We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Real Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Real Resort to your Saves list
Playa Real Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Moscu 111, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Adeje
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Had a horrible time here, neighbours above us reporting us for talking in our apartment!!! unreal. cockroaches everywhere, which make my life hell as im S**t scared of them lol. not a lot round about the hotel, do yourself a favour and get somewhere nearer the resort centre as it costs a fortune in taxis into the strip/ irish centre. pool was decent, drinks and food was poor plus its up a hill so if your not a great walker then you will hate this! Most my reviews are upbeat but really cant think of anything nice to say about this place :(

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    324
    193
    104
    94
See reviews for
432
213
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Could any one tell me if there were towels that you could use around the poo or beach area
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

After reading several reviews on this hotel i feel the need to write a review ( which i normally don't do) i was dreading going to this hotel and did consider booking another hotel but thought give it a try and see for myself, how ANYONE can slate this hotel so badly is beyond me, i stayed at this hotel from 10th- 24th Dec and had an amazing time, probably the best hotel i have stayed at in tenerife, it seems it is now 2 hotels in the 1, previously ocean palace & nogal beach now playa real resort, I stayed on the apartment rooms adjacent to the main building, the rooms were very big & spotless & very modern,nothing i could find worth complaining about, had a fridge, cooker, microwave & tv in the room, safe available for hire for 10 euro per week, room service was everyday except sunday's, towels changed daily and bedding changed every 3 days, the maids were very friendly & helpful considering the hard work they do in the blistering heat, the food was very good, breakfast consists of cerials, yogurts,cheeses, fresh fruit, cakes, fresh breads, and all cooked breakfast items, there is a chef cooking fresh omelettes & pancakes every morning, lunch & dinner was a large variety of dishes from cold salads to cooked meats, i didnt have any problems eating the 2 weeks i was there and i am quite fussy, also a good selection of food for kids ,also a large variety of deserts like ice cream, cakes & fresh fruit ect,They have an a la carte restaurant which allowed you to eat there for free once during your weeks stay (booking had to be made at reception in advance), A free packed lunch could also be ordered in advance if your off on a day trip or going to the beach, The AI drinks consisted of local brand spirits, beer, cocktails & soft drinks, The AI started at 10am & finished at 11pm, you could purchase drinks at the reception bar after 11pm but had to pay for them, The pool areas were kept clean with staff constantly cleaning, i stayed at the quieter pool area which suited me with the pool bar opened from 10am to 6pm, there was the main pool area for kids/adults who wanted to join in the daily activities and the pool bar there was opened from 10am -10pm. the entertainment staff were very friendly & worked very hard getting to know everyone, the entertainment was ok they do try and cater for everyone but this is not always possible considering there is so many different nationalities staying there not everyone likes the same thing, The staff overall were very pleasant during my stay, For anyone wanting to do a bit of shopping the adeje market is only a 5 minute walk to the bottom of the road and is on thursday & saturday from 9am -2pm, A 15 minute walk gets you to the beach with loads of shops on the way, for party people a taxi to veronica's strip will cost about 10 euro, Overall this hotel deserves its 4*, This is a true honest review and i hope this is helpful to anyone who is worried after reading some dreadful reviews, I am certain i will return to playa real next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Just returned from a week long holiday in the Playa Real Resort and had a wonderful time ,from the animation team who took time to go around the hotel and speak with everyone to the restaurant staff who had a smile for everyone and got to know you.
Rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday. Food was good with a wide selection to chose from .
What a friendly team of staff.
So glad i stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

just got back on the first of december,we went for a relaxing weeks holiday and we got it .we didn't go for the entertainment as we knew it was poor anyway but it must take my hat off to the chef,i thoroughly enjoyed the food,it wasn't a glorious spread but tasty it was quite simply the best i've tasted.the rooms were clean and tidy.we came here four years ago and we stayed in a junior suite.my wife adored it and there seemed to be more life in the hotel.maybe because the pub bar was open.i would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

this was our second visit to this hotel having been the same time last year .at that point it had just chnged hands and we were well satisfied enough to book again .on reading recent reviews though i wondered if the hotel had gone down hill . i dont think so !
we booked a junior suit again and these are very spacious and clean with very comfortable beds.the maid was in every day and i have no complaint about the standard of work or trust .in fact the whole hotel was kept spotless with cleaners working till late at night and early in the morning .
all staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble ,the food was varied and always plentyfull if any trays were empty you didnt have to wait long for a fresh one ,the staff were sretched at times and some times tables were not set but they were cleared and i soon helped my self to cutlery not a problem .since last year they had put extra seating outside which was nice some were for dining and some for just drinking and we spent many an evening sitting around the pool area which i think is a lovely setting and not something you could do at home in november .however the entertainment was poor worse than previous year but after a few drinks we nipped down front to one of the bars its about 15 min walk and coming back we had taxi only 4 euro !
dont no if we just lucky but nothing here spoilt my holiday for the price we paid we were comfortable ok its in need of a bit of updating but its clean ,food is good and staff are friendy .we dont go away looking for things to complain about we make the most of our holiday last year we met some good people and we keep in touch when they heard we had booked again they also booked wehad a great reunion whith some happy times around the pool bar . many people this year thought it was a good hotel and many said if you read reviews on the place you wouldnt come .cant believe some of the comments ive seen .
Its a good value holiday and we have no complaints we have been to 3 star hotels where the room was bad(we complained and were moved ) and food was awfull and yet reviews were great ,the Playa Real is only 3 star at best but its not bad whith a bit more investmentit could be great .but for what i paid i was happy

Room Tip: we have only stayed in the main hotel (junior suit ) other apartments in a block to side of hotel al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

we went on a famiy trip we booked three junior suites for my 60th birthday. these people lie the pub was closed only the bar open sauna gym were closed it was awful there was entertainment two nights the rest of the time it was bingo who wants bingo on holiday the staff were rude and really couldnt care less they had your money and where else were you going to go the hotel is tatty they must have a very poor opinion of the brits if they think this is how we live, they ruined my holiday and birthday luckily we found a restaurant in fanabe that went all out to give me the best time ever. four and a half thousand pounds later i would rather stick pins in my eyes than visit this hotel again good luck to anyone going there change your holiday if you can this is a genuine review no dramas just fact

Room Tip: dont bother asking you will get no response
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Real Resort

Address: Avenida Moscu 111, 38670 Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Ocean Palace Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Real Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Real Resort is a 4-star hotel located in a prime position on the Adeje Coast close to the cosmopolitan Playa De Las Americas with an All Inclusive Program perfect for families who want a stress-free holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Real Hotel Adeje
Ocean Palace Hotel
Playa Real Resort Tenerife/Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.