We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Real Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Adeje
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as bad as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Arrived at hotel to be told that our rooms were not ready, we had expected something like this to happen from reading previous experiences on here! They said we would be put into apartments not in the main building for 1 night but would be moved the next day. We werent thrilled as we just wanted to get unpacked but after negotiating free wi-fi for the week and a free safety dep box we accepted it. We were told at this point we had been up graded to a platinium band which meant that we could receive all the branded spirits instead of local brands. Although do watch at the bar if you have a platinum band as some of the staff use the local brands just point out your bands and they will change(I expect they are told to do this).
Rooms are spacious and very clean so no grumbles there, although can be a little noisey if you have inconsiderate neighbours!!!!
Food is acceptable, some days better than others. Breakfast has a good selection -pancakes and omlettes made while you wait are especially good! Strongbow served behind bars but not in the restaurant which would be good as we had to go to another bar and bring into the restaurant.
I would say the hotel has a lot of steps and not very pushchair friendly especially around the pool area struggled to get my toddler up and down the steps.
Entertainment team try hard, bingo, mini disco and quizzes are ok although prizes should be re thinked as not very good.
Did notice towards the end of our stay not a lot of british guests there and they seemed to be older in age.
All in all not bad value for money if you want a cheap all inc week winter break.

Room Tip: apartments are very quiet and main block is noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr. Rhian,
Thank you very much for your honest review and the points you are mentioning. Unfortunately as stated we had to accomodate you for a first night at the appartment area, part of our hotel, so that we could give you the right booking accomodation within the next day. An small inconvenience surely about we are feeling sorry with you, but at the end could manage with you and your party that you enjoyed the overall stay at our hotel to your utmost. A part from the steps in the hotel, we have of course ramps from the restaurant area to the pool side as well to the animation area, which are suitable for pushchairs use. Strongbow to offer at the restaurant is an good recomendation we will look into.
Hope to welcome you back once again at our hotel for a next stay.
Kind regards from Tenerife.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    246
    159
    86
    80
See reviews for
335
170
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed as 3 couples early dec, I heard about the double booking problem so I contacted our booking agent ( love holidays & sunshine holidays ) both companies failed to guarantee our bookings would not be affected. I then contacted the hotel agent You Travel and told them of the problem and stated I wanted a written guarantee that we all will not be moved and to our joy we got this guarantee.
When we turned up at the hotel no problems at all we all really enjoyed our stay in the junior suites the food is ok as is the booze but the entertainment is a bit poor.
Due to the hassle I had for 2 weeks trying to sort the double booking issue I can only rate this hotel 1 star as I would never return and please if going there soon I pity anyone who is sent to the Isla Bonita hotel as looks like a jail pure hell hole.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Jason,
Thank you for your kind review and we understand you concern about the booking problem before arriving to our hotel. Nevertheless would have appreciated that your review would be as honest as your stay has been with us, so that at least the rating would be more higher than what you gave us at the end. As your stay was enjoyed by you all, we will be happy to welcome you again for your next stay at Tenerife.
Kind regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-super-mare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We are due to fly to Tenerife from Bristol on 25th January. On the 20th January we received an email and phone call to say that the Hotel was overbooked! I had been looking at the reviews and saw that this had been a problem. As I booked in April 2013 for 3 weeks thought we would be ok!
We have been offered 5 star all inclusive accommodation at the Sandos San Blas Nature and golf club at no extra charge and we will be picked up and returned to the airport, this also included one free excursion. So for my husband and I who had booked for 3 weeks the upgrade will be welcome. The downside is I have family in Adeje who we hoped to be near, now we have to book a hire car for the 10 days they are in Adeje.
I asked why this had happened and was informed that overbooking was happening all over Tenerife. Not sure that I would go to Tenerife again if this is what happens.
