really excited about it! the staff are so nice and very friendly, and will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The room we stayed in was a dream,, very clean, spacious, had everything we needed with a great bacony and view too! you can never go hungry or thirsty in the hotel as there is plenty of choice of food or drink, The hotel is very clean too and i am a housekeeper so i do i know a clean hotel, and this one is! The pool was excellent too, everything about this hotel is excellent, its in a great location too. This hotel is also very fexible too as it is perfect for if you want to go on a romantic holiday or for friends going its also perfect if you want to go on a family holiday with kids, as it is private and isn't rowdy and i two young kids and will be very particular of where to stay with my kids and ill be very happy to take them here. I had friends staying at the time in a nearby hotel they did visited us and you can say they were jealous of the hotel we were staying in and regretted not booking this hotel, and they paid alot more for where they stayed!! The value for more money in staying in this hotel is absolutely brilliant, it really is a bargain,, I couldn't get over how much we got for our money. i really think its shocking how people put up negative reviews about about this amazing hotel,, dont listen to them you always get the snoby whingers that just love criticising and finding fault in anything no matter how great it really is!! My friends and i are really looking forward to coming here, Im looking forward to see kenny again too!! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Director General at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mrs. Donna,
Thank you for your honest review of yopur holiday stay with us from last year. We appreciate very much your comments and are happy having you back as our regular guests in June this year. Let us know prior when you are coming so that we can take good care about and provide a nice room. Once again many thanks for the very good review, with kind regards from Tenerife,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I never normally write reviews but feel I have to. I stayed here 31st Jan for one week with my mother and 2 children 5 and 2. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and no problem with our booking.

We stayed in s Jr suite which was so nice. Great size balcony and rooms were cleaned every day but Sunday.

Staff every where we're so pleasant and nice especially to my children. Coco was brilliant with my son and entertainment was perfect for the kids which to me is the main thing.
This hotel is beautiful and the people are amazing I feel the reviews are not reflecting this. I will deffentienty return to this hotel and thank you coco for making it so enjoyable for my kids.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Director General at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the honest and open minded review of your stay with us. We will give the information as well to our animation team, as they are very close to all guests and doing everything posible for all guests to have an enjoyable stay with us.
Wish you a good day and kind regards from Tenerife,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Like most people who have booked the Playa Real Resort, we were very worried that we might not be actually staying here when we arrived because of the so called over booking problem, but lucky for us when we did arrive we got to stay here for our 2 week stay. When we arrivied we were told by reception that the junior suites were full and for our first 3 days we would be staying in the apartment block which was'nt a problem and all part of the adventure. I had read negative reviews about the apartment blocks and I cannot see why people complain? its still part of the hotel, we got a 2 bed appartment for the family of 4 of us, the apartment was basic but very spacious and was full of self catering equipment even though we were all-inclusive. For our next 11 nights we were then moved over to the junior suites which were more modern with a pool view but alot smaller than the appartments. Food and drink were good with plenty of choice I had no complaints at all, it is what it is at all-inclusive hotels they are all very much the same when it comes to food and drinks. The entertainment on a night was good with some great acts, again I had read negative reviews, which are total nonsense, usually put on tripadviser by the usual moaning whinging brits who book a budget hotel then expect 5star treatment (you know who you are), ive been coming to Tenerife for years and the drag act Mister Sister, an illusionist, the singer from Black Lace and the illuminious Puppet Show were some of the best I have ever seen on the Island. The daily entertainment and kids club were very good too, I must give a metion to Oxanna and Coco who both worked very hard keeping everyone happy and entertained. Other facilities at the hotel we enjoyed were the massage chairs, spa and jacuzzi. We met some lovely like minded people while we were there and truely loved this holiday, we wish we were still there and are pricing up for next year. Its a shame the overbooking issues are giving this hotel a bad reputation as its such a fantastic hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Director General at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mrs. Suzie,
Thank you very much for your review and honest opinión. We are happy Reading that you enjoyed very much the stay with us, being satisfied with the services and food - drinks provided. We would be gratefull for a new stay with us whenever you will visit once again Tenerife Island. Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Real Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Playa Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.