We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all...not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Playa Real Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over all...not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived at Hotel, the guy on reception said that unfortunately our Junior Suite wasn't available, and we were given an Apartment in separate block at the back. For the inconvenience we were given upgrades on our wrist bands and got the safe free for the week.
It didn't really bother us, as we were traveling as a couple and thought that as long as the apartment was ok,then we were. I did hear them tell another lady that they had no more rooms,as I went down with deposit for safe. They seem to have a problem with over booking and ship people off to different hotels.I would not have gone to Isla Bonita.
The food was ok, some of it not always warm, and I thought that the snacks made up outside, were a waste of resources,as it was left to go cold etc and uneaten. It would benefit more cold snacks, rather than chips etc,just after the restaurant has finished for lunch.
Entertainment was mediocre, we did enjoy the Meatloaf act, his voice was really good and also Kenny Rogers and his wife ( richies parents) made good listening. Bingo was every night and the prizes weren't too bad, we won a Litre of Vodka...took it home!
Location was alright it you could walk quite well, as it was a steepish hill on return. We got on a bus to Los Cristianos and playa de las Americas for 2.90 euros for the 2 of us.(each way)
Please stay away from the shops that sell cameras etc...we didn't get what we paid for, but luckily only lost 30 euros, on reading reviews on google, people have come off much worse. With unpleasant male assistants, very patronising too.
All in all, our week was fair, the weather was good, in the 20's all the week.
The staff at the playa Real were all mostly friendly as was the dark haired guy on reception ( with glasses) was very helpful and did offer to move us on the Saturday to the Suites, but as we were leaving Monday, we couldn't see much point.
I must say, that there were things that could do with a little TLC here, ie,the Toilet next the pool (womens) had no toilet seat at all, nor any type of hand dryer..there was a triplet roll on the sink...but in disgust I wouldn't use it..and it was missing for the whole week! To be honest I am a great believer in 'you get what you pay for'...and we did..it didn't cost a lot and if you want somewhere perfect, book somewhere else as you will find fault with this Hotel.

Room Tip: We had an apartment on the ground floor and it was ok for us,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sonia,
Thank you very much for the review and we are feeling happy that you enjoyed the stay with us, despite of the inconvenience with the change to appartment instead of junior suite. Unfortunately we had no other option as to offfer this to you, being gratefull that you accepted the part of compensation we gave. - The snack area we are at the moment changing and modifiying so that in future there will not be any more a problem of the hot food keot top much time, as we will be cooking a la minute including barbecue doing at that area. - The issue with the mssing toilet seat is solved and the hand dryer as well, subjects we really are sorry for as this should not have been an issue to solve inmediately. More attention is done to those areas as you described, too. -
Hope to welcome you back at our hotel once more and wishing you a good time back home.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    324
    193
    104
    94
See reviews for
432
213
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Arrived back yesterday a party of 16 all got junior suites as paid for, no problem what so ever the rooms are abit tired but not enough to moan about, they are clean and towels and bedding are changed regular. The kitchen in the room is well equipped with kettle toaster and. Microwave. The staff are great and never moan even when asked for 16 drinks by one person, very unusual in an all inclusive hotel. The food was fine nothing spectacular could have been warmer. All in all a great value for money hotel. The pool area was very good and a life guard was a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mrs. Ingrid,
Thank you very much for your sincere and nice review on your stay with us. We are happy that we could match your expectations and that all your family could enjoyed to the utmost the holiday break at our hotel. Hope to welcome you again at our hotel for your next holidays planed. Kind regards from Tenerife.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

So we had booked into this hotel early November for a 5 night stay from the 20th - 25th january for my 21st birthday, my gran was with us too. Everything was going to plan until we arrived at the hotel to be told we didnt have a room and they had booked us into another hotel. Complete and utter inconvince! For a start travelling all day and we had an elderly lady with us! The guy at reception was so rude and unhelpful. We demanded to speak to the manager. When he finally appeared he was also very rude! Couldn't even look us in the eye when speaking (which doesn't surprise me as he's probably used to explaining to people they have no rooms for them going by the reviews on here). They told us they had informed out travel agent of this which is a blatant lie because we had been in a few days before leaving for the holiday for the tickets! I was so angry!! They booked us into a hotel in Los Christianos which i cannot fault one bit as they were excellent with us and the hotel was beautiful. But thats not really the point!! Do not go here they do not deserve the business in the slightest!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mrs. Harkin,
We are feeling very sorry about the start of your holidays when arriving at our hotel, where you have been informed about the inconvenience. None of us, neither the employee at the reception desk, nor the manager, has been rude or unpolite with you and your party, trying to explain to you in correct and quite form the booking problem we had with your reservation. None of us was offending you as our possible guest, but as stated to you we had no other alternative then to offer you a suitable, adequate hotel for you stay at Tenerife, which at the end pleased you much more than ours. Hopefully a possible next stay at Tenerife will enjoy you, too.
Kind regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Arrived at hotel to be told that our rooms were not ready, we had expected something like this to happen from reading previous experiences on here! They said we would be put into apartments not in the main building for 1 night but would be moved the next day. We werent thrilled as we just wanted to get unpacked but after negotiating free wi-fi for the week and a free safety dep box we accepted it. We were told at this point we had been up graded to a platinium band which meant that we could receive all the branded spirits instead of local brands. Although do watch at the bar if you have a platinum band as some of the staff use the local brands just point out your bands and they will change(I expect they are told to do this).
Rooms are spacious and very clean so no grumbles there, although can be a little noisey if you have inconsiderate neighbours!!!!
Food is acceptable, some days better than others. Breakfast has a good selection -pancakes and omlettes made while you wait are especially good! Strongbow served behind bars but not in the restaurant which would be good as we had to go to another bar and bring into the restaurant.
I would say the hotel has a lot of steps and not very pushchair friendly especially around the pool area struggled to get my toddler up and down the steps.
Entertainment team try hard, bingo, mini disco and quizzes are ok although prizes should be re thinked as not very good.
Did notice towards the end of our stay not a lot of british guests there and they seemed to be older in age.
All in all not bad value for money if you want a cheap all inc week winter break.

