We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Playa Real Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Adeje
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in March in a junior suite overlooking the pool area. The room was spacious with a separate sitting room and kitchenette with a lovely view we were on the 2nd floor it was clean(not spotless). The pool area was excellent with plenty of sunbeds and a heated pool the pool bar is very friendly especially barman johnny. Evening entertainment was a work in progress and i think they were trying hard to improve it but the room it is held in is very dingy as soon as the act ends everyone leaves.Now for the dining room which is basically like a school dining hall done out with grubby chairs, tables with paper table cloths and serving tasteless poor quality food.We often had a look at what was on offer at dinner then decide if to go out, which we did on three occassions especially when chicken nuggets was on the adult counter.We avoided the ice cream as the scoop is in a jug of water which is not changed regularly. The Al a carte restaurant was superb but you are only able to use it once.Beware of the poolside snacks as the pigeons like to help themselves to the uncovered food.
Overall we do not consider this hotel to be anywhere near 4 star quality although Jet 2 do sell it as 3 star. All in all as they say you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: higher floors have a good viex
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    305
    187
    98
    92
See reviews for
405
199
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in Feb/March in a junior suite overlooking the pool area. The room was quite spacious and reasonably clean. The pool area was okay with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Pool bar very basic with only one waiter serving at any given time. The real problem for us with this hotel was meal times. The staff could not cope with the number of people staying at the hotel. There was usually a lengthy wait for a table to become available and when it did all you had were paper table cloths and paper napkins-in our opinion not four star quality. To make matters worse the chairs could only be described at best as dirty and in need of a good cleaning.Staff were not very pleasant, probably because there were not enough of them to cope!
Food was poor unless you like everything warmed up and with chips! Also beware of the snacks available in the pool area as the pigeons like to help themselves when no one is around.
Overall we do not consider this hotel to be anywhere near 4 star quality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had no complaints at all regarding this hotel which in our opinion, represents excellent value for money. The food was some of the best all inclusive we have had in the Canaries with freshly cooked food at every meal including langoustines straight from the grill! There was always plenty of choice and the food hygiene we observed was excellent. The chefs regularly checked the quantity and condition of the food and cleaned the food service areas. One thing in particular that we loved was the asian food corner where the indian curries were fab, accompanied with fluffy rice. Also the inclusion of Canarian potatoes on more occasions than just the Canarian evening was nice. Plentiful fresh fruit at every meal. I think the people who have complained about the food must be used to eating burgers, hot dogs and pizzas as a staple diet at home. This was good quality "proper food".
Every member of hotel staff we came across was friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough for you.
We had a Junior Suite on the third floor with a sea view and it was spotlessly clean with towels changed every day and bedding every 3 days. Very spacious and comfortable.
The evening entertainment might not be to everyone's taste but there was something on offer every evening and there is also a spa onsite, to which each guest gets a free one hour taster.

Room Tip: Higher floors have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Value for money, very spacious rooms, clean and tidy.
Entertainment was good, food was average.
Even though stayed all inclusive as the food was average we ventured out for food but didn't mind as we saved money by staying all inclusive in the first place.
The swimming pool was just big enough and I would recommend the hotel to any of my friends wanting a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the Playa Real from Feb 9 for seven nights and though the room, food and facilities are very basic, you get what you pay for and it certainly was value for money. We had a lovely view of the pool and the sea from the spacious balcony on our Junior Suite and the suite itself was roomy and ok. The dining area was being refurbished but it didn't get in the way of the diners as it was being painted from 9 p.m. onwards. The food wasn't the best but there was lots of choice and you could always find something to eat, and the dining room was very clean. Unfortunately the evening entertainment was rubbish and the bar and disco room were in desperate need of modernisation to give them some atmosphere, they were quite depressing. The staff were a bit miserable and unhelpful with the exception of the main barman who often manned the pool bar too. All in all if you are only looking for a cheap and cheerful break and chill, the Playa Real delivers. We had brilliant weather and the best place to sunbathe is at the back of the hotel at the two pools in front of the apartments

Room Tip: Junior suites are roomy not luxurious but they have a big balcony with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived back from playa real 9th feb we where a bit concerned about this holiday after reading the reports How wrong can some reports be bad food dirty rooms unfriendly staff and broken sun beds The food was good and plentyfull our room a junior suite on 4th floor was excellent with pool and sea view and sun all day staff where friendly and helpfull as where the manager and the owner most of the sun beds where ok all in all a great holiday good value for money would we go back to this hotel YES YES YES

Room Tip: go for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardenstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in the above hotel from 15th February to 22nd. On first sight it looks lovely. Huge reception area with magnificant stairs leading to the upper floors. Lovely wide tiled corridors leading to the junior suites. We were given wrong diretions but eventually arrive at 119. Large bedroom with sitting and kitchen area and a HUGE patio overlooking the tennis court????? Looking good, until a closer look reveiled the broken tiles, the dodgey paintwork, the bath that moved when you stood in it to shower and the broken shower head (whiich was fixed immedately when we reported it). The room was acceptable and having the extra room was lovely. We weren't there to spend our days in the room.
The problem was the food. Don't waste your money on all inclusive. The food was adequate but not four star. The vegetables were a mound of overcooked sludge - everyting tasted the same. The best bet was to get friendly with the gridle chef and get the grilled fish as it came of the hot plate. It was good. The puddings were, well, boring?
One good thing about this hotel was the staff, most of them. They were friendly, helpful and some even semed embarrased witht the state of the food. Now I get to the best bit, the entertainment. We actually went back for a second session because we couldnt beleive that someone could sing so out of tune and yes they could. Maria and the Abba tribute band was so bad they kept their audience cause we kept on thinking the next song couldnt get any worse, but, alas, they did.
The final nail in the coffn was the fire alarm at 1am. We got up and vacated the building to be told it was a false alarm and they were waiting for the maintenance man to arrive to turn it off??????????????????????????????? Someone asked how they knew it was a false alarm? He shruged. The noice went on for almost a hour. Ah, yes, teh hotel looks good but don't waste your money. Get a cheap apartment and eat out, prices are cheap and the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38660 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Real Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Playa Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.