We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice tarifa beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dos Mares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dos Mares to your Saves list
Hotel Dos Mares
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. N 340 Km 79.5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice tarifa beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionnal situation,lovely beach just in front of the hotel,very simple ambiance,good restaurant,nice swimming pool protected from the wind with a small area for small children, bungalows ok,beach bungalow are very well located,just a cool place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
46
98
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

this hotel is ideal for young families who want to make use of the wide expance of beach and beach sports facilities,how ever, it is not suitable for wheelchair bound or older people with walking difficulties. any ramps that were in place were used ony by the staff for laundry trolleys and evenn then with some difficulty.They advertise that there are extensive gardens but these are only landscaped area between the bungalows,not very well maintained and with narrow paths made from broken,uneven bricks., we lost power the first evening duetofaulty wiring in the shower light, this was repaired
The restuarant is reached at beach level from a very dimly lit internal staircase or from a very steep external steps,we saw quite a few families struggling with pushchairs.
Food wise,this restaurant is not cheap and the first evening,we had a superb 3 course meal with wine total bill was 113€ the second night,I ordered a brochette of various white fish with prawns,it contained seven pieces of tough tuna and three prawns.I sent it back and from then on we were ignored,on signing the bill,they had charged us the full price which we refused to pay for the returned fish.
The whole ambiance of the place felt scruffy and uncared for, lots of derelict areas to the back of the bungalows and building work that had been done some years ago and as cheaply as possible In summarry,this is not a hotel i could recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I turned up for dinner at about 8.15pm. The server pointed to a table, where I then sat down. There were two families dining, and the two waiters chatted to them for about 15 minutes. They did not come over and give me a menu or even visit the table. I tried to signal them but they were too busy doing nothing. I left in disgust. Truly appalling service. I dread to think what the rest of the hotel is Like

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburry
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just got back from a 6 day stay at Dos Mares. First of all, what you should know when you travel to Tarifa is that you are travelling to a very special place, mostly unspoilt and unique now a days with so many overcrowded places.

The hotel is situated on the Lances Beach with very few parking places so basically you can only go to the beach if you have a room at one of the few hotels or camping, unlike the nearby beach of Playas de Bolonia that has long queue of cars to get there. The area is ideal if you enjoy Kite-surf or Wind-surf as Tarifa is a windy spot. The hotel does provide though with several sheltered areas including a lovely swimming pool for those that do not enjoy the surf sports.

We got a room at the back of the hotel, maybe not as glamorous as the rooms with sea views but we were happy enough as the room as peaceful and we had a couple of aviaries close by so heard the chirping of the birds instead of the sea!

Rooms are ample and clean. The bed was very comfortable (though not very large as it was around 160cm in width) and we enjoyed a nice large terrace with two sunbeds. The cupboard was a bit on the small side but all in all sufficient. We got a good internet signal in our room, at the pool, the lobby etc though we did have to change the code a couple of times as they seem to have a number of different accounts but the internet worked well and unfortunately I did get some work done!

The staff – reception is very friendly and so is the barman Pelayo! Some of the staff does seem to lack some training as with some we did manage to get our evening “Mojitos” while with others this could get complicated. The cleaning lady that cleaned our room as sweet and efficient.

Breakfast – Ample variety and good quality.

The spa- wonderful: both the massage and the facial treatment were perfect.

We did not have dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on this however we did have lunch at the “chirringuito” a couple of times and unfortunately the food and service were not as expected. I have sent a separate email to the hotel with this comment so I trust when we go back next year, this will be improved!

All in all a great experience and we are very much looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite different all of them and you might want to check what room you are getting prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved this place and what a perfect location! My other half is big into kite surfing and this as its own kite surfing school! The views onto the beach take your breath away! We stayed in the suite with terrace room 46 and it was divine! Lovely views onto the sea and very clean. A bit basic and cosy but we like this to big established chain hotels. The food here was ok, but you come for the breath taking location. I have been coming here for over 20 years now and still love the place. If you want night life you will need to go into Terifa town but to us we like it is remote and to us is a slice of heaven. This was my boyfriends first time and he can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go for room 46 if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I booked one superior and one standard bungalow for our 4 night stay at the Dos Mares Hotel this last weekend. Unfortunately the superior was of a very poor standard and more like a wooden shack. The standard bungalow (concrete) was also not to a good specification and to say the standards were low compared to prices paid is an understatement. Because of the cockroach we found in the shower on the first night,my son of 11 yrs refused to stay in the superior bungalow for the entire duration of our stay. On the 3rd night there were 2 cockroaches in the shower and also Earwigs had started to enter the bungalow. As a family we are very disappointed in the Dos Mares where we have stayed on several occasions previously.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at another hotel, but wanted to have a romantic diner with view to the Sea for our last evening. The camarero was very unfriendly; the food average. But we came for the view... Right...
Just before sunset they piled up the Big white fat Lounge chairs in Front of the restaurant, which took the view away. We left disappointed without desert and went back to our hotel.

Watch Out for the white lounge chairs in front of the Restaurant.... ;-)))

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mares

Address: Ctra. N 340 Km 79.5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dos Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dos Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Tarifa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dos Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.