Room Tip: apartments are very quiet and main block is noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr. Rhian,
Thank you very much for your honest review and the points you are mentioning. Unfortunately as stated we had to accomodate you for a first night at the appartment area, part of our hotel, so that we could give you the right booking accomodation within the next day. An small inconvenience surely about we are feeling sorry with you, but at the end could manage with you and your party that you enjoyed the overall stay at our hotel to your utmost. A part from the steps in the hotel, we have of course ramps from the restaurant area to the pool side as well to the animation area, which are suitable for pushchairs use. Strongbow to offer at the restaurant is an good recomendation we will look into.
Hope to welcome you back once again at our hotel for a next stay.
Kind regards from Tenerife.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed as 3 couples early dec, I heard about the double booking problem so I contacted our booking agent ( love holidays & sunshine holidays ) both companies failed to guarantee our bookings would not be affected. I then contacted the hotel agent You Travel and told them of the problem and stated I wanted a written guarantee that we all will not be moved and to our joy we got this guarantee.
When we turned up at the hotel no problems at all we all really enjoyed our stay in the junior suites the food is ok as is the booze but the entertainment is a bit poor.
Due to the hassle I had for 2 weeks trying to sort the double booking issue I can only rate this hotel 1 star as I would never return and please if going there soon I pity anyone who is sent to the Isla Bonita hotel as looks like a jail pure hell hole.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Jason,
Thank you for your kind review and we understand you concern about the booking problem before arriving to our hotel. Nevertheless would have appreciated that your review would be as honest as your stay has been with us, so that at least the rating would be more higher than what you gave us at the end. As your stay was enjoyed by you all, we will be happy to welcome you again for your next stay at Tenerife.
Kind regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-super-mare
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We are due to fly to Tenerife from Bristol on 25th January. On the 20th January we received an email and phone call to say that the Hotel was overbooked! I had been looking at the reviews and saw that this had been a problem. As I booked in April 2013 for 3 weeks thought we would be ok!
We have been offered 5 star all inclusive accommodation at the Sandos San Blas Nature and golf club at no extra charge and we will be picked up and returned to the airport, this also included one free excursion. So for my husband and I who had booked for 3 weeks the upgrade will be welcome. The downside is I have family in Adeje who we hoped to be near, now we have to book a hire car for the 10 days they are in Adeje.
I asked why this had happened and was informed that overbooking was happening all over Tenerife. Not sure that I would go to Tenerife again if this is what happens.
We are looking forward to the 3 weeks in 5 star and will make the most of this.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr.,
We are sorry that this inconvenience happened to you, even so you recieved prior your arrival an information about the change. Unfortunately in that time all over Tenerife such incident happened, so that alternative good and higher quality hotels have been offered to thos who have to deal with such incident. We hope that you at least could enjoy your holidays and as well met with your families at Adeje.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked our holiday September 2013 for January 2014. After picking our destination, looking at lots of hotels, reading reviews with an open mind then once we decided on this hotel finding the best price.
Early December 2013 we noticed lots of people arriving and being told they were fully booked or getting an email before they arrived. We rang our booking company and were assured our booking was all confirmed and there was still availability.
Less than 2 days before we were due to fly we got an email saying they were overbooked and we were being moved.
Fuming is not the word!
We rang our booking supplier and told then our views, we were not happy.
They wanted to move us to Isla Bonita, we stopped there on honeymoon 5 and half years ago. We thoroughly enjoyed it and loved the hotel but decided we would never go back as it would never be the same. Also with all the awful reviews no way did we want to stay and spoil our memories.
Thankfully we got moved somewhere else but it spoilt the beginning of our holiday we saved and looked forward to for ages.
This is happening to many people and more than one booking company.
It needs sorting out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr.,
Surely we are feeling very sorry about the inconvenience and change of hotel you had to do before arriving, subject we would have loved to avoid, but could not at the end. Hopefully at least you could be able to enjoy the hoildays and Tenerife Island, which you might have been able to konw from stays before. We hope even so this inconvenience caused muy dsiturbance to you, see into it to welcome you back one day at our hotel.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Real Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.