We are looking forward to the 3 weeks in 5 star and will make the most of this.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr.,
We are sorry that this inconvenience happened to you, even so you recieved prior your arrival an information about the change. Unfortunately in that time all over Tenerife such incident happened, so that alternative good and higher quality hotels have been offered to thos who have to deal with such incident. We hope that you at least could enjoy your holidays and as well met with your families at Adeje.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked our holiday September 2013 for January 2014. After picking our destination, looking at lots of hotels, reading reviews with an open mind then once we decided on this hotel finding the best price.
Early December 2013 we noticed lots of people arriving and being told they were fully booked or getting an email before they arrived. We rang our booking company and were assured our booking was all confirmed and there was still availability.
Less than 2 days before we were due to fly we got an email saying they were overbooked and we were being moved.
Fuming is not the word!
We rang our booking supplier and told then our views, we were not happy.
They wanted to move us to Isla Bonita, we stopped there on honeymoon 5 and half years ago. We thoroughly enjoyed it and loved the hotel but decided we would never go back as it would never be the same. Also with all the awful reviews no way did we want to stay and spoil our memories.
Thankfully we got moved somewhere else but it spoilt the beginning of our holiday we saved and looked forward to for ages.
This is happening to many people and more than one booking company.
It needs sorting out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Manager at Playa Real Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mrs./Mr.,
Surely we are feeling very sorry about the inconvenience and change of hotel you had to do before arriving, subject we would have loved to avoid, but could not at the end. Hopefully at least you could be able to enjoy the hoildays and Tenerife Island, which you might have been able to konw from stays before. We hope even so this inconvenience caused muy dsiturbance to you, see into it to welcome you back one day at our hotel.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay at this hotel for the end of november, on arrival we where told by a very rude man on reception that there was no room available and we would have to stay in their so called sister hotel ( isla bonita)! Asked to speak to the manager a number of times, but were told thats not possible! After many attempts to get any sense as to why we were not informed before our arrival that they had overbooked we had no other choice but to go to isla bonita ( omg what a dump)!!!!!!! Why they say its a 4 star is beyond me, its more like a 2 star! Okay,back to the man on reception at playa real when we tried to book in.....he was absolutely rude, useless, impolite, where do i stop? After spending 1 night at isla bonita, we decided to go back up to playa real the following morning to see if they had a room available, on getting there we could see that people where checking out, but yet again we were told that they had no room, we asked about the rooms that people had just checked out from and were told that they were booked some time ago! I was furious as we also booked some time ago and where was our room? I could go on but one thing i will say whatever your name is on reception on duty 21/11/13 ( you know who you are) you need to get some customer service skills and manners! So if anyone is thinking of booking this hotel, THINK AGAIN !!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had booked this hotel for our family from 22nd Dec till early Jan.We made our booking in Sept only to be told on the 19th Dec that the hotel had been double booked.We was put into the Isla Bonita (also avoid) by our agent.
Like previous reviewers we had no chance of booking alternative hotels as there were none available. This hotel has been double bookinging since November and they leave it very late before informing travellers. They have not had the decency to respond to previous reviewers. Only book this hotel if you are very flexible about where you stay.
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Playa Real and had a great time. We booked through Jet2, and like others I had heard the rumours about the double bookings. I emailed jet2 a few days before we left to check that our booking was all good, and also said that I would refuse to be transferred to Isla Bonita which is were a lot of people have been sent to. Jet 2 said they were not aware of any problems, but I am sure they are now as two parties booked with Jet 2 were moved during our stay. They stood their ground and were allowed to use the facilities of the Playa Real while staying at Isla Bonita. There is definately something going on with the bookings: either a rubbish system or some sort of deal with Isla Bonita as this seems to be happening too much.
Anyway, back to the Playa Real, hotel rooms were clean and spacious although some of the furniture could do with updating. Food was good and we weren't stuck for variety. Entertainment - overall good - a couple of acts a bit poor, but on the whole we enjoyed most of it. Staff were friendly and helpful. If I rated it overall as a package, I would say 3 star + .

Room Tip: They all seem to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Real Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Playa Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.